We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and nice room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
vic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and nice room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Spent four days at this Hotel, room was made up every day, however they neglected to give us clean towels, this is normally no big deal but Cairns is very hummid and nothing dry's damp towels are not very pleasant. fab pool etc., didnt get the chance to enjoy. Must pay for parking $15 per day and $20.00 on a Saturday. As there is no parking around this hotel you have no option. Food expensive however close enough to Town to go out for breakfast etc., The airconditioners at the Casino running all day and night are a bit annoying if you want to sit on your balcony. Over all it was good for the price. Bed is comfy. Most of the staff were nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    425
    154
    44
    19
See reviews for
174
454
67
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sebel - a little bit of luxury on a girls get away. Service was great and loved those cocktails in the lobby bar. The pool area was a favourite place with plenty of shade if needed, comfy lounges and poolside service. Close to everything, shops, casino, waterfront, restaurants etc

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

After using TA for all most of my holiday/travel research , I decided it was high time I contributed. The Sebel is well positioned. The pool area is gorgeous but in general the rooms feel like they are in need of an update. They are spacious but in need of a revamp. I had requested a king bed but got a room with 2 doubles so wasn't very pleased as I was travelling with my husband but was told they were booked (maybe because I booked at a good rate through Wotif?). The bathroom had a seperate bath and shower cubicle but was very dark even with all the lights on. Also be careful with the bathroom tiles..i sprayed some insect repellent on before walking out the bathroom and the combination of the spray and tiles was not great. I slipped and hit my head on the door frame. I found the food to be expensive for room service so ate out. In general, if they updated the rooms I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Good location and nice views of the harbor. Friendly staff but couldn't get early checkin.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Whilst this hotel has all the standard conveniences I'd expect of a hotel this calibre, the number of additional charges around every corner constantly gave the vibe of being mugged.

At $32 for a hot and cold buffet breakfast, one would reasonably expect that large fee to cover all costs. However, if you wanted poached eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, or an omelette, that was an additional $5.50. The room comes with a safe (which was tiny and could have held nothing larger than two coffee mugs) but to get the key required paying an additional fee ($3.50). Internet in the room was an additional $0.55/min or $29/day - and that required a fixed cable connection, not wifi so you were trapped at the narrow small desk to use the internet (the old-style TV sat on the desk so there was no room for working there anyway). I overheard another guest arguing with hotel staff about excessive phone charges for a number of calls they'd made - a $2.75 connection fee per call (even for 1800 toll free numbers) was far more than they were expecting to pay.

In other matters, both the room and bathroom within the room were spacious. The bathroom was well ventilated so it didn't become a steam-filled sauna after a quick shower, and also featured a fog-free mirror which was appreciated.

The restaurant was reasonably priced (mains $23-$32) compared to other restaurants in the area, and the food was certainly edible, though nothing special. The drinks were delivered to the restaurant from the bar and were overpriced.

The breakfast was a major disappointment (particularly given the prices). There were only three cereals (corn flakes, rice bubbles and shredded bran), the fresh fruit selection was very limited, and the hot buffet breakfast did not include what I consider to be staples (no tomatoes, mushrooms, or fried eggs). This was the first Australian hotel I've ever seen with a hot breakfast that did not include fried eggs as a staple - what's a hot breakfast without bacon and eggs??? Scrambled eggs were available in the bain-marie but you could also purchase them custom-cooked for $5.50. Initially I was puzzled by this - why pay for something you have already paid for? - but then I tasted them and realised the included version was poorly cooked slop that had too much milk, so there was no taste and poor consistency. Presumably one could order the scrambled eggs to have less milk and more egg? I ate at the restaurant for three mornings and it did not improve, so I know it was not a one-off failure. I had unfortunately pre-negotiated a special rate with breakfast included for $20 (not $32) so I ate at the hotel but would recommend future guests go down the street and find a cafe instead (there are plenty within a 2-block radius). Although I can't comment on the quality of breakfasts at nearby establishments, I doubt they could be worse than the efforts of Sebel Cairns.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Massive foyer, good size pool and spa on the 3rd floor. Studio room was clean and presentable, but too overly priced I feel. Location is excellent, right in the city of cairns and opposite the casino.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We loved many things about this hotel, especially the pool and location. But we were bitterly disappointed that we could hear everything around us, people pushing chairs upstairs, closing doors and on either side of us, talking, watching TV, arguing - we could hear it ALL! we complained to management, but they did not really say much, or offer compensation or an apology. They just gave us a feedback form to fill out, which we thought was quite disappointing. We wanted to get away for a break, after a hard year of work, but we got very little sleep. If this hotel got sound insulation, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
#8 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.