We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Cairns. Close to restaurants, shops, wharf and casino. Rooms are a good size and from the 12th floor there is an excellent view to eithet the mountains or over the city and harbour area. Staff and service were professional and the beers at the bar were cold.

Room Tip: Try the Italian restaurant next door....excellent food
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    427
    155
    44
    19
See reviews for
174
458
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is definitely a five star hotel. The staff were all very helpful, the rooms were perfect and the food excellent. We travel overseas regularly and this hotel would rate as one of the best we have stayed in. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and I also would recomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A friend and I returned from a 3 night trip to Cairns where we stayed at the Pullman Cairns International. This hotel is well located (walking distance to everything) and I was impressed with it's style and friendly atmosphere.

I arrived around lunch time and was happy to be able to be checked into my room straight away rather than having to waiting to 2pm. I was originally assigned a room on the 3rd floor but after asking for a higher level I managed to get a room on level 16 (the top floor). The room (twin double) was pretty good - nice size, clean and the bed/s were comfortable - yes I tested both. As you would expect the view from the balcony overlooking the harbour was excellent.

Breakfast at Coco's Restaurant was good with tasty food and a great easy to use coffee machine. The Spa looked very good although I only had a quick look - wish I had made time to check it out properly. My impression is that this hotel attracts more mature minded travellers/families so it's unlikely you will have to be concerned about rowdy backpackers. Although the hotel was fully booked it was a very peaceful place to stay.

My only criticism is internet access. Free internet access is available in the lobby lounge area (which is a nice place to chill out) but in room internet is a bit pricey and very slow.

Overall, this hotel is good to very good (4 out of 5) and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level at check in - even if you have to pay a little extra. Don't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Enjoyed my stay convenient location just wish it may have been a little cheaper so I could have afforded to stay longer and was a little disappointed to find undercover secure parking cost extra would have been nice to have that included in the price of accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are local and stay in town when meeting friends for a night out. The Pullman Cairns International has friendly staff, a great location, clean and have great rooms. We have stayed a few times now and find it to be reasonably priced. We also had breakfast at Coco's which has a variety of foods. The view from the rooms are also spectacular and there is no street noise, so we get a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is ideally located to the restaurants and bars of Cairns and is in a great location to the boats going out to the reef. We had a premium king room, on the 15th floor overlooking the harbour. Great room with its own balcony.

As we also found out is that it overlooks the casino, on a Saturday and Sunday night the noise from the casino bars is unbelievable even 15 floors up. On the saturday the music sounded like it was in our room till 1am then drunk loud swearing and screaming people till 4am. On the Sunday the music finished at 10 but the swearing and screaming till the wee hours again. This was particularly annoying since most reef and day trips from Cairns commence very early. Bear this in mind if you are thinking of staying here.

On a positive note the smorgasbord breakfast was good and the seafood buffet is great (particularly if you get half price dining as an accor advantage plus member) although the wine list was a bit limited.

In summary annoyingly noisy, with a great location.

Room Tip: Maybe the harbour is nicer to look at but the noise is dreadful i think possibly a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff were very helpful and the service was excellent, though you expect that in a 5 star hotel. The room was spacious and very clean and the room service was great. The location is also really good as it is downtown close to the harbor and other attractions.The breakfast selection was also very good though on the expensive side.
John and Morag Kerr.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
#8 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.