We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of elegance, quality and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    480
    163
    44
    23
See reviews for
193
518
72
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel (but now wish we did!!) but while searching for a massage decided to rest our weary legs! The concierge and bar staff were so accommodating and rushed our order through so we could have a bite to eat before our massage! The Senior Therapist at the Day Spa deserves a special mention - helping me organise a last minute spray tan, booking me in for a massage and then providing the most relaxing massage I've ever had! Having chronic back pain it was so nice to feel pain free afterwards - I felt absolutely awesome! The sorbet and warm tea in a curtained room afterwards was a fabulous touch! I'll only be getting my massage here when I next visit Cairns!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I overnight in Cairns very often and I always go back here. It is a nice place were to come back to. high standard hotel, without being too pretentious and it offers all you might need for your stay. A small gym but with all you might need, relaxed environment, nice and clean rooms, a good restaurant with buffet and a good room service, helpful staff and spa. a very central location close to good restaurants and the esplanade, for a evening walk and a gelato. Even if I have been trying several hotels in Cairns I always seem to go back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

People who moan about paying "too much" for breakfast etc lose sight of the fact that they are staying in a luxury hotel. Of course the prices are high!
We thoroughly enjoyed our four-night stay. Front desk staff were sometimes a bit scarce, but were always friendly and professional.
We breakfasted on our balcony overlooking Abbott St and the marina, and we made the 5min walk to the waterfront for dinner each night. It has plenty of options, and dining outdoors and watching the boats is very relaxing.
We would stay here again, notwithstanding their usual bad Australian habit of charging the earth for access to wifi in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having not stayed in a Pullman hotel before, I was hopeful that it would deliver the goods. I picked up a good deal for 5 nights and gave it a shot. Going past in the taxi, my wife exclaimed 'look at that nice hotel' and she was happy to find out that was the one we were staying in. The foyer area reminds me of a great hotel in Penang that we've loved staying in, and the service was very prompt and friendly. The room was quiet and large, with a nice bathroom and good amenities. The only issue we had (apart from that it's always nicer to have a king bed than a queen, but as I said it was a good deal) was that the climate control in the room was not great. It tended to get a bit cold as there was not a lot of variance in the temperature settings (slightly less cold was the warmest it went, unless you turn it off and then the room gets too hot) and the air blows directly over the bed. Apart from that, the breakfast was excellent with lots of options, and the pool was a great place to relax. The gym and sauna facilities were also above average, and the high tea we had one afternoon was a lovely way to spend a few hours in the lounge area. An additional point, the tour desk operators were very helpful, and I'd recommend talking to them to book anything you'd like to do in Cairns. I'd recommend staying in this hotel as it's in a fantastic location for everything from restaurants to tours, and it really makes for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner and i stayed here in May of this year for 5 nights. We got an amazing deal through the hotel website and were really happy with the cost.
Hotel loby is stunning and the rooms are also great.
We were upgraded to an ocean view room that overlooked the casino.
Nice and central and the tour desk lady is lovely and always wants to help.
As we had 4 days of rain we spent a lot of time indoors and the spa is wonderful.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.