We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Plaza Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Plaza Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we arrived in Cairns we struggled to find anywhere in which we could sleep, however this hotel only had one room available. Although the prices were steep, we were unable to decline as most other places were also fully booked. This Hotel room did not include breakfast, however there were places round the corner that served lovely food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Charlie,
Thanks you for your review. It looks like you chose a busy time to visit Cairns. Our location is perfect for an early morning walk around. Next time in Cairns you should get along and try our Rise breakfast we think it is one of the best in town.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    78
    73
    52
    26
See reviews for
45
62
26
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

2 nights for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids with a great view of the pool and over the city. Rooms are a great size. The staff were very friendly and actually read the notes you add on when you book. Breakfast was included in the package we selected and it was unbelievable value for money! Could use an fresh coat of paint and upgrade some stuff but we were still very happy with the place. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your great review. Our staff are a huge asset to us here at Rydges Plaza and your comments have been well received. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are up here in the Far North Queensland.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The price was fairly steep and for this we were still asked to pay $10 for parking we night.

The bathroom looked older than me, definitely needs an upgrade if they think they can get away with charging that much.

The beds were comfy though and a great view and location.

The check in staff was very very very courteous (a Japanese lady).

I give it a meh score...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Luke,
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. Appreciate your comments regarding Yuki one of our great Front Office team members, and we agree our location is perfect and you cannot beat the Rydges Dream bed for a great night’s sleep.
Hopefully we get another chance to see you in the near future.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed 5 nights and the rooms are ok and the bed fine. I didn't eat in but the restaurant seemed fine with a good selection of dishes. Overall the place is looking a little tired, rusty shower fittings etc. The staff were great though and it is in a very central location close to the casino and esplanade. I'd probably stay somewhere else if I was visiting cairns for pleasure and not business.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at Rydges Plaza Cairns, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are right in saying that our location is perfect to see the best of what Cairns has to offer.
Again thank you and we do hope to get another chance to see you here at Rydges Plaza.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent location, rooms were decent, beds comfy and friendly service. Great price on the room. Have stayed in others that were not as central or as nice for more money. Easy walking distance for entertainment, dining or shopping. Thanks Rydges :)

Room Tip: easy walking distance for eating, entertainment and shopping. Highly recommended and a good price t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi TriciaRenee,
Thank you for your great review. You are right in saying that Rydges Plaza is central perfect access to everything Cairns has to offer. And yes the Rydges Dream beds always allow for a great night's sleep.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Cairns
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and 4 other colleagues spent 5 nights at the Rydges back in May for business.

Impressions were quite negative:

* Showers disgustingly rusty
* Dust and mould everywhere
* Dead cockroaches and hair found within bed linens
* I personally had a piece of chocolate sitting on the floor under the minibar the whole time (which means there has been no vacuuming)
* Bed bugs in one of the rooms
* Minibar items expired 4 months ago

Very happy to finally check out, some of our credit cards got charged (with no authorisation from our end) even though there was a company card on file. On top of the room charge, some of us got charged some random $50 fees which took almost a week to clear in our bank accounts.

Spoke to the hotel and barely got a reply let alone an apology.
Would definitely explore other options if I had to go back to Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Lauri,
I was extremely disappointed to read your review regarding your experience at Rydges Plaza Cairns. I have alerted the Executive Housekeeper about your cleanliness comments, and these areas will be of a central focus of the team to improve. Your bed bug comment is a little off the mark as we had the room professionally checked and no traces were found, though these are known to travel within guests own luggage. I have also spoken with our reception team about the comments made and though apologised at the time and via email – please accept my further apologies for the inconvenience. Being from within the hotel industry yourselves I am sure you realise mistakes can happen from time to time.


Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here for a night last week. Not a high standard of cleanliness - hairs in the bath and sink. I called someone up to have a look and they were very apologetic and offered me a room change but I didn't bother. I wasn't asked at checkout how my stay was and I thought well if they don't care enough to ask, or mention the fact that I complained, well I don't care either. I'm going up to Cairns for a week tomorrow and I will be staying elsewhere!

Room was cold at night. No heating. It's pretty cold in QLD at the moment so heating would be a plus.

Great bed, and the USB charging point and free WiFi are a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Plaza Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.