We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, friendly & fine for a few nights. Oh & a swim up bar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Cairns
sydney australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Central, friendly & fine for a few nights. Oh & a swim up bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

wanted to get in a long weekend and dive on the reef without the Port Douglas price tag so we stayed in Cairns for 1st time.
Got a great rate online for 3 nights with pool view & breakfast included.
Room did smell musty but that fades quickly with some fresh air from the balcony, and the room is clean. Bathroom a little dated but again, shower was hot and everything clean.

The selling point for Novotel Oasis is the pool area (with swim up bar) and the location (it's one street back from the main drag).
check in and all other staff were friendly, though some of the travellers working the pool bar were a little out of their depth, but you get your drink in the end!

Like others we were amazed at the amount of fruit bats in the adjoining trees, more amused at their antics than concerned. Use the free internet stations in the foyer to learn more about them :-)
It isn't a luxury option but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a great stop for a short stay & access to Cairns restaurants & the reef trips. I'd consider staying at the Novotel when in cairns for a short break again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    522
    308
    100
    52
See reviews for
390
493
82
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We had read reviews on trip advisor and due to being advantage plus members decided to try this hotel.

We arrived about 10am on Sunday and realised that check in was later in the day. Reception tried to accomodate us earlier but we were prepared for this and had decided that we would have a walk around town. It was a huge concern and we were happy to wonder.

Check in occurred on our return to the hotel and we went to our room. We have travelled extensively and had read the reviews and we were expecting a high level of service and conditions. Unfortunately when we arrived at the room and on opening the door the room smelt very musty. However as soon as the air conditioning clicked in it wasn't a big issue. Room was tidy, basic, but sufficient. We didn't opt for pool view and it didn't matter as we didn't spend a great deal of time in it.
As everyone has said the pool was great. Refreshing, clean, pool bar open and accessable. Always chairs available, quiet and secure. Service was great throughout the hotel.

Location was the best. Easy access to the CBD/esplanade for a wide variety of choices for shopping, eating and entertainment. Esplanade is entertainment in itself with fantastic swimming and lots going on. Markets are interesting.

Likes
-pool was glorious
-breakfast had wide variety for everyone - $28 each (advantage plus card $28 for 2)
-staff were helpful and friendly
-free internet access
-location

Dislikes
-suggest pool towels by the pool rather than in your room, fresh towels don't always coinicide with room cleaning and going to the pool
-musty room smell
-delays in check in is understandable but frustrating after a long trip

However overall had a relaxing holiday and look forward to returning again in the future

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Convenient to CBD and airport etc. Rooms recently refurbished. I travel to Cairns 3 or 4 times a year on business and this is my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights with this hotel. Usually the hotel room brochure describes its features but not this one. I searched high and low and found the blue "room directory Novotel" book. Under Services Internet access it doesn't mention that there is free wifi in the lobby or the fact that you have to pay to use internet in the rooms.

The dining in booklet doesn't mention the dinner or breakfast buffet. The receptionist told me that during the week there is a buffet for $49 (some nights with seafood) and on weekends it's $60. Breakfast buffet is $28. I didn't see any signage at check in and nor did the front desk staff advise me that this was available.

The LCD TV quality is not good: the image is blurry and the colour is blotchy.

As a business traveller the room has plenty of space for one person and plenty of power points. The lack of a desk lamp makes it impossible to read anything at the desk.

Reception staff were helpful by bringing a floor lamp, which improved the lighting marginally.

The bed was presented nicely however it was the softest bed I have ever encountered - maybe they are old.

Airconditioning worked well and was quiet.

Water pressure and cleanliness in the bathroom was good.

Noisy children playing in the pool make it difficult to open the windows to let in the natural breeze.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up bar.All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include a free web corner with the latest IMAC technology, free wi fi (lobby area only), 24 hour in balance gym, onsite hairdresser and Massage & Beauty. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception.Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and of an evening boasts modern À la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu.The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy’s', Cairns modern, fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.