We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Resort Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel is pretty good value for money with a lovely pool area. The location is good and within walking distances to everything you need in Cairns (Esplanade/shops). We had the Seafood Buffet on the Saturday night for dinner which was nice but we had an Advantage Plus card which gave us 241 otherwide it was $60 per person which would have been a bit steep. Only downfall was that reception was a bit slow and we were unfortunate to arrive when a bus load had just pulled up, an acknowledgement of us given we weren't with the bus group would have been good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    523
    310
    104
    52
See reviews for
390
496
82
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Service on arrival was very professional and useful information. Beds were so soft and great to sleep in and pillows good. airconditioned rooms - breakfast in morning was plentiful and surrounds relaxing. Pool is fantastic and the beach landscaped area makes it special

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

A good place to stay close to the airport which makes it convenient when dropping family off to travel overseas etc. As an Accor staff member I only stay here, the staff are very friendly & the property is great always clean & tidy I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

we stayed at the Novotel Oasis over the easter break for 3 days.......being an accor member i always try to stay at a novotel if available in the place we are visiting. this resort is by far the worst Novotel ever. From the very slow reception check-in to the shortage of towels for the pool area, to the very overpriced seafood buffet on good friday
even the breakfast on our last day was disappointing.....they are very short staffed and do not seem to care. The worst part of our stay was our room - 505. from the moment we walked in until we left the smell in the bathroom was disgusting...it smelt like raw sewerage, needs a bottle of draino poured down the vanity basin to clean it...my daughter didnt even want to use the bathroom. our air con did not work properly at all and we suffered during the night. also our bath was cleaned the 2nd day with some industrial cleaner and we didnt realise that it hadnt been rinsed off . after my daughter had a bath she developed a rash and slight burn all over her body, thankfully by the next day she came good again.Another issue was the underground parking, altho free, you had to be lucky to get a park at all. This week we stayed at Novotel Woollongong and Novotel Sydney Darling Habour...both fantastic hotels, cant really complain about one thing ...the staff at Oasis need to visit their sister hotels and find out what service and quality is really about.....we will never stay at the Oasis again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelCairns, Front Office Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I have advised our Engineering, Housekeeping and Food & Beverage departments of your feedback, I can understand your disappointment with the hotel when the service was not to the standard that you come to expect from Novotel hotels throughout Australia and apologise that we fell short on this occasion and especially over your Easter break. I can assure you that this occasion is not a reflection on the standards we strive to achieve and maintain at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up bar.All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include a free web corner with the latest IMAC technology, free wi fi (lobby area only), 24 hour in balance gym, onsite hairdresser and Massage & Beauty. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception.Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and of an evening boasts modern À la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu.The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy’s', Cairns modern, fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.