We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY - SPOILT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
A TripAdvisor Member
“15TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY - SPOILT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night at the end of our trip and we were very impressed! We were upgraded from a normal base room to a spa suite overlooking the pool! We were very excited and felt spoilt! Thank you! All round great place! Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    659
    409
    144
    70
See reviews for
465
645
106
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here for a night before heading up to the Daintree, hoping for a relaxing nights sleep after flying in late. Good points were the pool being nice and a reasonable gym. The main issue was that our room (120) was located at the end of a corridor which had a door which opened autmatically. This wouldn't normally be an issue, other than it was extremely loud meaning we woken up any time any used the door. Another part of us not getting a good nights sleep was the aircon is our room was loud and rattly, compounded by the fact that it wasn't cooling the room. My pregnant wife and myself left in the morning tired and not disappointed with he experience.

Room Tip: Stay no where near room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Novotel, while centrally located, has poor service. The WiFi, free only in the lobby is appallingly slow and drops out with frequency. We had to ask to have the room cleaned, waited once at the bar while the bartender ignored us, and there was always a line at the front desk. Some of the staff didn't seem to know what was going on. The tour desk pushes only some tours, presumably because these yield more commission.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
I am sorry to learn that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. It is important that we offer a high standard of facilities including good internet connection, so in response to your feedback we have taken the decision to upgrade the hotel wireless service.

We discussed your comments with the local company that manages our Tour desk. They assured us that they will take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered.

We are confident that your feedback will be used to good effect, enabling us to provide better service and facilities.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

First night room had a towel on the floor to soak up the water from the leaking air conditioner which was only working to half its capacity.
We ate three times at night in your restaurant for convenience as we have done as a family in Brisbane Gold Coast and Sydney countless times, but the quality of this food compared with other novotels and Sofitels was appalling as was the service. On the second night our request for a menu to peruse was ignored or forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

I am sorry to discover that we failed to meet your expectations. I wish to take this opportunity to apologize for any incovenience caused. Please rest assured that we shall take the steps necessary to ensure your experience remains an isolated incident.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you're after 5-star luxury, then look elsewhere. However, if you want a good all-round hotel for a reasonable price, then this is the spot. The hotel was perfectly located for access to the esplanade etc. Rooms were clean and well appointed (you even get a 'pillow menu'), the pool area was perfect for the kids (and for the adults!). Restaurant food was excellent and the staff went out of their way to help us. Our flight into Cairns was an early one but the hotel had no problem with checking us in at 10am which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

we've been coming to cairns and staying at the oasis every few months for the last 8 years, it was always really good & the staff were great. But this trip is a real dissapointment, when we arrived we checked in then went to go park, wondering why our card wasnt working we went back to reception to be informed we now had to pay an extra $10 for parking. Now we wouldnt usually have a problem with it, except in all the times we've been staying here we've never had to pay it before, but mainly we were never told about it upon check in. And as it looked in the carpark with only a few cars there on a fully booked out night, dont think others are impressed either.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Overall a good experience and the pool there is great. Only critisism is that the bed was way too hard, the cane chair in the room was uncomfortable to sit in so if you wanted somewhere to sit you had to sit on the bed. The airconditioners in the room was really noisy asit was the old compressor split systems type and finally the lounges around the pool were uncomfortable as they were the hard plastic type. So to end on a good note the food and the staff there were nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.