We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and top staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Tradewinds Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stay and top staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

l stayed here on New Years Eve and was lucky enough to have an Oceanfront room on the 6th floor with a great view. Rooms are starting to get a bit of age to them but are clean and tidy , air con was excellent and very quiet and the whole room had a nice feel . l was lucky to have a corner room which also gave me a great view towards town from a side window. Check in was great and the lady was excellent in her dealings as she was under the pump with people booking in for new years eve. She was quick,polite and friendly and same with the checkout . The bed was 10/10 along with the pillows plus having extra types of pillows in the robe was great.Valet Parking was also good value for a $10 fee and a nice touch this morning was a bottle of cold water in the car on departure .Thanks Rydges Tradewinds and staff for a great new years eve

Room Tip: Get an Oceanfront room if you want great views. Try for the highest level you can Level 7 is top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear PaulyjCairns

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us over NYE! We would love to see you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    322
    182
    51
    28
See reviews for
153
308
56
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at the Rydges Tradewinds with our toddler using both beds in one room.

The room was clean and well presented and staff were extremely courteous, especially Jenny at the tour desk. I hope management read this because whatever she gets paid it is not enough, she was so helpful and friendly, she was the difference between this hotel getting a 3-4 star rating and a five.

The hotel has a nice pool, but for in the tropics it is surprisingly cool, but we did stay in spring time I guess.

The hotel is right on the esplanade and for us near the children's playground, (Muddies), which was very convenient.

It is a very short walk to all the restaurants, we had room service one night. It was okay, but really, with all those restaurants so close by, better food can be had for minimal effort. We didn't try their sit down restaurant but had breakfast included in our stay. It was okay, the coffee machine is terrible, but for those who like a strong watery (American Style) coffee may enjoy it, we certainly didn't.

Overall we found the hotel good, the staff excellent and the location is one of the best in Cairns.

(Oh, parking is extra, but with a very little effort free parking can be found around the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask to get an Ocean View room, I think it costs a bit more but its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear wemarriedinvegas

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes I do read this and note your great comments about Jenny at the Tour Desk.

Kind Regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

What a great stay from beginning to end. The staff really made it so. The hotel is older and it was a little hot while we were there but it was just great. The girls at breakfast welcomed us each day and the we slept better than we ever had on their dream bed. The location and veiws are alone worth the stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Monty J

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will pass them on to the breakfast team.

Regards

Matt
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Rydges Tradewinds in Cairns has a number of things to recommend it. It's slightly out of the CBD, yet still within an easy walk to anything. It has little traffic noise and good blackout curtains. Rates were very reasonable.
My major complaint was the cleanliness of the room. It wasn't dirty just mouldy! The overpowering smell upon entry to the room was mildew. The room needed to be aired out and bleach used in quantity to remove the smell.
I would have insisted on a new room, except we checked in at 1am and I just didn't have the energy.
If I stay again I would certainly insist on a different room with a higher standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: Try for a view of Trinity Inlet and a floor higher than 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear stevejohnson_4870

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We were haveing air conditioning issues over the period you stayed but I am pleased to say they have now been fixed.

Kind Regards

Matthew
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a wonderfull stay from beginning to end. The freindly and helpfull staff make all the difference. We had a great veiw of the coral sea every night and sat at breakfast watching the sunrise over the ocean. Great Location!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Hi there Keven

Thank you for your kind comments. I will pass them on to the staff.

Regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had a great time in Cairns, especially as I did not have to worry about anything. The hotel staff were very helpful and the tour desk aloud me to see some of the sites whilst I was in Cairns. The food was excellent and the rooms were very nice, especially for the price you pay for them! The local entertainment was also great. My family enjoyed this experience thoroughly!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thanks you very much for leaving us a review. We would love to see you and your family come back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Matthew
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Recently stayed for 3 nights and loved every second of it. Amazing ocean views from rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Beds where always well made and extremely comfortable with well stocked mini-bar. Great views from the breakfast ------------- and landscaping that just put my mind at ease. Great place to stay, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast is now a real highlight for us all.

Kind Regards

Matthew
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Tradewinds Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Address: 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Tradewinds Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing, 7-story Multi-winged Resort Hotel situated on large single site on the Cairns Esplanade directly across from Trinity Bay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Tradewinds Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Tradewinds Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Tradewinds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.