We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
MELBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

Stayed 5 Nights at Novotel and 6 Nights at Pullman Reef to make Cairns visit more interesting. Novotel is a good family hotel with friendly staff, the large tropical lagoon style pool with a white sandy beach at one end, and bar with covered area in the middle was great. However, there was NO outdoor Spa which I missed.
The rooms were adequate, small bathroom with bath/shower, free coded Key safe, and pool towels provided. The rooms had individual A/C units which required to be turned on, the corridors were not A/C apart from the foyer, Dining Rm etc. This would save on power, but until the room cooled down, I would be sweating profusely and found it uncomfortable.
The buffet breakfast was very good and busy at times with lovely decore and setting beside the pool. The location was also good with easy walking distance to the Esplanade area and most of Cairns Central. In-house Tour bookings were very helpful and convienient as well, also they had free Internet stations.
Overall very good value, clean and family friendly.

  • Liked — The lagoon style pool, and buffet breakfasts, location
  • Disliked — Airconditioning in room, no outdoor Spa
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    631
    397
    138
    66
See reviews for
454
610
98
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in Cairns, & found it excellent. It is well placed, just one street back from the sea front. There is no beach as such in Cairns (just mud flats), so the pool was a major draw. It has a fantastic pool in the centre of the hotel area - it beautifully desined amid tropical gardens, & even has a sandy beach running into the water at the shallow end! Nce rooms, good public areas, & excellent bufft style restaurant make this a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location in Cairns, wonderful pool
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

6 times we have stayed at the OASIS Cairns for business and my self and my wife enjoy each stay usually we stay around 2-3 nights before departing home to Gold Coast only on one occasion that we request a room change as it has no view of the pool only the car park, apart from this overall stay we really enjoy and have a pleasant pool view really nice. We have enjoy both breakfast, dinners , and we even try the food close to the swimming pool cafe which we always orders nachoes and ice cream coffee we love those. On Dinner time we order steak and chips and fish meal both are very good include dessert chocolate and macadamia ice cream overall we have enjoy staying at the OASIS and will recommend to all business or holiday travelers ,great distance walking around Cairns Area and close to the major shopping center . Good and enjoyable stay .

  • Liked — We love the pool and the restaurants
  • Disliked — view of some of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Booked a stay at the Novotel Oasis resort as part of our trip around Oz. We booked the hotel via their website on a pre-paid rate. I would like to mention that we emailed the hotel requesting a pool view which we were given but it was not made clear that we would be charged extra so be careful when you are making requests. After making our request the hotel emailed us asking if we would like to include breakfast in our rate to which we accepted. However, upon arrival we were told that breakfast was not included in our rate. Luckily I had taken a print of the emails so after several days of discussions the hotel agreed to let us have the breakfast. Although I must add we weren't that impressed with the food. The hotel did sort out the problem and compensated us well for the hassle but I would advise to take a copy of any email communication with you. The pool is the highlight of the hotel it really is like being in an oasis and the rooms are lovely very modern and comfortable. Location wise the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the ocean where there are plently of shops, restaurants and bars. Would definitely recommend a visit to Outback Jacks for steak lovers probably the best steaks I have ever had wish they were here in the UK.

Cairns itself is lovely although the weather is tropical so be prepared for a few showers. As non-swimmers we had a lovely trip to the Barrier Reef we went on the submarine and still got to see a shark, turtles and loads of tropical fish. We only had half a day but had a lovely time. We went to Kuranda which was really nice. We got the railway up and the skyrail back down. We really enjoyed our trip to Kuranda and got to buy a few souveniers as there are plenty of shops to look around. We also went to Daintree rainforest which was amazing. We went on a crocodile watching trip but unfortunately didnt get to see any but also went to a wildlife sanctuary and got to feed kangaroos and cuddle a koala. The rainforest is an experience and interesting the tour operator wasn't brilliant but its fab to see that side of the country.

Cairns is definitely worth a visit as you get to see not only the Barrier Reef but the Rainforest aswell. The hotel is really nice and although we were disappointed with the problems we experienced in the end we feel it was sorted out.

  • Liked — Pool was fantastic
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This hotel was okay but definately not great. I spent the weekend here with my bestfriend. We advised the hotel prior that we would be arriving early 10.30am, yet when we arried we were advised that we could not check in until AFTER 2pm. With so many rooms and not being a peak time, I find it very hard to believe that they had no other rooms ready that we could have.
The room was nice and beds comfy except the balcony was tiny.
Not one staff member smiled the whole time we were there, it was almost like we were a burden, never have i seen such poor service.
We pre-ordered breakfast when we booked (as it was not included in the room rate), and when we pre-paid our receipt said we had paid for this too, yet when checking out we got a nasty surprise that apparently it is a glich in there system and infact we had not pre-paid for the breaky so we had to pay for it on departure. Breakfast for the amount we paid was not worth it at all. We had to wait for plates and cups each morning as they had run out, most of the fruit was canned, I would have thought they would at least be fresh and the cooked food was a little ordinary.
The pool was nice but we ordered chips to share by the pool for $6 we were given a small bowl, both left very unsatissfied.
We are going back to Cairns, early next year and will not be staying here.

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — service, breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this Resort from 9/23 to 9/27/08 and we liked it so much that we returned, after traveling throughout Queensland, for our last 2 nights in Australia, 10/10 and 10/11/08. So a total of 6 nights. Got a good deal on Traveocity through Trip Advisor which included breakfast. We found meals to be expensive in Australia in general, and the breakfast at this resort was $28 per person, so breakfast included is a good deal, if it is available when you book.

While this is not a luxury resort, it is a very well located (easy walking distance to everywhere of interest in Cairns) 6 floor hotel that is very clean and pleasant. There is an attractive lobby area, the dining room opens out to tropical gardens, and their nice pool has a small sandy beach, with a swim up bar! The rooms are nice, very clean, with a small balcony off the room. Really nice comfy beds with good linens & extra pillows (I love a nice comfy bed!) . The bathrooms are not large, but perfectly adequate and well lit, with a hair dryer. There was good air conditioning and a fan as well.
I think the best location might be one of the top floors looking out on the pool, but probably the city side would not be bad either.

The best part was the great staff. From the minute we arrived until we said good-bye every single staff person we encountered was helpful, friendly and ultra efficient. They definitely made us feel welcome and appreciated as their guests. You don't always get that in places far more expensive. This place is very good value for the money and we highly recommend staying there. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Great friendly service from the staff.
  • Disliked — Cost of Internet seemed very high, but we found that to be the case in other places in Au too.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We saw this hotel listed in a German travel brochure, but got better prices via their Accor internet site by paying in advance. The hotel is located at about 15 minutes from the airport by hotel shuttle bus (15 AUD for 2), near the beach and the Esplanade, as well as to the Night Market and all the restaurants with terraces.
This is probably the reason why this hotel has only one restaurant but we liked that one very much. It is called Mizuna and it is also the place where you have your breakfast. The dinner menu is actually a buffet for 49 AUD per person with a lot of different bits and pieces for starters, nicely dressed small portions on small plates and bowls or spoons, a good variety of hot dishes with fish, poultry and beef. There is a life cooking section, but we saw mainly bowls of salads and differents dressings and a handful of kids waiting around for the cook to fix them pancakes or crepes with sliced fruits. The dessert buffet section is not bad either with, again, many small portions of delicaties.
Breakfast was also diversified enough, but, strangely, as at many other places in Australia, they do not offer cheese for breakfast. We tried the favorite Aussie spread, Vegemite, only once, and it did not really meet our taste...to express it in a polite way...
The lobby is often full of Japanese guests, but Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef ...and, thinking of it, Australia as a whole, seems to be a very popular place for them to travel to, anyway, which explains the Japanese style breakfast section in all the hotels we have been, as well as the advertisements in Japanese.
The style of the recently refurbished hotel is modern and pretty "zen" with simple but nice decorations.
The pool is quite big with a sandy beach area, lots of trees and shrubs around to provide some shade, nicely lit with torches at night, a good place to relax and have a cool drink.
The rooms and bathrooms are not too big, but bright and comfortable, combined tub-shower with a clean, white curtain. TV is a flat screen and you can watch a special
holiday channel which provides interesting information about Cairns and its surroundings.
A plus (in our eyes) was our first stay at the end of a corridor with a view on the pool area and the sound of the flying foxes through our door on the other side. We heard them coming back from their night flights (after feeding on mangoes, as it was mango season) early in the morning. They make a lot of noise when they settle down on the branches of the nearby trees and we first thought the noise came from birds.
Internet connection available in-room with an ethernet cable which you can borrow at the reception. The prices are rather high if you do not need internet for long: you have the choice between one hour for 11 AUD or 24 hours for 24,95 AUD.
There is a counter where you can book your excursions and we liked the two we did with "Tropical Horizons" very much (Kurandy bay train and skyrail and Lake Barrine, Daintree, waterfalls, Southern table lands and Paronella Park).
As to the staff, they were all very polite, efficient and friendly. Check-in and out were quick and smooth each time (we stayed twice at this hotel before and after our Great Barrier trip to Green Island).
We can only recommend this hotel, as we got really good value for the price we paid !

  • Liked — Zen modern style and robbed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.