We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
STAY 2 AND SAVE 20%
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

went to cairns for 4 days, and stayed at the pullman for the first 2 nights we moved to the novotel because it was cheaper for the 3rd night, should have stayed at the pullman and pay the extra $.
the pullman is a beautiful clean hotel. great staff. wonderful facilities.
only downfall is the pillows - bring your own unless you like to sleep on a rock.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    454
    158
    44
    21
See reviews for
181
492
69
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A beautiful historic (for Cairns) building fitted with classy, timeless furnishings. The people were polite and efficient and we were never left wanting. Location wise it couldn't be better, close to the water, the Pier and a short walk to the esplanade.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Foyer is grand colonial, with a pleasant restaurant and bar. I was upgraded and the room was huge and spotlessly clean. Decor just feels a little dated. Very good pool area. Service top class. A good central location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My son & I stayed at the Pullman International Hotel in Cairns on the way through and found it a great place to stay. It is within an easy walk to the center of town, close to the restaurants along the pier boardwalk and right across the road from the casino. The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom also large and clean. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. I would easily stay there again. My only complaint which I have passed on to them is the same for most Australian hotels and that is internet is not included in the room rates, with smart phones being so prevalent one would think internet should be standard. Apart from the internet I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a tired, dated establishment completely ill-equipped to cope with what I can only imagine is a "usual" school holiday clientele.

Reception was less than friendly. All attempts to engage/raise a smile on check-in came to nothing - and I was the only one checking in!

Room is grubby, with decor more befitting a highway roadside motel than something that purports to be FIVE star. And noisy - almost every sound from the adjoining room is audible, as is the corridor traffic.

Breakfast can best be described as a shambles. When it was discovered that my inclusive breakfast was not registered, a failed attempt to raise the front desk by phone was concluded with "screw reception, I'll sit you down". And so I was, to a table and surrounds strewn with egg shell.

The breakfast offerings were meagre, and despite the hour - it was only 8.30, poorly provisioned, or in many cases completely exhausted.

Finally I approached reception to confirm my booking and the inclusions. There was no record. I needed to produce my email booking confirmation for them to adjust their register. Something about a new "booking platform"?

This is truly shades of Fawlty Towers. I will keep an eye out for Basil over the coming days!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.