We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartment, very central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good apartment, very central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroomed garden view apartment which was actually quite large. The apartment was well equipped with everything needed to self cater. The resort is very centrally located with access from both the Esplanade and Abbott Street, with the main entrance located in level 1 and accessed from Abbott Street. The resort is an easy walk from the train station (about 800 metres) and a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the airport (approx $20). The resort has a very nice barbecue area and a good pool. There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs along the Esplanade, all within very easy walking distance of the resort. The night markets are located virtually below the resort and run every night from 4.30 until about 10.30pm. Perhaps the only downside to being so close to the markets is the smell of cooking from the many food outlets, but it didn't really bother us. Megan on reception was very friendly and extremely helpful; nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I would certainly recommend the resort and stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sue M
You covered a few things which many first-timers here would be glad to know about: central location, distance to station, taxi details to airport etc. Thank you for your very well written review. Yes, Meegan is a wonderful receptionist, our small team appreciate her passionate and friendly attitude, as do many of our guests.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    73
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
121
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed with two friends in a twin bed apartment (number 407) with the sofa bed folded out for the Cairns Half Ironman in June. We were most impressed with the location - two street entrances, right beside the night markets and opening out onto the restaurant strip in the middle of the esplanade. There is even a tour desk in the complex.

We chose an ocean view room to watch the last ironmen and women come in, and despite the extra noise (which we expected) we enjoyed a lovely panorama and proximity to the atmosphere of the esplanade. The price was reasonable for a busy weekend which books up months in advance, keeping in mind that one must pay extra for daily servicing.

Service was impeccable, with special thanks to Meegan (for whom nothing was too hard) and Brian (who came down and let us into the luggage room promptly after checkout even though we had failed to read the sign informing us of their early 2pm public holiday front desk closure.)

My favourite feature of the room was the spa, which had a view of its own (clear screen out into the living area with covering shower curtain if needed.) It was well utilised! The hotel and decor are a little older and would benefit from a facelift, but this did not detract from our comfort. The apartment was comfortably big enough for three people, a bike and various triathlon paraphernalia. Room 407 could have done with a larger TV (not that we used it) and new rubbish bins/crockery.

I award this hotel five stars not because of its luxury (that wasn't what I was going for) but because I felt that the location, staff and facilities made a perfect base for a getaway in Cairns, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for an ocean view room - great part of the whole experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear regmarks,
Your excellent review is well received - I can assure you. The whole team here was most appreciative of your kind words. You covered all the issues that can make or break a happy stay and I am glad to have passed your critical and experienced examination. We hope to see you back next year.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed 3 Nights at The Breakfree Royal. Our room on the 5th floor had a front facing view on the Esplanade and the Marina which was fantastic. The girl on check in when we arrived was very pleasant and happy to answer any questions I had. The unit was well appointed, clean, and spacious. I have to disagree with the previous poster who commented the resort was "very run down" and dirty. I did not see any evidence of this during our stay.? The location is fantastic with the resort directly above the Night Markets and the endless eateries/restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Have previously stayed twice at the Rydges Tradewinds further down the esplanade which was pleasant but we enjoyed Breakfree more for its facilities, service and location. Will be a definite choice of ours on our next visit to beautiful Cairns.

Room Tip: Front Facing Rooms On Higher Offer Great Views of the Esplanade and Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear jsj67,

Thank you for your wonderful review, you have restored my faith in human nature following the previous review! I hope we will see you back here, it will be a pleasure to shake your hand.

Thanks again,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Apart from the excellent customer service and convenient location this place is dirty worn and old - rooms smell like stale alcohol and ciggerette smoke and lift and hall way like spew very disappointed. Very run down

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Rachaeltra,
I wonder if you realise how shattered we are to read your review! We appreciate your "excellent customer service" and "convenient location" comments but we just don't believe the rest of your review! Nothing was mentioned to reception about smelly rooms or smelly lifts or smelly hallways! No one complained including you. And if you care to read some of our other reviews you will find that just about everyone else comments on clean, comfortable spacious apartments. So I'm putting your review into my "impossible to please everyone" category.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights.. I am based interstate and my partner overseas Cairns is our halfway point ..could have stayed longer!

Location is perfect right on the esplanade with views, nice to be able to have a coffee in the morning on the balcony or recharge before heading out again in the early evening watching the boats heading back from the reef.

Spoilt for choice with regards to places on your doorstep either on the esplanade or the streets behind, when looking for breakfast lunch or dinner.

The unit itself is comfortable, you could easily have a self contained stay with the decently appointed kitchen.The lounge area is nicely set out. The bed is sooo comfortable. We had 708 when we return we will be asking if this unit is available.

Price is fantastic, I did a reasonable amount of comparing when looking for a place for our stay Breakfee is far better value than a hotel room.

Megan makes you feel welcome as soon as you check in and when ever you pass by the reception desk, really sets the tone of your stay when the person who is initial point of contact is professional and bubbly.

We enjoyed our stay and Cairns so much we have made the decision that Cairns is where we would like to live some time in the future, careers permitting?

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Tracy P,
Thank you so much for your most complimentary and complementary review. I was amazed to see that we were your 62nd review on TripAdvisor which means you are assessing all your accommodation venues with a keen eye for detail. I'm so glad you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope we see you here again. Meegan is a gem - thanks heaps for mentioning her so enthusiasically; I totally agree with you.
Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 4 nights - the location is right in the city and everything is within walking distance. Rooms are large, well appointed and clean. The apartment we were in would have benefitted from some small changes- new coffee mugs instead of the clunky 97c crazed and stained ones. We didn't spend much time in front of the TV and you usually expect something a bit bigger than 26" in the lounge.
Staff on the front desk were marvellous and did all the bookings which were charged back to the room - only one bill -great!!
Overall a great place to stay at a reasonable cost

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi PhilandRob,
So glad you had a great stay with us, thank you for your review. We are in the process of replacing those older coffee mugs so if you come back that shouldn't be an issue. As for the TV, well each unit is owned by different people and they chose and paid for the TV. Many of our rooms have adequate or large screen TVs.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights here in a one bedroom apartment at the start of our holiday. Friends of ours stayed in the adjoining apartment.

The apartment was very well appointed with big separate bedroom, huge bathroom that had glass wall in shower so you could see into the lounge area and kitchen with large fridge to keep all our food and drinks in. The balcony was big enough for four to sit comfortably, and the view of Cairns Inlet and the Harbour was magnificent. Situated right on the Cairns Esplanade allows access to shops, supermarket and restaurants within 2 minute walking distance. Car parking is also availableat no cost.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pick an Ocean View apartment, great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear 87Fran87,
I am so greatful to you for your highly rated review. Many thanks indeed.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, BreakFree Royal Harbour provides direct access to cafes and restaurants which offer a wide variety of cuisines. Relax poolside on a sun lounge and enjoy the sweeping views of the Cairns swimming lagoon and beautiful Trinity Bay or enjoy a dip in the swimming pool to cool down. Property facilities include: Barbeque facilities, Internet access, Pool with sun lounges, Free guest parking, Lifts to every level, TV in every lounge room with Free-to-Air and Foxtel chanels, Gymnasium. Please note: if arriving by car or taxi please come to Reception at Level 1 (up the ramp above the Night Markets) 60 Abbott Street, Cairns. Reception hours are 8am to 6pm. Guests arriving outside these hours can speak by phone (outside Reception) to our Night Operator who will help them to their rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.