We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Colonial Club Resort to your Saves list
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Stayed here overnight on route to Port Douglas due to a last minute change to itinery. Booked through trailfinders (highly recommended!)

Fantastic service from airport to hotel - telephoned using freephone at airport and were collected very quickly and taken to hotel.

Were made to feel really welcome from the second we arrived. Staff were excellent, showing us to room, dealing with luggage etc. We even got a free bottle of plonk as we were on our honeymoon.

The rooms are a little dated but still in good condition. We only booked a basic room as it was only an overnight stop, but we were v comfortable.

The grounds are beautiful - lovely pool and spa etc.

The restaurant was lovely - we had a great meal and then sat outside until the early hours with cocktails!

The following day we got the free bus to Cairns centre to catch our bus to Port Doug.

We would definitely return if we are ever lucky enough to be in Cairns again.

  • Liked — Staff and the lovely grounds
  • Disliked — We had two single beds rather than a double
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    206
    127
    53
    35
See reviews for
123
191
45
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed for three nights in May 2007. While the guest rooms are quite worn and tired, the public spaces and grounds are lovely. Restaurants are very good. Transportation by hotel shuttle into Cairns is very convenient. We had no problems at all but we did observe the times the shuttle ran. The shuttle drivers were extremely helpful in advising us how to connect with other transportation to go on to visit local destinations. Some of the ratings on this site were not very favorable and we were quite concerned, but had no problems at all. While the rooms were worn, they were clean, comfortable and plenty of space, although limited in closet space and no wash cloths. We only had two bath towels, but I snagged one from the pool area to use as an additional. Personnel all over the resort could not have been nicer. We were quite pleased.

  • Liked — The grounds and restaurants
  • Disliked — Guest Rooms very worn and tired.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

The photographer did an excellent job of making this place look good in the photos - unfortunately the reality is somewhat different.

We were upgraded to a superior room through a travel agent deal. However, it was just an extra double bed in the room rather than being more favourably decorated. It was clean enough but looked like it was kitted out (in avocado) 30 years ago. The beds are like bouncy castles.

The grounds and pools look dirty and depressing.

Breakfast in the main dining area was expensive for what it was - loads of choice but poor quality food.

The best thing about the place is Jardine's Restaurant tagged on at the back. A decent meal for a decent price.

Just glad we were only here one night. The whole feel is a bit holiday camp from the 70s.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

The Hotel has not seen any refurbiishment in probably 25 years. The rooms are small with mold and mildew on the walls and furnishings tattered and worn. The beds are uncomfortable with springs coming through the mattresses. A change of room did nothing to improve things. I would suggest that Motel 6 offers a higher standard. The reception area is non-air conditioned and the grounds, although attractive, cannot possibly make up for all the negatives. The hotel is a long way from town. A total disappointment.

  • Liked — zero
  • Disliked — Everything was disappointing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in early March 2007.

The positives are that it has nice tropical grounds, garden and pools, the reception area is attractive, the staff are pleasant, the hotel is well run and Jardines restaurant had very good food and wine.

The negatives are that the rooms need refurbishing (I was part of a small tour group and we all agreed on this - perhaps some have been refurbed ??) and the hotel is noisy during the night as various tour parties arrive and depart. Avoid the ground floor as the noise from suitcases being wheeled by and loud chatting from noisy tourists in the early hours is very annoying.

Having said that, if you get a good deal on the price, the Cairsn Colonial would be an OK choice. It is a bit out of town but the setting/gardens etc. are pleasant and tropical - depends what you are looking for. Taxis back in the evening after a meal out are easy to find and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

Myself and my husband (were 26 and 31) first stayed here in 2001 when we were younger doing the whole Ozzie thing! We had such fabulous memories of the place that made us fall in love with Cairns and its surroundings that when we dicided to get married in Cairns 3 years later we did not hesitate to book the Colonial Club. Yes its not plush by any standards but we found the staff great and the whole tropical feel really nice and not like any other ordinary hotel we've stayed at in the past. With our preparations for the weddin g(didn't get married at the hotel but at St Christophers Chapel in the rainforest) I was in constant touch wih the hotel regarding the preparations for the wedding dinner whcih was on the verandah of the Jardines restaurant. They were so accommodating with all the little extras which I asked them to help me arrange as was difficult to do in the UK. We were given several bottles of complimentary champagne on our arrival for us and our guests. We also had 13 guests joining us for a week who were also booked in, the ensured we had 6 superior rooms next to one another. All messages from the vicar and the chapel were always promptly passed onto us along with faxes which friends from the Uk sent to us. We ate the Homestead restaurant on a few occassions, food was always plentiful and nice. We had private dining on the verandah for the night of the wedding, HUGE compliments to the chef and the staff who looked after us, food was amazing as was the service. The food is the snack bar was ok nothing out of tis world. The main pool is lovely and so different! I love this place and would recommend, don't expect the Ritz but it is completely different to any where we have ever stayed and we have travelled extensively over Asia, the Caribbean, South Pacific, America, Africa Europe and Australia.

  • Liked — Tropical surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

i really did not like this hotel it was way to nice and the wallpaper peeled off and the toilets had a peice of bodely hair on them seat i was not very happy at all.

yours regretfully mr anominouse

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Cafe or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant to something more casual at the Poolside Cafe. Work up an appetite on the tennis court. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Colonial Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.