We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home,love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Tradewinds Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“feels like home,love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have returned to the tradewinds yet again,and it just feels like home to me,i even tried to enjoy a change of scenery for a day at the pool of their sister hotel the plaza where I have enjoyed my daily yoga practice,but the pool area,the pool itself,the disgusting towels that looked more like rags,had me glad to return home to the tradewinds where the pool is just perfect for my needs,the pool towels are also of excellent quality(unlike some of the towels in the rooms which were threabare and frayed),but my housekeeping requests were always met with a smile and the staff feel more like old friends,they were really helpful to me and respectful of my disability.
Don't look too close for faults ,as this is not a new hotel and it could do with a bit of a spruce up,but,take it at face value,ask if u need anything,u will find no request is too hard and the staff will do everything they can to make your stay a great one,and like me,u might be tempted to check out newer options,but ,u will always return to what u know and love,the tradewinds,btw,an ocean view 6th floor room is gold.

Room Tip: ocean view for sure,the higher the better,i go for 6th floor room 631
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi there Susan R,

Thankyou for you such an all round positive review, we love to see our guests happy and with a great intention on returning.

Merry Christmas and best of wishes for the New Year!

Samara & the Rydges Tradewinds team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    322
    181
    51
    28
See reviews for
153
307
56
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff here know how to go the extra mile, all so friendly, well done. We were welcomed outside and helped with our heavy bags. Extra tea bags, pool towels, told were to find the chemist, all came our way.

Our bedrooms a little dated, bathroom could do with update too.
Fridge, Air Con, comfortable beds, wonderful view, all great.




Fantastic pool, reception, bar.
We did not eat in the restaurant.
Location excellent, away from noisy centre but only minutes walk from beach, restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello victoria C G,

Thankyou for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your stay in beautiful Cairns,

Your comments are so positive and greatly appreciated, we strive to provide the best for our guests, to ensure they return over and over again, and feel right at home during their stay, we are so happy to hear once again we could do that for you,

Merry Christmas and best wishes for the New Year, we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,
Samara & the Rydges Tradewinds Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lost count of the times we've stayed here and it always delivers! The rooms are great (and especially good value if you find a special rate!), the service is always friendly and attentive and the location is close to the action and right on the Esplanade!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi there dizne!

Thankyou for your 5 star review - we really appreciate this!

We are so thrilled to hear you are a returning guest, we agree our staff always deliver the best service and our location is absolutely perfect,

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Merry Christmas and the best of wishes for the New Year

Kind Regards,
Samara & the Rydges Tradewinds team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for visiting all parts of Cairns.
Hotel is in good condition, with plenty of room for guests to spread out. Grounds are very well-kept.
Great pool and safe swim able beach. Poolside food and service was great,
Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there Taesang H.

Thankyou for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your stay in Cairns!

Wow! 5 stars, we are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed each part of your stay, we love to see happy guests!

We do hope you decide to return again soon,

Kind Regards,
Samara
Rydges Tradewinds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted with our room which overlooked the pool area. Had all the facilities we needed. Esplanade facing restaurant was good and a lovely location to sit with a drink or meal in the evening. Only complaint was a lot of late night noise from 1 of 2 weddings that were being held while we were ther. One of the male guests thought it funny to howl like an injured animal, well into the night. Just not on, and it did disturb our sleep. However, overall, I'd certainly and do hope to return to Cairns and will use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Although we had a side facing room overlooking the pool, we still had great views over and along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello TOKY,

Thankyou for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your stay in Cairns!

We are thrilled to hear you loved your room and the beautiful view you had, also that you enjoyed our restaurant 'Drift' and the atmosphere it provides.

We are sincerely sorry for any noise that disturbed your sleep, if we had been more aware of the situation we would have actioned immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind Regards,
Samara
Rydges Tradewinds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an ocean front king room. Terrific view overlooking the Esplanade and Trinity Inlet. The room was very large with plenty of space for working and relaxing. Restaurant on the ground floor or multitude of restaurants within minutes walking distance from the hotel. The staff are friendly, efficient and courteous. No fuss checking in and out.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with a balcony are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there Terry O,

Thankyou for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your visit to Cairns!

Our Ocean Front rooms are very popular and offer stunning views from the balcony, we can't think of a better way to start your day, we are lucky enough to have such large rooms and passionate that take pride in making sure all aspects of your stay is perfect!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards
Samara
Rydges Tradewinds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is great value for money and service is excellent.
Food at Drift restaurant is quite good - very pleasant surrounds.
North Qld hospitality is part and parcel of the stay and my only negative was the very basic cereals offered on the breakfast buffet.
Great location and good people ensure a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be very polite to front office staff and join the Rydges priority club as extra discounts are at no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there Zilla L,

Thankyou for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your stay in beautiful Cairns!

What a wonderful review, to hear you loved our rates, our restaurant and our service is fantastic. We go above and beyond for our guests to ensure their stays are as relaxing and as smooth as possible. We do hope you return to our hotel again soon,

Kind Regards,
Samara
Rydges Tradewinds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Tradewinds Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Address: 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Tradewinds Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing, 7-story Multi-winged Resort Hotel situated on large single site on the Cairns Esplanade directly across from Trinity Bay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Tradewinds Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Tradewinds Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Tradewinds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.