We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, poor property” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice staff, poor property”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recently stayed at the Novatel Cairns. The staff were friendly. In a good location, walking distance to just about everything in Cairns city center.

The property was full, not a spare room. We arrived at the hotel 10.05PM and tried to order from the restaurant only to miss the cut-off time by five minutes. The duty manager didn't seem too bothered refusing to take restaurant orders and referred us to a rather limited room service menu. The room had several thin cracks in wall running half the distance of the wall and carpet was recently steam cleaned leaving a musty smell. Had to leave the balcony door open all night air out.A double bed with two single bed bases underneath making it uneven. The matter was in dire need of being replaced.

Very average property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    524
    310
    104
    52
See reviews for
390
496
82
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was in Cairns on business, unfortunately during school holidays. The hotel was full of families enjoying the perfect weather, the pool and surrounds. It certainly made going to work tough!
The hotel had everything you would expect. I was disappointed on my first night, checking in after 8pm to find the restaurant closed. The bar provided limited food options, which they then got my order wrong. I was offered a complimentary drink, which I gladly accepted - and thoroughly enjoyed the meal that was served.
The room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately it was ground floor near the pool - which made it quite noisy at times, and the resort was full of families enjoying the sun. Shower pressure was good, room service breakfast came on time.
For my next visit I hope to be in holiday mode!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I do find Novotel hotels a tad sparse and basic for what they charge, but a recent stay in the Novotel Oasis Resort in Cairns was really below par and not the way the hotel looks on line at all. The room I had was very dated, in need of a thorough clean and a refurb, with even a hole in the piece of furniture I presume intended to put my case on. The internet in the room was ridiculously expensive, so I decided to use the free internet in the lobby, but that was interminably slow and kept crashing. When I complained about the free internet, a very efficient duty manager did give me free internet access in my room through ethernet, but that was also very slow and unreliable and they tried to charge me for it when I checked out. The saving grace for this hotel was the manager of the restaurant at breakfast. She she was excellent but the rest of the staff including at check in were unmotivated and clearly not happy! Come on Accor get your act together and deliver what you say and show about a hotel on the web site and that is definitely not the case in the Novotel Oasis Cairns.

Room Tip: Don't bother, give it a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice room, well laid out, good housekeeping. Service at restaurant really bad, pre-drinks arrived after meals, had to pester for orders to be taken. Fire alarm went off Thurs night, Emergency Response was pitiful. Staff unapologetic and had no idea how to respond and staff weren't aware that the fire alarm had gone off and guests had reacted by evacuating the building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Rude front desk staff. We requested towels for the pool and waited and waited....
The room had deteriorated and urgently needs renovation. Towels had gone greed. No care for little,but very important things. Disappointing!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Front desk staff is not at all friendly. We were waiting from 11.30 am to check in, till 2.15pm. They didn't take any effort to clean the room quickly to check in early. Didn't even apologise for the delay. Stayed there for 5 nights. Free Wi-Fi never worked. When we asked, the answer was there are so many people using. Gave us a room in the front side and there was no view at all, as the big tree was blocking the view. In the bathroom, tap was leaking in the bath tub and never fixed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up bar.All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include a free web corner with the latest IMAC technology, free wi fi (lobby area only), 24 hour in balance gym, onsite hairdresser and Massage & Beauty. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception.Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and of an evening boasts modern À la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu.The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy’s', Cairns modern, fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.