We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cairns Classic and my favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Mossman, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Cairns Classic and my favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This grand lady is a must stay at least once. For a hotel of over 20 years old she has been well maintained and still has a feeling of opulence. (I have stayed here many times over the past 20 years)
You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive.
The foyer is a lovely french colonial style and reminds me of Raffles in Singapore and is very grand to say the least.
The rooms are lovely with good amenities. Loved the big soft towels and bathrobes.
The bar is great for a pre dinner drink. Had breakfast at Cafe Coco's which was part of our package and had a good variety
The pool deck is awesome and great place to relax for a few hours
Our room was over looking Trinity Inlet.
The hotel is close the Esplanade, Casino and lots of good restaurants. Over all 100% perfect

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Trinity Inlet are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    505
    174
    46
    23
See reviews for
207
553
76
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I'm actually a little surprised this is a 5 star hotel but I gather that most hotels in cairns are lacking a bit of the modern touch. The carpet in hallways and in rooms are faded and stained. The chairs in the room appear as if they've been sitting in the sun for decades. New bedding, rugs and chairs would make all the difference in the world.

With that being said, our room was very spacious....larger than needed actually. The balcony was a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The beds, a bit on the tiny side, but were comfortable.

The hotel staff were excellent in arranging anything we needed.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and had just about everything imaginable.

The location is great to the esplanade, marina and shops/restaurants.

The wifi is free in the lobby but you have to request a 2 hour access code each time you wish to browse. This was slightly annoying and seeing that it is a 5 star, I would think wifi should be included in the rooms. We were at a 5 star in Sydney just prior to our Cairns trip and had free wifi in our 5 star hotel in Sydney.

Overall based on location and price, I would recommend this hotel to those visiting cairns.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Pullman Cairns International is an older hotel which shows its wear. Located near the end of Abbott Street in great proximity to the pier where most of the Great Barrier Reef trips station, the hotel is pretty conveniently located for those who visit Cairns to get out on the reef and snorkel / scuba dive. It is walking distance to the Esplanade where there are good restaurants and pubs. And the foyer is pretty nice when you walk in; it seems like it should be a nice hotel.

That said, the hotel itself is in great need of updating. Our room had two queen-ish sized beds with a balcony that faced the city. Room furniture was ragged and beaten. The carpet in the main room had some wicked stains, and the towels had threadbare spots. The hotel elevators had bubbles on the walls where the upholstery was coming off the walls. And the hallway carpets needed a bit of love.

Bathroom was stocked full of Roger and Gallet amenities (which was nice) but the shower-tub had a utility shower curtain against dated dark-green marble tile. Balcony made for nice seating at night, especially hearing the bats screeching from the nearby trees; kind of creepy, but kind of cool!

The really depressing part was the serpentine pool up on the third floor. Not only was the pool itself not heated (and terribly cold, even in July), but the one spa that was heated was kept at lukewarm temperatures (with jets shooting in cold water) that made it worse than taking a hot bath back in the hotel room! For a family with kids, the pool was underwhelming. Gym was fine, cardio machines plus some dumbbells.

One bright spot was Chris, the bellman / valet, who has a great attitude and was very friendly. Really appreciated his attentiveness and hospitality. Front desk staff was helpful, even in procuring towels we could use for our day reef trip (as well as complimentary bottled water). On-site valet parking was $20/day, and was always pretty quick in retrieving our car.

Hotel gives a good value for money, but is a pretty standard hotel that could use some furniture upgrades and decor refreshment to bring it up a notch. If you're spending a lot of time exploring the Reef and the surroundings, however, you'll not be spending too much time in the hotel anyway, so it may not make a big difference.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Gorgeous hotel, stunning foyer, comfortable beds, nice pool. We have stayed there twice and each time had the buffet breakfast which we probably wouldn't do again. We didn't feel the breakfasts were value for money. We had a better breakfast at the Coffee Club on The Esplanade. The evening bufett dinners get a little crowded as well. But as a hotel, just perfect!

Room Tip: We found all the rooms were quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

went to cairns for 4 days, and stayed at the pullman for the first 2 nights we moved to the novotel because it was cheaper for the 3rd night, should have stayed at the pullman and pay the extra $.
the pullman is a beautiful clean hotel. great staff. wonderful facilities.
only downfall is the pillows - bring your own unless you like to sleep on a rock.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.