We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Cairns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location in Cairns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at the Pullman Hotel for four nights, service at the tour desk and at check-in was very good. Room very nice with view and plenty of room only sore point was the bed, hard as a rock, pillows not much better.

Pool area very nice. Restaurant looked okay but better priced restaurants were close at hand so didn't eat in. Happy Hour was disappointing very small selection of drinks available had to ask for the Happy Hour specials (clearly give the poor selection it was better that they were kept a secret), it one of those things, either do it, and do it well or don't bother.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was very nice with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Mimmie,

Thanks for your review. I note your comments regarding bed - I have just written a response to someone who thought the beds were too soft - so it is a tricky one and relects real individual taste. I also take your comments regarding Happy hour and will ask my F00d and Beverage Manager (who is brand new) to have a look at it.
Thanks again for your comments
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    480
    162
    44
    23
See reviews for
193
518
72
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel before catching a flight. Very nice staff, easy check in, close to shopping, food, nightlife, and post office. Our room had a fridge and kettle for making tea, which I always appreciate. We had to leave early and the staff was prompt with getting us a taxi and getting our bags.

Better than I expected! Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Xstala,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review - I'm glad we able to exceed your expectations and we would love to see you back here again.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is very well located, has a lovely lobby and the rooms were fine. The staff were not very helpful and curiously, the agent for booking activities was not there at the hours expected and was sent home early during the time that we were there, making it difficult to book activities on the reef or in the rain forest. When that person was there, the two people I encountered were very helpful. The pool is gorgeous, but closes at 9 pm at night, despite having lights etc.
The staff, particularly the Maitre'd at the restaurant, was curt and not helpful, at least for breakfast. Although they were unable to do a late check out when we went to the Reef for an excursion and returned to pick up our bags and check out, they did allow us to use the shower facilities. These were surprisingly "worn" and unpleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Cairns is not blessed with much in the way of stellar five-star accommodation. Within that context, Pullman was a good stay. We really liked it. The front reception and restaurant area has a soaring British colonial feel to it which is gorgeous. We stayed on the second top floor in a large room with an ocean-facing balcony. Beautiful views. The rooms are dated and in need of modernisation, but they are clean and in good repai and ours was much larger than your average hotel room and priced competitively. Buffet brekkie was great - nice to see savoury mince!! Staff were really helpful and kind and gave us a late checkout which we really appreciated. More full-service than Cairns Harbour Lights which is newer and has better views...where I usually stay when travelling for work. This was a holiday with my boyfriend after a few nights cruising on the reef.

Room Tip: As you'd expect, higher floors afford the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi BrisOutwards,

You've got to love the savoury mince at brekkie! Thank you for posting a balanced and detailed review -everything you say is absolutely fair and I'm glad your overall impression was positive. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is the closest hotel to the Cairns Convention Centre. It's an easy 5 minute walk but take your umbrella if you're walking as it may rain and if it does it will be torrential. The hotel breakfasts are crazy expensive. Go to the little cafe next door as it does a great inexpensive breakfast and seems to use real farm eggs. Also pool service is really slow but it does have a nice pool area which is popular. I did like that the rooms were spacious with lots of light which is great if you travel for work a lot. It was a bit noisy on Saturday night as it faces the casino but it didn't last too long. Biggest complaint was that TV remote didn't work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi WorkingMumCanberra,
Sorry about the remote - they are trcky and the amount of times people take the batteries is astounding! We are really fortunate with our room size in the hotel - they just don't build hotels as big these days. As for the rain you are very right it can absolutely bucket down - however as we say "No rainforest without the rain". Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

So we just spent three nites at this hotel. It was clean, and close to all the things in Cairns we wanted to do. However, if you are a business person, or need access to wireless, be prepared to spend a lot of time in the lobby - the wireless comes up when you are in the room but you cannot connect. I tried several times. They even sent someone up that said "gee, if you go down to lobby and log in to the wireless there, you sometimes can get your connection in your room" - tried that - no luck - they have no clue - unless you want to disconnect from the world, don't stay there. Another issue, if you are from US or the EU, don't expect to get any news - they don't cater to anyone unless they are from the Pacific Rim - not my idea of a hotel that claims to be "international" Spent some time in the pool - they have cushy lounges, but the pads don't look like they have been cleaned for years.

Room Tip: High floor if possible - there is a nice view of the bay from the East rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi AASM2013,
Thanks for posting a review and sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I note your comments regarding the internet - we are working on a solution to this evolving situation. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.