We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience that could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    631
    396
    138
    66
See reviews for
452
610
98
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit in 10 years, I will not be back until it has been refurbished.
Room is dirty and smelly, large dirty stains on drapes and shower curtains, no carpet, poor tv reception and faulty remote control, very soft spongy beds, noisy air conditioner, warm fridge, bathroom smells of urine, bottom of the bathroom door is rotting.
Pool and swim up bar is still great, it's what we come here for. But I'm sure there are other resorts around with great pools and rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
While it is always great to welcome back regular guests I am sorry to discover that you were unhappy with the quality of the room you stayed in. I wish to take this opportunity to apologise for failing to deliver the holiday experience we aim to provide. Your feedback has been discussed with our Chief Engineer and we shall takes the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, as part of a birthday trip for me. We found the hotel to be be in need of maintenance and a little run down. The bathroom door handle was loose and fell off when we attempted to open the door. The room was not clean and there were stains on the carpet. My husband spoke to the staff at the reception desk and all they could offer us was an upgrade to a suite, which we accepted at the cost of $50 additional per night. The suite was cleaner but still a bit worn. We were really looking forward to the swim-up bar at the pool; however most of the time it wasn't even open. The hotel description listed live music in the bar area in the hotel but there was none. In fact, on the last day of our stay, the inside bar wasn't open. We were looking forward to having a drink before dinner and relaxing a bit after a long day of sightseeing, but such was not the case. Location of the hotel is convenient to the Esplanade and boardwalk, as well as the marina for snorkeling expeditions and the like. Overall, the hotel was adequate but disappointing. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I travel to Cairns frequently where as one might expect, there are a number of hotels to choose from. This hotel used to be a very nice place to stay in Cairns & I have stayed at this property on numerous occasions over the past few years. Sadly, my most recent three stays during the last six months have resulted in my deciding to look elsewhere for accomodation whenever I visit Cairns. That is, until such time as MAJOR improvements are made.
The following comments are based upon my experiences during the previous three visits.
Restaraunt - Was great. Is not anymore! As an a example, the dinner buffet service which used to be offered in the evening was very attractive and inviting is now rarely if ever, (from what I have been told / experienced) offered. The menu now on offer is over priced, poorly presented and very limited.
Pool - Was wonderful. Is not anymore. Now not well maintained. Pool towels to be seen strewn around the pool area in the morning having not been cleared away by stafff the previous evening, used cups, etc. left on tables along with various items of rubbish...
Room - Carpets stained, problems with aircon, generally look tired and in need of renovation.
Free Internet in the lobby - A joke! Simply too slow to make use of. Note: When staff members were questioned about this, they simply said that is was very poor and that many other guests complained about it.
Staff / Service - My interactions woith members of staff indicated that there is a general lack of interest or willingness to provide the level of service which one might associated with an Accor property. Aside from acting in a most discoureous manner, at least one member of staff, (a young man working the front desk) was simply rude.
Frankly, I now believe that there are better places to stay in Cairns when travelling with or woithout family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool were well looked after. The bed was comfortable, the room was large but the furniture was sparse and not that comfortable.
Overall we were very happy with the price we paid and our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Not an ideal room. Room was located at the front of the resort so we were constanly dealing with the noise of coaches coming and going, also there was a smokers area at the front of the hotel so we had cigarette smoke wafting into our room. The room was not very soundproof and we had noise from the corridor outside our room and also from the adjoining room. Tried to change rooms but the hotel was overbooked. Pool was not heated, not a problem in summer, but a little cool in winter. Front desk staff were polite but not very helpful with directions. The hotel had a tour desk but again staff were not really very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.