We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Downers Grove, IL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed at the Oasis Resort for 5 nights in July 2006. The hotel has a good location and a lovely pool, but those were the highlights. The room decor is very dated and the bedding is limp and worn. My biggest complaint was our carpet was very dirty and in general the room wasn't all that clean. The first whole day we were there we spent out on a reef trip and came back at 5:30 to an unserviced room. The next day we went back to the room at 3:30 and it still wasn't cleaned! I called the first day and had them bring towels and called the second day too -- and this was after our "please clean our room" sign was out all day. Maybe the maids got in trouble so did a lousy job thereafter on the room. The lobby was always crowded with tour groups waiting to check in and the concierge was never at his desk. We did find the tour desk to be helpful. l reserved the room online directly with the hotel many months prior to our trip and emailed a few weeks before to reconfirm. After several emails over a week with no response l called them and was told l must have a problem with my server (AOL not receiving mail?). l had a friend with a different server email them another question and she also got no response. Either they have a problem emailing the US or don't really care to respond. The halls are outside so there is a lot of noise, and we found that most of the tour groups have an attitude of not caring how much noise they make. We did appreciate the self service laundry room (A$6.00 per load), and that room was very clean. I wouldn't stay here again, although my chances of getting back to Australia are slim anyway.

  • Liked — pool area
  • Disliked — room quality and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    632
    397
    138
    66
See reviews for
454
611
98
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
akron,ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

I loved the Oasis resort Cairns. It was the perfect location. At the back of the resort was a wonderful Italian restaurant. I feel that the people that worked there loved their jobs. They had the best coffee I ever tasted with breakfast. Breakfast was a little expensive, but worth it (you didn't have to eat again till dinner). Cairns is very beautiful, clean, quiet. I would visit again. The room was clean, but a little worn. I thought this was a result of using a reservation service, rather than calling the hotel directly. They promise cheap hotel rooms because they obtain lesser rooms and pass the cost to the consumer. Just my thought.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

The Oasis resort Cairns... what a gorgeous hotel!

Firstly, the location is excellent. You can walk to the shopping centre, pubs and the esplanade easily and all of the day tours will pick you up right from the reception door!

The staff at the Oasis were EXCEPTIONALLY professional, helpful and friendly. We were very impressed! We had a minor hitch on check in but were given a free drink pass while we waiting for it to be fixed and also a room upgrade as a gesture of apology.

The room was overlooking the magnificent pool. featured a modern private bathroom, 2 double beds, TV with cable channels, a fridge and kettle and an assortment of coffees, teas and bathroom necessities (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, face soap, hand soap, shoe shiner etc). The rooms are also air-conditioned which is a very good thing in the hot Cairns climate.

The pool is amazing (see photos) it has a sandy white beach at one end, a water feature that flows down into the pool and even a swim-up bar. At night the pool area is lit up with asian-type lanterns and stainless steel torches. There are also plenty of lounges around the pool area to relax.

Although we did not eat at the restaurant (the prices were not in our budget) whenever we walked past, it was spotless and the tables were always looking perfect. The reception area was also spotless at all times and had plenty of comfy but still funky chairs. Make sure you check out the GORGEOUS artwork behind the reception counter... i wanted to bring it home!

The Oasis resort was a really nice, convenient hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. It was always very relaxed, laid back and everyone was very friendly. There is also a gym and tour booking office in the hotel for added convenience and fun!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

I love his hotel. Excellent pool - very clean. Garden is just well designed. Very good service. Walking distance in town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

We have just returned from a lovley week at Cairns and Port Douglas.
The Oasis was a lovley hotel the staff were wonderful BUT the entry cards which they use instead of keys to access the Car Park, Lifts and Rooms left a lot to be desired. We had so much trouble with these that I feel they really need to have a look at a better system, apart from that our stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2004

I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2004, 3 independently and the last 2 as the start of an escorted tour.
Great location, two blocks behind the lively part of the Esplanade.
The staff were very helpful, even proactively changing my room allocation so that I did not have to move rooms partway thru my stay.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2004

We stayed at the Oasis in September 04. The location is pretty good - a couple of blocks from the Esplanade where all the restaurants/shops are. The lobby and pool are fairly nice looking. The bedspreads were a dated godawful mix of bright light green and blue - hard to look at without sun glasses. Other than the room decorations, everything else was nice enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.