We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in the most grubbiest of hotels” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Port Moresby
1 review
“Two nights in the most grubbiest of hotels”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Novotel Oasis Resort - is very tired - and very grubby - the rooms I stayed in had dirty splash marks all down the walls - the corridors and lifts need a good clean - and water blast - The restaurant food is only average - and service not to hot - Reception staff all good and very attentive - and the girl at switchboard is was very switched on - Had no hot water - at one stage in the morning - when reported the duty manager eventualy came - and after discussions and informing him of the filthy conditions - and being advised I had been flagged as VIP - he advised that the wing I had been put in gets some battering from kids etc? so not sure why a VIP was placed in once of these rooms ? - when reporting about the guttering at the balcony that was all rusted and could not go on the balcony during the rains - was politly informed that this will be replaced in CAPEX next year? - this is a $200aud piece of guttering - The vacum cleaner sat in the middle of the hallway for 6 hours and did not move - had to walk or go over the vacum - all up I went back to this hotel to see if they had improved from my last stay - guess I will be retruning to the Shangri - La - where VIP means VIP

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. While I am pleased to learn that you were happy with the service you received from our Reception team, I am sorry that you felt the hotel was tired and the hot water took a while to heat up in the morning.

It is important that we treat all our guests as VIPs, that we provide exceptional service and pay attention to the little things, like removing a vacuum cleaner when it is not in use. I wish to apologise for failing to deliver these standards on this occasion.

I am pleased to report that we recently installed a new hot water system and our Housekeeping team will ensure the other issues you encountered are addressed.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope we get to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    631
    397
    138
    66
See reviews for
454
610
98
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

One of your least favorite places we stayed in Australia. The pool area and such was nice but the rooms were just OK. Just a big resort style hotel with average rooms. As in everywhere we stayed in Australia and New Zealand the WiFi was almost non-existent. Sometimes you could connect in the lobby, and other times not or it was very slow. If you wanted to use one of the two computers in the lobby there was a 30 min. timer. At 5:00PM there was a Happy Hour with reduced drink prices but overpriced food. We only made that mistake once... next time, drinks, no food. Rooms sometimes had a musty smell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
While it is great to read that you liked using the large lagoon size pool and enjoyed the daily happy hour, I am sorry that you encountered slow wireless connection in the lobby and felt the food was pricey.

I am happy to confirm that we have been working with a local telco to improve the wireless service and hope to have a much faster connection available by the end of the month. We also introduced a new restaurant menu with great value for money options, including 2 courses for just $35!

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel room is nice and clean overall. The pool view is also a bonus point for me to think of this hotel again and again. Great location, just 10 mins walk to market/ shops. The breakfast is also great and the service in the restaurant is excellent.

Improvement areas: some small ants found in my room (near the minibar).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Novotel in Cairns except for the internet access.
It is a shame that for an hotel of this standing and price category, there is not any Wifi available in the rooms. Instead of that we had to go in the reception hall where the internet reception was quite bad as well!!!!!! The few computers with internet access log you automatically out after 15 minutes!!!!!!
Additionnally this is in the surroundings of the hotel known that the internet acess is free so when you sit in the reception hall this is a constant defile of people not belonging to the hotel and coming there to share the connection.
How is it not possible to give at least exclusive access to hotel clients only?
Best regards,
Thierry Gentes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your recent stay at the resort.

All Novotel hotels in Australia have an iMac computer lounge providing guests with 20 minutes free internet access. At our resort we offer the iMac computer lounge and 1 hour free wireless connection in our lobby to guests with their own lap top, iPod or the like.

We have been working with a local telco since last year to improve the speed of internet in our hotel. While progress has been slow, we are confident we will have a significantly faster service in place by the end of the month. In the meantime I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the slow wireless speed.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location to see all that Cairns has to offer...the beds were very comfortable.the breakfast was brilliant with organic options :-) The lagoon pool was fantastic for our whole tribe to relax in after exploring ......very family friendly accommodation. We will definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Glad to hear that the whole family enjoyed their stay at the resort.

Boasting the largest lagoon style pool in Cairns with a sandy beach at one end for the kids to enjoy, barbecue facilities, a kids corner in our restaurant and Muddy's children's play ground located only 2 blocks away, our resort is the best place to have a family holiday in Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here one night whilst transiting through Cairns. I found the hotel clean with great facilities.
Room service on goes to 10pm, which is a minor issue if your flight gets in late. However there are options close by.
Lastly these are the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in:-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have stayed regularly in novotels whilst living in Australia due to their rooms which can accomodate 2 adults and 2 small kids aswell as kids free breakfast which is great.Have stayed in Brisbane and Sydney to compare. This hotel is fine except for the cooked breakfast and internet . In regards breakfast I personally wouldn't waste my money again on full breakfast as it was pretty poor and we ended up having a continental each morning. I'm from UK so I know what a full english should be! It isn't fatty uncooked bacon, vile cheap sausages, sloppy scrambled eggs and spagetti instead of beans!!! No hash brown in sight and had to ask for a fried egg! The chef really needs to be flown down to Brisbane or Sydney on a course to improve.The internet was really poor-they offer a mac corner which cant load any pages! Couldn't access even hotmail which took 10+ minutes to load if at all, and then shut off at 20 minutes-really frustrating! Had to use front desks computer eventually to send important business issues. Soooo- overall nice accomodation in nice place but spoiled by poor food at breakfast and poor internet. Probably wouldn't stay again due to food-plenty of other options in Cairns.

Room Tip: dont pay for full breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Sorry to learn that your experience at the resort was mixed, with some good impressions and some poor. We are keen to make every stay at the resort memorable for all the right reasons. So I wish to apologise for failing to deliver a high standard of food at breakfast time and for the slow internet speed.

Your valuable feedback was shared with the Kitchen team and we shall take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

Once again, thanks for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.