We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a complete refurbishment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Tradewinds Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“In need of a complete refurbishment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

This hotel is extremely dated, and although we had a fantastic view from the room (executive sea view), the furniture was quite shabby and the service was somewhat lacking.
We couldn't see how it was rated 4 star, it was a world away from many 4 stars we have stayed in. Food was not good, with the exception of breakfast which was surprisingly nice. Cairns itself is just a tourist trap, possibly best avoided unless you really want to see the Daintree Rainforest and Great Barrier Reef, but I believe there are better places to see the reef and certainly better places to see rainforests.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the decor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompey7, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, February 19, 2008
Thank you for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds and for your valuable feedback.

I will address your comments with my team and will strive to improve our product and service levels.

I am pleased you enjoyed the view, location and breakfast.

Kind regards

David Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    349
    198
    57
    32
See reviews for
171
338
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Rydges tradewinds is a normal highrise hotel on the esplanade in Cairns. We stayed on one of the movies packages which was pretty good value for money, we got breakfast & 2 movie tickets. I was a bit surprised at how old the hotel building is but our room was immaculately clean, I have never come across such good housekeeping before in any hotel!!
The place is in need of a refurb but for the location & price its value for money.

  • Liked — The cleaniness of the room, the location & the price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompey7, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, February 12, 2008
Thank you for your favourable comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Tradewinds.
We are pleased that you think our hotel is good value for money and we will be embarking on a rejuvenating program throughout 2008 to improve our product.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

This was a great hotel for us! Just before we left home we changed our reservation to an Ocean Front room and it was the best decision. After touring all day, we spent time relaxing on our balcony sipping wine and enjoying our beautiful view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We also decided to check out their bar which had great food if you're in the mood for easy things such as wraps and nachos. The service left a little to be desired there, however we were there on Christmas Day and I think the girl at the bar had a long day.
Cairns was our first stop on our travels in Australia and I must also state that housekeeping did the best job out of all the places we stayed.

  • Liked — The View
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompey7, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, January 25, 2008
Thank you for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds and for taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns on your next visit.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Fantastic Location! Just a short walk to the Shops on The Esplanade. We had a room overlooking the pool as well as the ocean, which makes for a great way to pass the time on ones balcony - Play Scrabble, sip wine and wonder why God did not make the rest of the World like this.

The staff were enthuastic and well informed and the house keeping was discreet ( I really will never know how they get the bed sheets so tightly wrapped around the bed)

A TRICK: We ordered the Full Breakfast for 1 Person (A$27) and ticked enough items on the comprehensive list to feed two hungry souls.

A TIP: Join the Rydges Priority Membership via their website. It is free and instant. Thereafter you get a generous 20% of all dining and drinks and 10% of their best rate (which is exactly what all the last minute websites offer) Thus you will always better "Expedia" or "Neet it Now" etc. You then check in via your own queue, a-la business class style, and do not be afraid to ask for the "best room they can give you" This is a diplomatic way of asking for an upgrade.

A WARNING : The only down side was the E Bar restaurant, which has a superb view of the water. There were fliers in the room advertising 2-for-1 drinks on Fridays between 5pm and 7pm as well as Live Jazz. So we decided to make it an evening there only to find - yeah you guessed it. The full price beer ($6.50) was only mildly cold and I sang to my wife to make up for the missing band.

All in all - Highly recommended. ( The hotel that is)

  • Liked — Location to the city
  • Disliked — Pool is not really large or deep enough for adults to enjoy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompey7, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, January 25, 2008
Thank you for choosing to stay at Rydges Tradewinds. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and please accept our apologies for the incorrect information regarding the bar. The band has now re started on Friday nights and happy hour is available between 6 and 7pm.
Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns on your next visit.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Rydges Tradewinds is a nice place to stay. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a nicer, larger room for free. We were offered the option to join the new Rydges preferred user program, which offered half off in-room high speed and future discounts. The internet was sufficient. The view was excellent from the balcony. The location of the hotel was very nice. We were only a few blocks from decent food, a supermarket, and Fogarty Park. The room was clean and spacious. Also upon arrival, we were interested in booking a snorkeling trip while in town. While I checked-in, my wife looked over the brochures and had picked a favorite. Low and behold it was the same company that the front desk referred us to, so that raised our confidence in a nice trip. Then, they booked the trip for us and sent the charge to the room. We didn't have to do anything. Front desk staff were always nice and eager to help.

  • Liked — Location, price, service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompey7, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, January 25, 2008
Thank you for your kind comments which I have passed on to my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Booked this hotel with Qantas, it is in a prime location being parallell with the Esplanade. A five minute walk to the main shops and busy restaurant area, in a great spot away from the hussle and bustle but near enough to walk to all the excitiment. 15 minute walk to the marina where all the boats to the barrier reef depart.
Hotel was clean and had great facilities, the pool and pool area was comfortable and spacious. The hotel setting was nicely staged with palm trees and there is a balcony view across the ocean.

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — Rooms were quite basic
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Tradewinds Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Address: 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Tradewinds Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cairns hotel suites are convenient to Cairns lagoon precinct, where guests can take a dip in the clear, blue water or enjoy sunning on sandy shores. Nearby departure points for The Great Barrier Reef make it easy for guests staying in our Cairns hotel accommodation to explore its incredible natural beauty. The Cairns city centre is also within walking distance and offers premier area shopping and dining hotspots. We offer 246 Cairns hotel rooms exceptionally equipped with desirable features. Most rooms open onto a private balcony overlooking scenic views of the ocean, tropical gardens and swimming pool. All rooms are en-suite and boast complimentary WI-FI, a mini-bar, iron and ironing board and secure safe. Rydges Tradewinds is also pleased to offer recently released movies and games for hire on tablet computers. The cost is just $15 per 24 hours for a tablet which plugs directly into your room TV. Our Cairns hotel executive suites and ocean front rooms include luxurious signature Rydges Dream Beds where guests can rest from the adventures of the day. A variety of Cairns hotel rooms are available to perfectly suit those seeking business, leisure or family accommodation. Dining is available at the onsite restaurant, Drift on the Esplanade, where guests can enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the Coral Sea. Spa by the Sea offers guests seeking relaxation luxurious onsite spa treatments. Those staying at the hotel for a Cairns event will appreciate its conference and events facilities, capable of hosting up to 500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Tradewinds Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Tradewinds Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Tradewinds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.