We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but starting to show its age.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Plaza Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Plaza Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great spot but starting to show its age.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The attitude and manner of the managment and staff more than compensate for the few short comings of this hotel. The breakfast buffet is still the best being served by any of the Rydges hotels, they just need to add tomato juice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi David,
Thank you for your review of Rydges Plaza, Our Rise breakfast is great – one of the best in town we believe and I will pass on your comments to the team up in Lilo, and we always have tomato juice on hand so please let us know and we can accommodate.
Once again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    62
    47
    22
See reviews for
40
55
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I went to cairns at the beginning of November and stayed for 2 nights. First there was no parking available so you have to park on the streets and the receptionist wasn't welcoming . She had a blank look on her face and didn't bother much.

Room was ok for the price i paid. Location of the hotel is good , its near the main esplanade area ( Though there are better hotel even closer to the city .

There are two Rydges hotels in cairns, so better to find out which one you are booking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi there,
Thanks for your review; we can’t agree with you more about our location it is so close to everything Cairns has to offer and all within easy walking distance. My apologies regarding your check in and we have spoken to the team as we pride ourselves on our service.
Once again thank you and hope we get another chance to show you what we can do.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is old and the amenities are way past their 'use by' date. Every time the toilet was flushed in the room beside ours, the pipes screamed. There is mould on the walls, which is a safety issue. The room wasn't cleaned properly, and the sheets smelt like someone else had slept in them before us - very disconcerting. WIFI cost was separate from the room & overpriced. There is no gym. Taps in the shower left water dripping for some time after use. Our room service tray from dinner wasn't collected until after 1pm the following day. The room has a permanent 'damp' smell. Every time we used the lift from the carpark, there were large crates of dirty towels & linen at the lifts as well. We will not be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The position is good. Staff were friendly and helpful, reception area and restaurant are nice. Bathrooms do need upgrading. Room was like ice on arrival, so turned off air con and opened door. Can accept this is the tropics, and maybe we were in an unrefurbished room as there was considerable mould on the ceiling, the light above the mirror was mouldy and rusted and several other areas were not maintained the best. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly. Had a meal in the restaurant, was thoroughly dissappointed, but when we mentioned this, they at least gave a good discount.

Room Tip: We were on floor 7 mountain view so maybe not as yet refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Maria
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback and since your stay in November the housekeeping team has been working tirelessly to ensure our standards are met and exceeded. I also appreciate the comments regarding our customer service and will pass on to our team. We do hope that we get another opportunity in the near future to show you what we can and do do regularly here at Rydges Plaza.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Close to esplanade, 5 minutes stroll but far away from any noise and bustle. Nice welcome from staff and plush foyer entrance. I stayed on 4 th floor, lifts a bit slow but not too bad. The room smelt a bit musty when I first opened the door but hey this is the tropics and I've also experienced this in pricier hotels. 10 minutes with the window open and all good. Room was very large with all amenties, bathroom needs updating i was very 1990's cracked tiles, hot water tap on bath didnt work, marked floor tiles. I stayed here through work for a couple nights and would stay again. The brand name of Rydges is good but they need to invest a bit of money in upgrading bthrooms please.

Room Tip: Join up to the rydges reward program it's free and the next time you visit any rydges you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Mark,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to ever improve our services and facilities. I am disappointed to read that you experienced a few issues during your stay with us and these have been addressed with the relevant department heads.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards,
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked this establishment because it was handy to shops and not far from the railway station and the cost was good as breakfast was included. Reception staff very helpful. Good size room, good size bed, good shower, clean and tidy thou a little dated, but that was not a problem.
Just two little things for us, one the room was like an ice box when we arrived, the air conditioning was way to cold, that was fixed when I turned it off. Then as the previous reviewer mentioned, the internet is far to dear. Otherwise I would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for your constructive feedback in regards to your recent stay. Being in the tropics the air-conditioning being left on is a must and I do hope that during your stay, you were informed of the opportunity to sign up to our Priority Guest Rewards program (free of charge) and have all your internet charges halved. And you are correct in saying that we are in a perfect spot for some shopping.
Hopefully we get another chance to impress in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time in October and came back for a second stay shortly after.
This is an older style motel - has a bit of an 80s feel to it however the rooms have been refurbished and are clean, modern and well appointed. Check in is quick and painless and the staff efficient, pleasant and friendly in a far North Queensland sort of way.
I ate in the restaurant and also got room service. The restaurant is ok ( breakfast) - typical hotel breakfast not great but not bad either. Room service was quick, with cheery and pleasant staff - large serves and pretty good food. Internet is not cheap at around $18 for 24 hours - fairly typical of Australian hotels - I wish they would adopt the overseas model of free Internet for guests!
On my second visit I needed a very early start - staff were great - wake up call, taxi on time and really quick checkout.
The hotel is fairly centrally located and around a 15 minute drive from the airport.
It's not a 5 star hotel but its clean, comfortable and well priced. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is basic but pretty good. I'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Mark,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here and that it was good value. The hotel is well located in Cairns and there sure is plenty to see and do close by!
Thank you again for you time.
Regards,
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Plaza Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.