We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good sized apartment, great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Save Saved
You added BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good sized apartment, great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Recently I stayed here with my 3-year old daughter in a 1 bedroom aparment. I had asked for garden view room (because it was less expensive!), but we were given one on the 2nd floor right in front of the pool and with views out to the sea - it was a lovely surprise! The apartment was a good size, however it wasn't quite as clean as it could have been - otherwise I would have given this Rating 5. The room was also surprisingly quiet given that it is located right on the Esplanade. Location and extremely helpful and friendly staff certainly made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I will have a closer look at the cleanliness issue. We are always striving for positive reviews and these have been forthcoming over the last year. But we must never become complacent, so I take your point.

For those who have not yet visited BreakFree Royal Harbour I just want to clarify that our Garden View Rooms are located on levels 2 and 3. Those on level 2 open onto the garden and pool area, those on level 3 have a balcony overlooking the garden and they all face to the ocean with ocean glimpses through the trees. Then our Ocean View Rooms are on levels 4 to 7 inclusive. The extra height allows for lovely views over the lagoon and out to sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
112
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location. Across the road from the park, adjacent to cafes, restauarants and above the night markets.
Rooms are a good size. However the pool is somewhat small.
The internet at $2 for 10 minutes was a complete rip off considering it is very slow. I suggest you use internet cafes up the street,
Parking can be restricted with 1st in 1st served.
We only stayed 1 night on the 1st floor. If we were there longer would hace preferred room up higher with good views.

Room Tip: Get room up high with ocean views. You will pay more than for garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for your review. May I just add some info for other readers - the computer in the lobby costs $2 for 10 minutes. Most guests who use this computer just want to print out their boarding passes and for this it's perfect. There is wi-fi in our rooms but it is not free. Both the wi-fi and the lobby computer are provided by a separate company. Parking is free and not restricted. There are many parking spaces for BreakFree guests and at this time of year it's possible that they might all be in use. However there are plenty of other free spaces that we can direct our guests to - just ask at reception. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonbeach
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We previewed our room before booking and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff who were very helpful with advice and dates. Our stay did not disappoint... great location right on the esplanade and all activities able to be enjoyed from our balcony. Plenty of restaurants and cafes very close by as well as supermarket for supplies. We loved the spaciousness of the main room and that early morning sunshine was well appreciated by cold old Melbourne visitors! We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The front rooms have slightly larger balconies and great views of all the activity on the Esplanade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you Janet for your positive feedback. These days people seem quick to complain but it's not so common for people to take the time and trouble to say something nice. We are most grateful.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tully, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on 6th level ocean view. Pay a little bit extra than the garden view but believe me, it's worth it. Absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful views. Had a late check in and all good, (staff leave welcome letter and key in safe outside reception door). Ideal spot. Walking distance to shops. Units spiffy clean and I can safely say that because my wife is a cleaner and she gave it the thumbs up. We've stayed at quite a few in Cairns and even the best of them didn't even warrant lifting the elbow! Lovely huge unit, with all you could want. Francesca at reception was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Definitely stay here again, but for longer next time. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Many thanks Michael, your kind words are most appreciated.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on level 4 overlooking the waterfront and hotel pool. A top location, walking distance to shops, night markets, restaurants and attractions. staff were very helpful and we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to say something nice, we appreciate it very much.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in a 1BR harbour-front room, big and spacious and very high standard of finish, very clean with everything you could want. We arrived late, but received exceptional personal attention for the staff, Brian the live-in manager was just fantastic, and looked after us exceptionally well during our stay. All the staff are amazing, Meegan on the front desk was superb and organised our tours, finding really good deals for us. The hotel was brilliant and with this exceptional level of service we really felt part of a family there. They only downside was our stay was too short! we will definitely be back and next time for longer! highly recommended (and thanks to Brian and the team for making our stay superb!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Mike
Many thanks for your praise. We are always delighted to know that our hard work is appreciated. But for great people like you, being nice is not hard work, it just comes naturally.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moora, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our third stay at theRoyal Harbour in Cairns, at each end of our trip to areas in FNQ.
The location is one of the best in Cairns and the staff have always been very helpful with early check ins & late checkouts and given good advice.
I have seen other reviews quite digicam of the cleanliness it I really think they may be hard to please. We have had no issues in this regard on either of our stays although this time any time spent on the balcony (which has the best views) resulted in very black feet that unfortunately transferred through the room.
The Royal Harbour is great value for money in our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, BreakFree Royal Harbour provides direct access to cafes and restaurants which offer a wide variety of cuisines. Relax poolside on a sun lounge and enjoy the sweeping views of the Cairns swimming lagoon and beautiful Trinity Bay or enjoy a dip in the swimming pool to cool down. Property facilities include: Barbeque facilities, Internet access, Pool with sun lounges, Free guest parking, Lifts to every level, TV in every lounge room with Free-to-Air and Foxtel chanels, Gymnasium. Please note: if arriving by car or taxi please come to Reception at Level 1 (up the ramp above the Night Markets) 60 Abbott Street, Cairns. Reception hours are 8am to 6pm. Guests arriving outside these hours can speak by phone (outside Reception) to our Night Operator who will help them to their rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.