We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding aniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Plaza Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Plaza Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding aniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The deal that we took suited us for the night out. We had a room, movies and buffet breakfast. The room was fine and the hotel was close to all the services that we required. Thought the bed was quite comfy and had views looking back over the city to the south.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear GregRhonda-Thank you for your lovely review, and I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay with us for your anniversary. I’m delighted you found the location perfect for your needs. The Rydges Dream Beds are quite a feature, and the views of Cairns are truly spectacular. We hope to welcome you back to the Rydges Plaza Cairns next time you are in town. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    62
    48
    22
See reviews for
40
55
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was close to shopping, restaurants, grocery stores and the water front. The pool area is very nice and the children really enjoyed themselves in the pool. Front desk staff were very helpful and always willing to suggest places or give advice about local attractions. I would be nice to have internet connection that was complimentary if booking for three or more nights. It was nice to have the wall outlet for recharging as there weren't many power points. We were there from 7th to the 12th and found the hotel to be rather quite and found no noise from local pubs or clubs. The rooms could use an update and our tv played up on us a bit and the aircon didn't help at all with the dampness/ humidity, but the room was really just a base for us to explore the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jodi J-Thank you for your kind review. Our location is truly in the heart of Cairns, and I’m glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the spots around the hotel as well as our pool. I am happy to read that the front desk team was able to assist with local attractions, and I will pass on your compliment to the manager. In respect to internet connection, half price rates are available-regardless of length of stay--when you join our complimentary Priority Guest Rewards program. We hope to see you the next time you are in Cairns. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I agree with 'stulec7's review below. I stayed here with friends from 2nd-8th January as part of a trip to TNQ and was surprised at how different the experience of staying here was from what the website promised. The first issue is that the whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment. The rooms are spacious but the carpets are worn and stained, the hotel furniture is worn and knocked about and looks to have been there for at least 10-15 years without replacement. The bathrooms are similarly worn out with chips on the bath, stained shower curtains and rusting metal braces in the ceiling. The air conditioning has two settings - 'Arctic' or 'Off'. There was also a disturbing film of black mould on the ceiling around the air conditioning vent. The one redeeming feature is that the beds were very comfortable. The second issue was customer service. 'stulec7' describes 'the receptionist lady' as 'quite rude and somewhat unhelpful' and I would agree with this too. Although some of the staff were helpful there was one lady in particular who was extraordinarily rude and unhelpful. One evening we returned to our room to find that only one of two beds had been made up and that the floor was unvacuumed, only the bathmat had been replaced and both towels had been left. Furthermore it was clear that the bathroom had not been cleaned. When I called to complain I was told that there was nothing that could be done as the housekeeping staff had left for the day. I was not offered an alternative room and no offer of a discount for poor housekeeping service was offered. Overall, it was a pretty poor experience, though the upside is its location right in the heart of downtown Cairns. My suggestion to others is to find another downtown hotel and to Rydges to close the hotel for 6 months and do a thorough refurb!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Michael B- I was disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. In respect to housekeeping matters, I have relayed your comments to the Housekeeping Manager as the overall attention and cleanliness of your room was not up to standard. In addition, I would like to assure you that overall hotel aesthetics are of top priority to us, and we are continuously upgrading. I have communicated your remarks- to the Front Desk Manager to review with the team. I am glad that you found the location ideal. Thanks, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed for one night over newyears eve, close to gillgans nightclub so noise can be a issue but it did not bother me the slightest. Found the receptionist lady to be quiet rude and somewhat unhelpful, lilo bar and pool area is great and very relaxing but lacks atmosphere..the hotel itself the rooms are in desperate need of a makeover especially the bathrooms..yuck, 1st room we checked into the toilet was leaking and making noise like a boeing 747 and we deffinatley could not stay in that room, request was easy done however no upgrade offered- dissapointing been a PRIORITYGUEST n all. The only saving grace are the rydges dream beds..their perfect, their seriously bouncy and good for jumping on according to the mrs! The location is very central to cairns and overall i spose it was a plesent experience. Cheers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Stuiec7-
I appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback. Regarding the front desk comment, I have notified the department manager, who will ensure to reemphasise the correct level of service we, as a brand, aim to provide. I do apologise for the plumbing issues in the bathroom. I’m glad that your request was promptly put through, and that you were able to switch rooms. I’m pleased you enjoyed the Rydges Dream Beds as well as the hotel’s location. We hope to have you stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect choice to be on Cairn if you think only on location wise.
It is walking distance to the docks (3 blocks - where you will get the rides to snorkeling or diving), near the best restaurants (2 blocks away) and areas to shop (1 block away)
Now regarding the hotel facilities the rooms are very simple and quite old. The beds are quite old themselves and the bathroom very simple, but the price is not so expensive if you think how much you are going to save on transportation around the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Corbellini,
Thank for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay. I’m pleased you found the hotel conveniently situated in the centre of Cairns, and that you felt you saved costs on transportation because of our location. Some floors have gone through bathroom refurbishments. If you choose to stay with us again, please feel free to request one of these rooms upon booking. Kind Regards, Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The rooms themselves are basic and clean, would not pay anymore than $99p/n. Very comfortable beds. Serviced daily which was convenient. Staff very friendly.

Balconies are tiny - about 40cm in width. Fridge is tiny and mine was about to stop. Drain in basin needed a good dose of draino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Nomad - Thanks for taking the time to review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed a good night’s sleep on our ‘Dream Bed’ and thank you for the kind comments about the team. I have passed your feedback on about the minibar and basin the maintenance team here are looking into it. – Thanks Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Locations was perfect. It is close to everything. I had read noise was an issue. That is not the case on the tenth floor. It was very quiet. The view was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. If I go to Carins again I will stay there. I recommend it. Older hotel with renovated rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi 4375sean - Thanks for the pleasant review. Your comments have been passed on to the team here that I can assure are very appreciative. We hope to see you the next time you’re in the TNQ - Thanks Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Plaza Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.