We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff (Meegan)... but Dated Apartments.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff (Meegan)... but Dated Apartments.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in December on our trip from Canada. We had a late check in however the communication regarding how to access our key etc. was excellent thanks to Meegan. Meegan was amazing the entire stay. We got checked in okay (Ocean View Room 501, I recall), however our room was very dated, the bed was situated immediately when you walk in the door (poor layout) and the sofa and chair was very old and dingy. We met with Meegan the following morning and explained the situation. We actually hoped to find other accommodation, however soon discovered this hotel like many other hotels in Australia ... no cancellations without losing all your $. Regardless, Meegan was very helpful and offered for us to look at another apartment (506) on the same floor. This apartment was much better (though still dated) as it had a leather sofa that was fairly new and a different layout so we moved to this unit. It was still ocean view with a slightly smaller balcony, however much improved! My only negative after we moved was the fridge had such a sour smell. I washed the entire fridge out with bleach and water to try to clean it and it eventually dissipated through the week. Unknowingly to me, I guess I had didn't booked this apartment directly through the Break Free and ended up at a secondary website somehow. I am usually careful about booking direct and not using middle companies so beware all you travellers. I personally think it is best to book direct to avoid any unforeseen problems.

The location of this apartment is perfect. Close to all the action of the Esplanade, the night market, grocery and liquor store etc. The pool area was very clean and we did use it a couple of times. While we didn't use the BBQ we did notice it was frequently used by many guests.

Meegan was a gem. Always so friendly, informative and helpful. She is a hard dedicated worker and was the main person we saw at the front desk our entire stay. She even worked on Christmas and Boxing Day! As the main receptionist she is the face of the facility in terms of representation and she is the utmost professional and genuine.

Definitely suggest the Esplanade/Ocean view rooms! At about 7 PM every night we would enjoy watching the bats waking up and flying to the hills. Amazing sight to see.

Room Tip: Esplanade/Ocean Front a necessity! Avoid Apartment 501.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear FalconLake
You obviously have taken a lot of time and care to write your review and I thank you. I remember you both and the room move - something we are happy to do if possible. Thanks also for your kind words about Meegan, she is definately a gem.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
120
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for four nights over December 2013 and January 2014, and BreakFree Royal Harbour were very impressed with the location, and the lovely receptionist (Meegan I believe was her name) who was very helpful.

As a serviced apartment, it was perfect for us - as is standard in these types of hotels, there is not a daily cleaning/towel service, but this was all clearly stated on their website, and there were options for replacing towels for a fee - again, this is what I expected and as it is an apartment, there are washing/drying facilities in room if you really want clean towels each day.

Our room was large enough for two people, and the living area was particularly generous - although some of the decor is a little outdated everything was clean and comfortable (particularly the bed), and we had everything we needed for a self-contained stay - large, clean refridgerator, a good washer and dryer and enough kitchen equipment for cooking a good meal. The spa-bath was a touch my partner particularly enjoyed!

The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained - we saw a gardener several times during our stay, and he spent a long time cleaning the pool area. The pool area itself is not large, but was never crowded even though I assume the hotel was probably at nearly full capacity - there are also BBQ areas in the garden that were very clean and well-maintained.

Location-wise this is probably one of the best hotels for being central to the action - located about the Night Markets it's actually very quiet - even on New Year's Eve we couldn't hear any street noise from inside the hotel. There's a large Woolworth's supermarket a block away, the Cains shopping centre is an easy 5-10 minute walk away and the cruise terminal is also close by (less than 10 mins walk).

As I mentioned above, the receptionist was incredibly helpful and pleasant - she asked us about our plans when checking in, gave us all the information we needed about the hotel and the local area, arranged a taxi to take us to the airport and made us feel incredibly welcome - she is a definite asset to the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I can't think of anything that could have made it better. Highly recommended for couples and families staying in Cairns that want to be close to the action in a self-contained apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear katB82
What a great review! Many thanks. Meegan was over the moon when she read the nice things you wrote about her. I certainly agree that she is one of our greatest assets. Francesca, our other receptionist, is equally valuable to us, and Abu (the gardener - as well as cleaner for all the public areas) is most dilligent and always provides a quality finish. We only have a small team but every one is like a member of the family. We take great pride in BreakFree Royal Harbour.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were surprised that the apartment did not get a service for the whole time we were there, including clean towels! The apartments were very basic and quite dated, however, we had a balcony overlooking the ocean which was a big plus. The staff were also very helpful and polite which is also a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear AndrewWealleans
Thank you for your review of our apartments which I consider a positive one except for two issues which I would like to address. Our apartments are independently rated at 4 star and we need to be constantly upgrading to maintain that rating. Secondly, our rates are devised to include a mid-stay clean for any booking of more than seven days. Extra cleans can be arranged at a cost. This is stated in our Terms & Conditions. Thanks again for your review.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived at the BreakFree Royal Harbour mid-afternoon and was greated by a lovely receptionist who checked us in and talked us clearly through the terms of the room (security deposit etc). She then asked what we had planned to do for our 4 day stay and quickly recommended some trips relevant to our plans. I'm sure the hotel get some sort of commission for this service, but she was well informed, helpful and talked us through what she would recommend. She got us all booked into the trips that were available, which was good so that we could relax and know if was all sorted.

The room was as I had expected, nothing luxurious, but clean, with a comfortable bed, suitable kitchen facilities and plenty of space for the two of us. With a fold-out bed it could have easily accommodated three people. The room also had some 'starter' tea and coffee - very nice after a long flight! There are sufficient utensils and pots to make a meal. I read on the in room documents that the room is serviced if staying longer than 8 nights, but that you can request for frequent servicing at an additional cost. The air-conditioning work great which was a godsend in 36 degree heat.

The hotel has a small pool, but it is such a short walk to the lagoon that we didn't use it in the end.

The hotel is in an excellent location with an entrance opening straight onto the Esplanade only a minuet from the lagoon, and 5 minuets max from the harbour where you catch trips to the reef. There are a good assortment of souvenir shops, diving shops (for water proof camera hire etc) and its about a 5 minuet walk to Woolworths for groceries, 10 minuet walk to the large shopping mall. There are a large number of bars and restaurants along the esplanade (which unfortunately we had really bad experiences with so I couldn't recommend any - we only went to two and I'm sure they were off-days)

All in all, a really pleasant experience from the Royal Harbour, I would stay here again when visiting Cairns.

Room Tip: Sea view room - definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear ILikeToTravelUK
Your comprehensive review is most appreciated and I consider it to be both fair and honest. Both our receptionists, Meegan or Francesca are well versed in the various tours and we strive to make a great first impression and then improve from there.

We would be delighted to see you return - such a long way to come, I know.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed only 3 nights wish it was longer will go back.
Friendly staff, brilliant apartment, fantastic views to Esplanade and HUGE free public pool. Located over night markets but still a quiet location. Walk to terminal for all boat trips in 5 mins. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Deat Tatnger,
Loved your review, hope we will see you back here one day. Many thanks
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We always stay in this hotel when we are visiting family in Cairns.Great views over the inlet with ocean view rooms.They are good size one bedroom apartments with kitchen,lounge and balcony.The bathroom has a spa. The reception are always very helpful and friendly.The location is great,just walk out onto the esplanade with all the eating places and bars right there.It is situated directly above the night markets.Great stay and would not hesitate in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear time0ut,
Thank you for your great review, our team were delighted with your comments. We are all thankful for the time you took to do this.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This spot may not have been the most posh, amazing hotel ever... but it was such a great deal for the incredible view of the ocean and the location (directly over the night market and a short walk from the pier where all the dive/ excursion boats leave from). There was also a rooftop pool that looked really nice, though we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. The room had a washer/dryer and fridge. There were tons of pool towels available (helpful to us going on the dive boats). Make sure to check out the night market under this hotel- very cool (and decent cheap massages available!). Overall, we really enjoyed this spot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Smiltons

We greatly appreciate your review and high ratings, especially as you are such seasonned travellers. Thank you!

Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, BreakFree Royal Harbour provides direct access to cafes and restaurants which offer a wide variety of cuisines. Relax poolside on a sun lounge and enjoy the sweeping views of the Cairns swimming lagoon and beautiful Trinity Bay or enjoy a dip in the swimming pool to cool down. Property facilities include: Barbeque facilities, Internet access, Pool with sun lounges, Free guest parking, Lifts to every level, TV in every lounge room with Free-to-Air and Foxtel chanels, Gymnasium. Please note: if arriving by car or taxi please come to Reception at Level 1 (up the ramp above the Night Markets) 60 Abbott Street, Cairns. Reception hours are 8am to 6pm. Guests arriving outside these hours can speak by phone (outside Reception) to our Night Operator who will help them to their rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.