We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cairns International to your Saves list
Pullman Cairns International
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queensland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable stay at this 5 star hotel in Cairns.
The pool area was beautiful and we all enjoyed the hot tub.
Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was big in comparison to many other 5 star hotels we have stayed at. The air conditioning in the rooms was however not working so we felt quite warm even though we put it at a very low setting. Otherwise our holiday was lovely & we would definitely return to the Sebel for some 5 star R&R

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    480
    163
    44
    23
See reviews for
193
518
72
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sebel in Cairns for 5 days. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, I was unable to find any faults with any aspect of the service or the Sebel. The staff were genuinely helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much effort for them and I must say that they went out of their way to assist.
The room was spacious and inviting. The bed was comfortable. The ensuite was large, clean and had everything you would expect from a five star hotel. The view from the balcony was beautiful. You could see the harbour as well as the ocean.
We had breakfast there every morning and they had everything you could imagine. The fruit was fresh. The staff were constantly cleaning the tables and having a chat, which I thought was nice.
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending the Sebel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Good service, great location, thin walls adequate gym facility, nice pool. The lobby is really nice. A bit of an ant problem but I think that is par for the course here and we were warned. Appreciated the complimentary upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This was the 7th stay for my wife and I and probably the last. Having to wait 20 min to get in the gate because the forecourt was full of your buses was a bad start. Being basically called a liar by the arrogant young guy at reception when I told him key card didn't work wasn't much better. Room wasn't cleaned properly and cig ash all over balcony. Towels were all tired and frayed. Sheets didn't even look clean. Paid thru the nose for high tea. Only to have peace disturbed by couple with young children who had a picnic with the food they had bought from woolworths down the road in the surposidly classy bar. Staff saw this and were unconcerned. Some of the crockery for high tea was cracked and chipped

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Tried booking this hotel to stay for 2 nights. spoke to a guy in reservations politely gave me the rates for 1st and 2nd night. Told this guy that i will organise my stay @ pullman prior in confirming this booking. When i called reservations again in sebel they've change the rates and denied that there is no male person working there! am I confused or _____! _____!_____! Finally, spoke to the manager I/C, straightaway sticking to the story given to her by the staff in reservations. How frustrating! This happened today 26/09/12. Confused and frustrated- Rose of Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel - knowledgeable staff and friendly - always willing to help. Close to all attractions. Spacious rooms and beautiful marble bathrooms. My place to stay in Cairns in the future. Tour desk was very good - even helped us find a seafood outlet we could go and buy locally caught prawns. Pool area was excellent - plenty of space for everyone.

Room Tip: Queen bed rooms are excellent - much bigger than standard Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel lobby has a sense of grandeur and charm reminiscent of luxury colonial hotels like the Raffles in Singapore. It's simply beautiful and there's nothing comparable in Australia. The perfect hotel for a tropical holiday. The lobby bar is lovely too with cocktails and high tea which we really enjoyed. Rooms are well appointed with views over the harbour and mountains (we stayed in a deluxe room high up, so not sure about the regular rooms). Breakfast is excellent, the best in Cairns. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16-story Hotel with extensive use of local marble & timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cairns International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.