We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel with the best hotel bar in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Plaza Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Plaza Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great central hotel with the best hotel bar in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Rydges Plaza Cairns would have to be the most conveniently located hotel in Cairns. It is right in the centre of all the action, from shopping to nightlife to dining - it is all literally steps away from the front door. The rooms are of a good standard with very comfortable beds but if you can afford to splurge on the Suite rooms they are worth every cent of the extra money for the additional space, full sized fridge, kitchenette and balcony with table and chairs. The other rooms are more of a standard hotel room and only have step out balcony so no room for a table and chairs. The hotel has recently refurbished its bar and restaurant and the result is just excellent. Meals ordered at the bar are great value and are really tasty. There is an adjoining outdoor area and the hotel has been really successful in creating a trendy and relaxing 'salsa' bar with real atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and willing to engage with guests on a real level rather than a superficial business level. If you have a car - be warned, there is a parking fee to use the hotel facility. This is my favourite hotel in Cairns and after staying in just about all the four and five star establishments there, I just keep coming back to Rydges Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to rovide us with your feedback following your stay with us.

It is great to get positive feedback from our guests and i will be sure to pass this on the team at the hotel.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    77
    69
    51
    23
See reviews for
45
62
26
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed here last in 2008, the b'fast buffet has not improved, nor the insufficient level of staffing in any sectors of the hotel's operation. However, the rooms are good and the bed's are comfortable. It's a cut-price operation but it's sufficient for most and the pool area is quite good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback following your stay with us.

You will be pleased to hear that we are currently going through a review of all our food and beverage offerings including the presentation with the new launch happening very soon.

Thank you once again for your comments they really are appreciated

KInd Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Travelled with teenager - room with 2 double beds. Ok if you just need somewhere to sleep - don't expect too much. Clean and central to the city and markets.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns, Is this the worst service a tourist will get in Australia?
My wife and I are convinced it is!
a) We asked for early check and ended up being kept waiting passed the standard check-in time.
The excuse - the rooms were not ready after a big new years night!
Big deal we say - we paid up front for the room - it should be ready - there are no excuses
After a red eye flight from Melbourne we needed to freshen up and offload our bags and in Cairns
on New Years day its dead - so nothing to do.
b) We were by no means the only ones waiting - queues of Japanese tourist also waiting in the lobby
c) Staff attitude - complete indifference - hick town approach - not my responsibility - couldnt care less
d) Finally got to our room - its dirty! - the bathroom is run down and obviously in need of a make over
and not just with a bottle of bleach
My wife adjusted a cushion on the bed - fluffed it up and the odour of dust filled the air - disgusting!
Room facilities - absolutely basic at best - and definitely struggling to make 3 stars!!!
e) Food service - avoid it - fast food takeaways would have been better - ordered room service burger - it
arrived cold - greasy and not even good fast food standard - over-priced and overrated!!!
Avoid the belly ache and buy out.
f) Breakfast - serviced in a room with no atmosphere, scant food (greasy again) and coffee straight from a
billy tin - taste of tar and not much else - forget the breakfast - the refugees eat better food
g) Contacted Rydges - all the Hotel manager could offer was to give a night free to redeem themselves!
Therefore he expected we would fly all the way back to Cairns to experience the same thing!
Now that is arrogance if ever there was
I emailed suggesting we could be tempted to a night at Rydges in our own home town.
No reply

In other words dont bother complaining they dont care less
And we strongly recommend saving your hard earned holiday funds for something else, you deserve better

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Hotel.

Firstly my sincere apologies for a less than great stay with us. It is certainly our intention to deliver a great experience and on this occcasion we have failed and for that i am sincerely sorry.

Your feedback has really been beneficial and for that i thank you. We have a new GM on board and customer service and the upgrading of our all our menus is currently underway, so that we can deliver a memorable stay in our hotel.

Our aim is to try and deliver a true hospitable time to everyone and your comments will help towards this.

My sincere apologies once again

Kind Regards
Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Pros - bed was comfy.
Room was clean. Air-con didn't make noises. Had some basic Austar.
Central to town.

Cons - could hear other guests above (walking around/showering/tv)
Bathrooms not refurbished & 1 star in appearance (patchy colour paint, ugly style, various marks & dints everywhere including "rusty" marks on mirror).
TV reception for standard local channels was not good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us in Cairns.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the rooms and facilities available. You will be pleased to know that we have already started upgrading the bathrooms on some floors with this looking to continue this year.

Thanks you once again

KInd Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I have just returned from 7 nights at the Rydges Plaza with a friend and we were very disappointed with our stay.

On arrival check in was very bad. To start with, the employee said nothing to us, just looked at us and mumbled a few words through the whole procedure. He did not make us feel welcome, explain the facilities of the hotel or the area. The worst part was he broke the handle off my friend’s suitcase! And he didn’t even apologize! Just looked at us and walked away. The next morning we mentioned this incident to the reception staff on duty and she just ignored the comment, did not acknowledge our frustration, apologize for the accident or direct us how we could we could follow this up.

The Rydges Plaza has appalling Customer Service. We found the staff to be very rude and unhelpful and it defiantly affected our stay. We did make a few normal requests e.g. extra towels, glasses etc and we considerer ourselves to be polite and our requests to be reasonable however every time we called reception it was such a hassle and we were made to feel like an inconvenience . One staff member even questioned my need for extra towels before hanging up on me and then practically throwing the towels at me when she arrived (much later) at the room. To be fair there were two employees who demonstrated good customer service. They were friendly, accommodating and when there was a problem with the TV the staff member on duty at that time did go to great lengths to try to resolve the problem.

The pool was closed during our stay. This itself wouldn’t have been an issue if we were made aware of the situation but we weren’t. It was not displayed on their website, made known to us at the time of booking, when I rang the week prior to confirm the booking or on check in. I have booked accommodation before that was under refurbishment and it has always been transparent if there is (a discount rate due to) refurbishments. A few days into our holiday when we asked if they had an arrangement with another hotel to use their pool they said (quite rudely) they did and there should have been a notice of this on our room – there wasn't and if we had not actively questioned this we would not have known.

The room itself was fine and we were happy with it. It has a (purely cosmetic) modern feel but the bathroom looked a little older but was perfectly fine. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage. The balcony is very small and I would class it more as a ‘balcony window’ as it is just wide enough to stand on.

The hotel has a great location and is very central, it suited our needs perfectly. It’s not on the beach but it is a 2 minute walk away and 2 minutes in the other direction is the mall. The hotel is a street away from the supermarket and bus stop. The noise from the backpackers across the road did not bother us, but then we were out most nights too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience whilst staying at the hotel.

Firstly my sincere apologies for a less than great stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are currently going through a training programme focussing on customer service and i am please to say this is having great results.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback it is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Took 3 rooms to get 1 that was liveable. The 1st had a jackhammer going over top (The restaurant and pool area are being renovated), in the second the sliding glass door wouldn't lock. The back packers hostel across the street means you hear shouting and noise all night long. We parked our car in the street and had someone smash the door (no parking bays left in hotel), we're guessing one of the partying backpackers. All in all, not a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsmith10, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

You will be pleased to know that all of the refurbishment has now been completed and the Pool and Bar area look fantastic, i do hope that you are able to return one day and enjoy the facilities completed.

You will also be pleased to know that we have increased the number of car parks available to guests to avoid any such reoccurances.

Thanks you once again

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Plaza Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.