We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, lovely ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good central location, lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've stayed here before so this was a return visit. We like the central location and the ambience. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The bar area is pleasant to meet friends for a drink and snack. The staff we dealt with we're not particularly quick or friendly and this let the overall rating down for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Hi Suzanne,
Thanks for the feedback - sorry about the lack of attention - we do pride ourselves on service and we obviously did not reach the mark with you -once again sorry.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Absolutely fine - rooms are pretty average in terms of decor, but a good size. Harbour or mountain facing rooms especially. Great breakfast selection, good bar service, seafood buffet at restaurant is worth a visit, especially if you want to attempt eating your own weight in shellfish for a decent fixed price! Maybe not quite as smart as other Pullman properties, but good for the price and location, and easy access to airport. Not in the best areas for really close restaurants, but a 10 minute elk fixes that!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcinverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I wish I could select three and a half. Its not quite a 4, but better than a three. It has a great location being close to the esplanade but sufficiently 'tucked away', and is quite 'grand' in an oldstyle colonial way. We spent three nights here as it came up at a reasonable price for a room for three people (with my teenage daughter). As such the room was a good enough size although the double beds are great for one but a little small for two.
We didn't make full use of the facilities - the gym or the pool - so I can't comment. And also, because we were 'budgeting' and getting one room rather than 2, we found the $75 per head for the dinner buffet too steep for us. But there are plenty of places to eat out nearby so its not a problem. Also I'd recommend Bang and Grind for morning coffee, just around the corner on Spence Street, and not the breakfast place next door where they took almost an hour and still got the order wrong.
The entrance is nice - could have used a big table with flowers to make a bigger impression perhaps.. anyway... and we used the valet parking for $20/day as an alternative to having to keep finding a metered spot.
A couple of minor niggles - even though the room was for three on two occasions they only replaced towels etc for two, and once it took 15 minutes for the valet to return our car.
But I'd stay here again.. A number of the other Cairns hotels seem quite 'dated' in comparison and, if you get a good room rate, its not a bad base for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan42Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Hi Alan,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and sorry for my very slow reply. You make some very good points and we appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Pullman Cairns International have a terrible pubic relations leak. The staff were lovely but the management need to take an urgent, good long look at one or two charging policies.

The positives
It's a fabulous entrance and the reception, concierge, bar staff maintain a high standard that any international hotel would be entirely satisfied with. The room was large and airy but even in winter housekeeping turn the air conditioning ON every time they're in the room. Cold is not welcoming in winter.
The meals were all very good, including the set menu for about 150 of us. Never an easy job sending out 150 perfectly cooked pieces of fish and beef. Nicely done F&B.
The lobby furniture is charming. The in room furniture is looking a little tired and the veneers are bubbling and peeling here and there which is the revealing crack in the armor of an otherwise fairly faultless front of house performance.

The negatives
A nine minute call to Melbourne was billed at over $38. I rang for help to fix some office email settings on the mobile. $38. Disgusting, shocking and this (at check out) undermined all the positives so needlessly. This kind of ridiculous gouging just has to stop. The Pullman also charges for WiFi. I note they don't charge for water use. Many of us consider charging for WiFi just as ridiculous. The room-night bill for three of us exceeded $3000. What possible good can come of creating bad feeling and bad PR over trying to rip off a measly $38 for a phone call and some $25 daily for WiFi. I'm here for business. WiFi is like water.

Room Tip: The rooms get bigger as you get higher. The front rooms see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi Cafehead,
Thanks for your balanced review - you have made some valid points for our consideration. I thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and food.
As a regular travller you may have heard of our free Le Club program - once you gain silver status you get free Wifi in all our hotels - I realise this is not your point however we are moving in the right direction.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great hotel, location and staff. Buffet breakfast is fantastic.
Only 2 issues: We had a pre-arranged bed/breakfast deal for 2 nights but had problems the first morning when the breakfast deal did not appear on the Hotel's paperwork so we had to pay for breakfast. Sorted it out later at Reception but only because we were able to show written email verification from Pullman. Apologies all around - but then same thing happened the second morning. Luckily the same guy was on Reception as the previous day and was it sorted with a quick phone call this time. Annoying and embarassing. Other issue was that the people in the adjoining room entered our room by mistake using their room key-card. Luckily we were in the room at the time as we were about to check-out - but it is worrying that this can happen. Reception did not seem to believe us and said that this never happens. But it did. Apart from these issues as usual a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi MIck B,
Thanks for the balanced review. I do apologise that we got it wrong - it is annoying we did it twice! I will also look at the room entry issues as this should not happen -thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here just for one night to transit to Fitzroy Island (where I strongly suggest to go!) upon arrival in Cairns. I didn't have much expectation prior to my arrival but found it quite grand. Lobby was huge and nothing wrong at reception or concierge service.

I didn't have dinner or drinks here then cannot comment much however if you need a quick stay nearby the beach particularly the wharf this is well recommended. I have to add the room was large and clean enough.


Cheers. Taka

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank takafujino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Takafujino,
Thanks for the review -glad you enjoyed Fitzroy it is great over there.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here on friday night with my partner. We live in Cairns and so it was just a night away where we could simply relax with no distractions and enjoy. The entrance and foyer area are very enticing and are reminiscent of grand colonial style. Checkin was efficient and we were escorted to our premium room. We were located on the 16th floor which is the highest floor and looked over the city and the mountains-what a wonderful view it is. The rooms are extremely spacious and well appointed with the usual amenities you would expect in this caliber of hotel. At 6pm we thought we would have a pre-dinner drink while catching up with the latest news on the television. Oops the TV didn't work. Rang reception and unfortunately the person they sent was unable to fix the problem. This problem then became rather tedious as the hotel endeavoured to solve the problem. Unfortunately the hotel was almost full and they could not relocate us to a similar room. Eventually we ended up on the floor below with similar views, but we had lost our king size bed and ended up with two double beds! So much for our romantic night we has been looking forward to. With all the time that this took, we had no time for our pre-dinner drink, missed the news and even had to push back our dinner reservation! This was not really what either of us has imagined for our evening.
We had the seafood buffet downstairs at Coco's Restaurant. Despite ringing and pushing back our reservation the table was not ready on our arrival. We were given a complimentary drink at the bar. The maitre d' at the restaurant deserved a compliment. He was really fantastic.
The hotel deal we were on was supposed to include a complimentary newspaper in the morning which didn't arrive. Unsure whether this was because we changed rooms or not. I mentioned this at checkout and we were given a newspaper. It would have been nice to have had the paper earlier and read it in bed.
Overall the hotel wasn't bad however our experience was not particulary good. It all went terribly wrong just because we wanted to watch the news. It was not the pleasant evening that it should have been despite the staff trying.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy1362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Judy,
I'm really sorry about the TV -it obvoiusly had an adverse effect on your whole stay. Can I say thank you for bringing it to our attention, we really appreciate the feedback. I'm glad Andrew was of assistance however there is no doubt the TV should have been working.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#12 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive colonial style 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing