We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Saint George, Utah, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice property but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

First the positives - the property is lovely with a nice pool and the staff was helpful and friendly. The location is great, close to the Esplanade and 2 car rental options. Now for the negatives - the rooms and lobby are very dated and cushions tearing, and the grounds are neglected. The elevator doors were dirty and walkways not swept clean. The bathroom amenities are worse than you'd get at a Days Inn in the USA. The tile was chipped and the bathroom sink so small no room to put more than a toothbrush. There is free wifi but the signal is so weak you can only get it in close proximity to the hotel lobby. Then it's very slow. Breakfast is expensive for what you get - $18 for coffee, juice, muffin and some fruit that was not very good. Overall, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
While it is nice to read that you think the resort has a great location and pool. We are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Your valuable feedback, including our guest rooms requiring a good makeover will be taken on board when we next review our capital investment plans. In the meantime we hope to continue welcoming you back to Accor Hotels around Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    551
    340
    111
    55
See reviews for
407
526
84
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed there for just one night. The location is just minutes form the city and the esplanade. Rooms are nice and clean. Overall a good experience. Will defiantly come and stay here again. The staffs were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post positive feedback about your recent stay at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

How on earth do they put a Novotel name to this dated motel. The pool area is neat, but needs attention but no where as fast as what their rooms and bathrooms need. Dated old and tired are thee words my wife said when we checked into this place. Sheets are paper thin and feel rough. Pillows are old and flat. Towels are like sandpaper. I've seen so many other reviews on here about staff. But we had no issue with staff. We found them all to under trained yet friendly. Great location though.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere, we checked out early and checked into the Cairns Hotel next door to this NovaHell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was surprised that this was a Novotel Hotel as it is certainly not up to their normal standard, The reception staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms small although very clean. We were disturbed most of the night by the noise from the room next door as the walls are really thin. Very surprised we were charged for parking as most hotels include this in the tariff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about this hotel after reading reviews but honestly we thought it was great! I found reception staff helpful and attentive. Rooms were large, clean and serviced daily, and we received a bottle of champagne on arrival. We were on the top floor which was modern and clean. The pool area is nice, although the bar staff were not always there. Breakfast buffet was perfect for us and we got a "BOGOF" voucher throughout our stay. The hotel is quiet and is approx 3-5 mins walk to esplande which was great. The only downfall was that they had 2 small double beds for a honeymoon couple - not a major fault.
Overall great hotel, location etc

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room was very ordinary. The beds were lumpy and all but one of the pillows were uncomfortable. The bath was not easy to get out of without slipping and no conditioner was provided. The air conditioner turned on and off randomly and sometimes worked as a heater rather than a cooler despite being set to cool. Even after 'maintenance' it continued to beep and operate at random intervals, including during the night. The corridor smelled appalling, on the first day just generically so but on the last day it was like they had strategically emptied a dirty nappy in several places down the full length. The seating in the lobby was ridiculously low and was so old / overused that it sunk even lower. The only saving graces were that the staff were lovely and the restaurant was decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up bar.All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include a free web corner with the latest IMAC technology, free wi fi (lobby area only), 24 hour in balance gym, onsite hairdresser and Massage & Beauty. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception.Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and of an evening boasts modern À la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu.The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy’s', Cairns modern, fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.