We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had spent a few extra dollars for the other Pullman” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wish I had spent a few extra dollars for the other Pullman”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service here was excellent but the room was dated and the air vent was filthy. I wish I had spent an extra $20 and stayed at the other Pullman. I stared longingly at it from my room during my stay. Very dated. Invest some money into this place Accor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad you enjoyed the service provided by the team, I will certainly pass on your positive comments.

I will also investigate the condition of the air vent, I really apreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Thanks again for passing on your feedback.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    480
    162
    44
    23
See reviews for
193
518
72
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stay in cairns once a month. This time I thought is try the Pullman. I've stayed here before when it was Sebel.

The first room they put me in smelt damp, however they were able to relocate me right away. The rooms are dated and although I traveling alone they gave me a room with two doubles. It had everything I needed for a business 3 night stay. Breakfast was included daily which saved me on average $20/day. However valet parking was $20 on top of the accommodation.

Walking distance to the casino, all restaurants and the lagoon. The pool area is very nice and there is a gym with free weights!! Lots of them. If you are a runner turn right when you leave the hotel and run along the boardwalk. If you get to the fun ship park it's a nice 7km roundtrip. They also
Have free exercise classes along there in the morning so check the website.

Would defiantly stay in the hotel again. Suitable for couples/singles - didn't see many children. There were a lot of overseas travelers so breakfast was always busy around 730.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jasmineo84,

Thanks for posting your feedback on Tripadvosor.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with, I was particulary pleased that you the hotels great location and that you came across the newly completed boardwalk to the right of the Hotel. You are right, it's a great run!

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope you choose to stay with us when you are next in Cairns.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We flew in from Auckland after a direct flight there from Vancouver BC. We stayed for four days at the end of Nov 2013 which was the beginning of our 6 week Australian holiday. We were thrilled with this Hotel, it was stunning in all aspects ( except the charges for WIFI). Front counter staff and house keeping were very friendly and helpful. The pool and deck area were wonderful, the room patio and its views were lovely. The location was also very convinient to all city accesses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Firstly, thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to our team in both Front Office and Housekeeping.

I really hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia!

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cairns in the future.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Despite being an Accor member, this was my first stay in a Pullman Hotel. I was very impressed.

My room was very spacious, comfortable & spotlessly clean. The airconditioning was of the central type rather than a nasty split system and was very quiet. The room had a balcony with chairs and table.

All staff were pleasant, courteous, friendly and very professional.

I really like the ambiance in the lobby - really tall windows give it a pleasant look - reminiscent of colonial style buildings.

For dinner, I had the buffet which was really outstanding. Unusually, it favoured quality over quantity so while not huge, all items offered were a little innovative, beautifully presented and those I sampled were excellent. The standout was the fig salad. The desserts were to die for and also starred little treats like home made marshmallows, jubes and chocolates. The white chocolate truffles with lavender were to die for! I ate way too much dessert..... :-(

By contrast, the breakfast buffet was nice but not outstanding in the way of dinner. The cooked to order omelette was excellent, pastries very ordinary (suspect were frozen/reheated).

The pool deck was great but sadly, I didnt have time to enjoy so will have to return!








Two things that need improvement: Pillows were awful and as there was mention of a "pillow menu" in the compendium so I called and asked for down pillows. Clearly they didnt have any and didnt know what they were as one rock hard pillow and one very lumpy one was promptly provided!! The second thing was a small wall mounted hair dryer - these are just about useless for drying hair, let alone styling. Hotels of this calibre usually provide a proper hair dryer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Traveller,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I will certainly pass on your favourable comments regarding the cleaning of the rooms to our Housekeeping Team.

I am so glad you enjoyed our Dinner Buffet, we are really proud of the product and the presentation, I will certainly be passing on your great feedback to our kitchen brigade.

Also, thanks for the feedback regarding breakfast, I will investigate this further.

Thanks again for the great comments, I sincerely hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit beautiful Tropical North Queensland, maybe then you will get the chance to enjoy our great pool area?

All the best,

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great value for money. Walking distance to everything shops, restaurants, cafes, pier, bus stops and other areas of importance. We found catching a bus to other areas of Cairns easy to do so didn't necessarily need a car rental. We only got a rental for a day to drive up to Daintree rainforest. The staff were all so friendly, welcoming and so happy to help, always. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, there was so much variety. The pool area was fantastic, could not have needed anything more.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room, the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BogartNikki, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Saimasaima,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post you feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad you enjoyed not only the Hotel facilites but also the great attractions that the region has to offer.

I will certainly be passing your great feedback onto the team.

Thanks again for the great feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pullman Cairns International in the future.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Pullman Cairns International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.