We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, and convenient spot!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Plaza Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Plaza Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast, and convenient spot!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my family had a mini holiday in Cairns and we stayed at the "Rydges plaza".. great spot ! Right in the heart of the city.. amazing roof top bar and pool, a great way to unwind and enjoy a drink overlooking the views. Love the breakfast buffet, so much to choose from, great food ! Friendly staff.the cheif went out of his way to make my daughter her special egg omlet every morning for 5 days !
The rooms are bit boring but nice and clean ! Overal a great place to stay in cairns !
Rebecca & Julian

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Rebecca,
Thanks for your great review; we agree that our breakfast is one of the best in Cairns and our omelette station is definitely popular. Appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their service, and I am sure they will all take delight in reading them.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    62
    47
    22
See reviews for
40
55
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good value and excellent location. Our time was limited to an 8 pm check in and 6:30 am check out so we were unable to report on much the hotel had to offer. Large room with two queen size beds. Very clean. Only one chair and no table would have made in room dining difficult for two. Would stay again though

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at Rydges Plaza Cairns, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are right in saying that our location is perfect to see the best of what Cairns has to offer. And we have also noted your comments regarding the lack of a table in the room and I am reviewing options for this currently.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

There was a mix up between the booking company and the hotel and the latter did everything they could to find us a room for a revisit a few days after our first stay. They succeeded and we were very impressed with their dedication to sorting out the problem. The bathrooms are now a little tired and need a refit. We were stating on the 8th and 9th floor

Room Tip: Definitely go for upper floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Neil,
Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Plaza, I appreciate your comments regarding our Front of house team sorting out the confusion over your initial reservation – we are lucky to have a very dedicated customer focused team on the Front desk.
Once again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, great downtown Cairns location, but hotel rooms desperately need a refresh. Rooms on 4th floor are very tired and noisy on weekends due to nearby nightclub. Upper level floors that have been refurbished are much nicer.

Room Tip: Level 10 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay. As you point out our location is great for a spot of shopping or for a trip out to the reef. We are working on our refurb for the remaining floors so please watch this space.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was looking forward to staying in the city in Cairns but Rydges Plaza really let me down. On check-in, the staff were unfriendly. My room was dark and absolutely filthy - there was dirt caked on the floor and in the bathroom! Everything was aged and due for replacement, and the 'balcony' was about half a metre wide.
I ordered room service on my second night and it was cold when it arrived.
The 'secure car park' which cost me $10 per day (they didn't even tell me this when I checked in) had a broken roller door which was always open...
The only redeeming features were the comfortable bed and the beautiful pool and outdoor dining areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxley, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just love the Staff so friendly,the restaurant and breakfast excellent,Very impressed with Evan always knows my name when checking in,He goes out off his way to please the customer.I have used the pool and I find it clean and a great place to unwind.The house keeping ladies do an amazing job and I find my room spotless and I love the brand of soap and products that the Rydges supply.I use to book other accommadtion in Cairns but have now been staying with the Rydges every 6 to 8 weeks and loving it .Thanks to all Staff .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi Stephen
Thank you for your great review and our team has taken great delight in reading it. Evan and the Housekeeping job do a great job without question.
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have not stayed in a dirtier '4 star' hotel room. The light fixture jumped in it's place every time someone in our apartment or someone across the hallway breathed. The toilet refused to flush and the bed sheets were dirty and the balcony was definitely underwhelming. The bed was sagged to the point that I had to convince myself I was sleeping in a hammock to even fall asleep. As for the location, it was obvious that the hotel was used by no one more than stop-over tourists and young adults who drank themselves silly at Gilligans and trashed every single room. Yuck. The other Rydges are nicer.

Room Tip: Just don't even stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Plaza Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.