We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 502 - Overvalued and advertised. 3 star feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Room 502 - Overvalued and advertised. 3 star feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I dislike overdone reviews so simply

Facts

- 250 dollars could get you a room in the Pullman or Hilton which is just a bed and a shower.
- This promised to have a paytv, foxtel,wifi, sea views for the same price.

Negatives
- The spa was in a glass tube in the middle of the room - not romantic, not clean, not inviting.
- The foxtel had 4 channels working - 3 of them were sport and 1 was a movie.
- The seaview from 502 ( might not be the same in other apartments) was a small fraction of the ocean as the room is on the corner - the majority is of dilapidated rooftops
- The appliances were rusting
- The cutlery wasnt clean.
- The wifi , whilst being paid , didnt even work once it was connected. Signal was too weak.
- The smoke detector apparently is set off by steam in a room with a jacuzzi.
- The included air conditioner sounds a bit like a jet engine.

Positives

- Car parking
- The staff were very friendly and helpful.
- Very central

Conclusion

For 50 - 60 dollars less this apartment would be great value for money even with its faults. The location alone is a good stop for families looking to save coin and be close. It isn't an apartment to rival other rooms at this price though and I would rather have been in a nice space with less for the same price sadly. My advice is if you are spending over 200 dollars to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear BenjaminJohnston

You are correct that our one-bedroom apartments compare in price with other hotel's "hotel" rooms which are very small with not much to them. I wonder though if you have considered the seasonal changes in price in Cairns - you were here in peak season when room rates are also at their peak.

Your negatives are a bit cruel considering you only stayed for one night. Some of the things that did not impress you could have been fixed to your liking if you had had more time with us. Things like the TV channels (we have 3 movie, 3 sport, Fox 8 and Sky News on our Foxtel system, so I'm thinking your TV needed re-tuning), and some other negatives are purely subjective - room 502 is not on a corner, it is one balcony back from the very front and other recent reviews from an 02 room rave about the view.

For my conclusion, we are independently rated as a four-star hotel/resort, we offer excellent value for money all year round, but you shouldn't blame us for our peak season rates, it's the time we need to make the most of the high demand.

Thank you,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
134
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent 5 nights at Breakfree Royal Harbour in a 1 bedroom apartment with balcony over looking the esplanade great location opposite the Cairns beach swimming pool. And 2 doors away from the night markets ( food & goods). Management very efficient we arrived at 9.30 am. Bags were stored & we went down stairs for breakfast (none available at Breakfree) we received a phone call 1 hour later to say our room was ready. Get used to slamming doors waking you up during the day of night hopefully this problem has been fixed ! We didn't require cooking facilities (basic) shower over bath not great compact unit but location counted this time. A very friendly tourism agency down on ground level for all the tourist bookings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi louVictoria,
Thank you for your mostly positive review - much appreciated. Those slamming doors were being fixed during your time with us - we replaced all the door closers which could no longer be adjusted to close completely yet quietly.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

So Breakfree is right in the centre of town on the Esplanade. You can't get a better spot. Downstairs is the night markets, a great place for a quick takeaway or if you've had a hard day, go to the $15 massage. It's fantastic and you'll feel a million dollars. The staff in the motel are friendly, helpful and can't do enough to help you have an enjoyable stay. Being self contained it's easy if you want to cook a meal but with so many great restaurants just downstairs why worry about cooking. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and the view across the water is magnificent. Great pool with modern furniture and 2 BBQ areas with tables. Walking distance to everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front (although all rooms have a good view except lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Springo67,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your efforts to spread the good word.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed in July 2014 for 5 nights.
Location was the one outstanding plus.
Staff were friendly.
No Wifi provided which is unusual in this day and age.
The hotel room needs an update was very tired but clean, was infested with small ants in the kitchen, obviously an ongoing issue as there was an inspect spray provided under the sink.
Only 1 dinner plate, 3 cups, 3 side plates were provided and a blunt kitchen knife for cutting fruit and vegetables.
Aircon in bedroom was not working when we arrived and could not be fixed until the next day as the man to fix it was not available until then. Glad it was not the summer months!
Stayed 5 nights, no replenishment of any items.
Strange no window in bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear pjc195410

Thank you for your contribution. I will answer each point in turn:

Wifi is available - we have a service provided by Azure which guests pay for - approx $10 for a day, and there is a free service (which most guests report is available from their balconies) provided by Cairns Community Wifi.

We do not have hotel rooms, all our rooms are 1 bedroom apartments. Hotel rooms is a name given to a room with a bed and an ensuite bathroom and nothing else, perhaps a kettle and a cup and saucer or two. Our apartments are being updated each year; we strive to present a better package each year because to do nothing is going backwards. Our last AAA Ratings inspection was in April 2014 and we maintained our 4 star rating.

Those little sugar ants are prevalent in most of Queensland and nothing seems to eradicate them. If guests seal all food products and store them in the fridge or microwave, they will not be bothered much by the ants.

Having such a shortage of crockery and cuttlery in your unit is something for which I apologise. Replacement items are available simply by informing reception.

Regarding the air conditioner, our maintenance staff are not on duty after 5pm as was the case when you reported the problem. We are not a hotel which operates 24/7 and as such, we can offer an apartment for about the same price as a hotel room in other similarly located establishments.

When guests book for a stay of less than eight days, their apartment is not serviced. However, replenishments are available from reception.

Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

All rooms have a large balcony. The building is on top of the night markets on the Esplanade in Cairns. Pool, port, airport and ocean views. No need for a car everything close. Big spa! Good TV , comfy bed - basic cooking BUT in the middle of everything and BBQ's on site.

Room Tip: Room 708 is high, front and on airport side - it is our preferred room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear opos

Your review is short and to the point. Thank you for taking the time to post it. We appreciate your positive appraisal.

For the benefit of others, guests may request a certain room number, or level. These requests are recorded and we try to satisfy as many as we can. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee requests.

Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Meagan the receptionist was very helpful even stayed back to help us. Close to eating area even has opening into food court. On top of Night Markets. Security very good Key access only!!! Rooms quite spacious & well equipped. Pay the little extra & stay in Ocean View room as back rooms are a little noisy from all the air conditioners on roofs. Taxi service excellent. Can walk from Station. RSL nearby Only down side the Spa Bath/Shower has glass walls into kitchen area. OK if you have a good body but NOT for us Oldies!!!!! Can use shower curtain to screen off (don't like seeing someone on the loo!!!!! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for room facing Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear hanna001_11,

Yes, Meegan is extreemely helpful and friendly. Thank you for your positive review, it is most appreciated.

I'd just like to say that all rooms from level 4 to level 7 inclusive are Ocean View Rooms - irrespective of whether they are at the front of the building or the back. And all rooms face the same direction which is North-East.

Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed for three nights mid June at this apartment in the middle of Cairns. The property is located within walking distance of the esplanade, the casino, restaurants and pubs. The apartment itself was reasonably clean. It was classed as a one bedroom but the front door opened directly into the bedroom and if the timber divider had been drawn across it would have felt very claustrophobic. The living/dining area was a better size. The kitchen is small and only has basic cooking facilities. If you are staying for more than a couple of nights you will need to provide extra amenities such as toiletries and toilet paper. We found the staff welcoming and helpful, they went out of their way to stress the sensitivity of the fire alarms. There is also a helpful information desk on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear AmandaAustralia13

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you liked the great location, the quality of our cleaning and our helpful staff - all very important factors.

For the benefit of people considering us for their next stay in Cairns, I would like to add that we only class and advertise our "kitchens" as "kitchenettes" - but the only thing they are missing is an oven and a dishwasher (except for 2 rooms). They have cook tops, microwave ovens, a kettle, toaster, crockery and cuttlery. We also include a "starter pack" of tea, coffee. milk. sugar, salt, pepper, toilet tissues, facial tissues, hair shampoo, bath gel, soap, washing up liquid and clothes washing powder for the washing machine. And if you need more of these, they are available at reception at reasonable prices.

Best wishes
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.