We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Tradewinds Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Gosford, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We love this hotel & been there 5 years in a row now. We feel right at home & the sunrise & evening views from the ocean view balcony is something we dream about. The rooms are spacious & to sit & watch the huge tidal flows from the balcony is an extraordinary & unique experience for us Sydneysiders. The staff are always friendly & helpful & the location simply cannot be beaten . The esplanade out front is a delight & the 5 minute walk to the shopping night markets & restaurant strip a breeze. We dined in this September on two occasions & the seafood platter was superb. This hotel is a no brainer for the relaxed traveller and although aging gracefully is still 4+star in our opinion.

Room Tip: sixth floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear rmb5785,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns for your visits to Far North Queensland. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns and the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    322
    182
    51
    28
See reviews for
153
308
56
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harajuku
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, the 1st night was ok, no dramas except the pool was pretty dirty, and the view of the horrible mud flats from the balcony is less than inspiring.

We left after the 1st night and had a booking for a couple days latter. On our return on Monday, the hotel looked absolutely dead/empty. We had booked for a Queen and breakfast included, they gave us 2 Twins and a 2 for 1 breakfast instead. We were told they were full and didn't have any Queens left. Which was obviously a lie, the place was absolutely dead compared to the weekend when we stayed for the 1st night (in a Queen).

There is no WiFi either, which just seems so simple to implement. They did have free internet via the Ethernet connection in the room though.

I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear DarnSmall,

Thank you for your comments. I was upset to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Rydges Tradewinds, I have passed your comments on to our staff. It is through feedback that we are able to improve our product.

We have recently upgraded our internet service and all rooms are now able to enjoy complimentary access to Wi-Fi.

Kind Regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Rydges Esplanade is a well maintained older property near the central business district (CBD) of cairns. It is located right on the Esplanade which makes enjoying the park easy. The rooms are very large, fairly nice,quiet, and clean. Ours was on the water side so we were able to have spectacular morning sun risings and colorful sunsets over the water. The hotel offers a very nice buffet breakfast with a special appeal Southeast Asian travelers. We became addicted to the passion fruit included on their buffet. The hotel also has a scheduled evening shuttle to the CBD. In addition, they are able to schedule any of the myriad of tours available in the area with the convenience of hotel pick-up. The one challenge is their internet connectivity, or lack of. We found ourselves (like other tourists from other hotels) converging on the coffee shops and tourist information centers that offered either computers or free wi-fi. The challenge of internet connectivity seems to be fairy prevalent in Cairns... Also, the hotel has laundry facilities to do your own laundry.

Room Tip: Ask for Esplande side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear MPatrick33629,

Thank you for your comments and I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently upgraded our internet facilities and all our rooms now enjoy complimentary access to Wi-Fi.

Kind regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. I was actually really sick so our time away was somewhat hampered. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we found the female staff to be much more attentive to details. The hotel is need of some serious renovation to uplift the rooms. The carpets are nearly threadbare, the bathrooms could do with a new shower/bath. We loved having tea/coffee facilities and we were always kept stocked with milk/tea/coffee. The bed was so comfortable and the mink blankets felt luxurious. We enjoyed the Sea Level Food and Wine Restaurant which was a great choice dining and compares to any of the other venues on the Esplanade. The Hotel is in a great location close enough to the all shops/restaurants and yet far enough away to not hear all the noise of the establishments. Our room was an OceanView room and we would definitely recommend getting that. The foreshore was a great view.

Room Tip: Ocean View is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Beachlife35,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns and for your review.

I have passed your comments on to our staff. The Dream beds are really comfortable and provide a great nights sleep.

Kind Regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

very clean
central position walked every where
meals great
happy hour
great pool
reasonable rates by expedia
front desk staff need to crack a smile and be more welcoming
family friendly
totally recommend the day spa , totally amazing and worth the money

Room Tip: beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Angela W,

Thank You for your comments and for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to our Front Desk team.

Kind Regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed twice at the Rydges Tradewinds. Every time we have been we have been treated like Royalty.
All the staff - from the Valet to the Room Staff - are just amazing, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The whole complex is sparking clean. The pool area and gardens as immaculate kept.
The rooms are huge, beds extremely comfy and very clean. They have great views from the Balcony.
The location is central to everything - the Esplanade is directly across the one way street, the CBD is a 5 minute walk away. Numerous eateries to cater to ever taste are dotted along the Esplanade a mere hop, skip and jump away.
The Buffet Breakfast is a feast! The Dinner Menu is superb and meals presented and cooked to perfection. The view form the Restaurant is breathtaking!
Overall a fantastic place to stay whilst in Cairns for 1 night or longer. The undercover and secure parking is an added bonus.
We would not consider staying anywhere else whilst in Cairns.
Debra - Charters Towers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Debra D,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds and for your review.

I was pleased that you have enjoyed your stay on both occasions and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A lovely hotel, but in need of a little renovation. The room we were given was fine, but the paintwork was a bit chipped and worn. We had a lovely bathroom, but the bath really needed replacing or at least resprayed with a fresh coat of enamel paint. Apart from that, the hotel is great. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is a safe in the room, free wi-fi in the lobby area, but if you have the correct connection on your laptop, you can get free internet use in the room from the ISDN cable coming out of the wall by the desk.

The hotel is ideally placed for a stroll along the Esplanade where there are many restaurants plying for trade and the main shopping mall is fairly close by.

The reception staff are very helpful with any queries and there is a hotel shuttle bus which will drop you into town and pick you up at set times.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear ScubaSuzie1,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our staff here at Rydges Tradewinds.

Kind Regards

Ty Milhinch
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Tradewinds Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Address: 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Tradewinds Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing, 7-story Multi-winged Resort Hotel situated on large single site on the Cairns Esplanade directly across from Trinity Bay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Tradewinds Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Tradewinds Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Tradewinds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.