We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Colonial Club Resort to your Saves list
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
“Short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean, tidy and spacious. Homestead restaurant and pool side bar had excellent food for the price. Staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast was included in the package and was good value. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are very fortunate to have a great team working at the Resort - they aim to make each guests stay an enjoyable one and will be delighted to hear your positive feedback.
We appreciate you highlighting the benefit of having breakfast included in your package. This really is a good deal and offers great value for our guests.
Thank you, it was kind of you to take the time to share your experience. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again when you are next in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    206
    127
    53
    35
See reviews for
123
191
45
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick overnight stay. Arrived late @ midnight and left early @ 530am. Staff was cheerful and thoughtful. I initially was booked into a room way at the back of the property (which is extensive) but they moved me into a room much closer. Much nicer considering the duration of my stay. The room was clean and adequate. However my room was along the path of all of the hotel carts going back and forth. Very noisy. Also outside my door (rm 12) there was no outside light. This made it very difficult to get into my room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
The Resort is set on 11 acres with rooms spread through tropical gardens and around the three swimming pools each with a waterfall! There are a variety of rooms available and we always try to accommodate guest requests so be sure to let us know your preference on your next visit.
Thank you acknowledging the staff and sharing your experience with others. We would welcome the opportunity of having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early September and were a little disappointed with our room. It had 2 lovely queen sized beds and the decor in the main bedroom was nice but the bathroom was a little out dated with a shower over bath and no extractor fan in the bathroom or toilet. It also overlooked the childrens pool and we were on our honeymoon!! The accommodation is low rise with only 2 storeys, however there were no lifts and it would be difficult for elderly or people with mobility issues.
The grounds and gardens were well kept and the pool areas are nice, although we did not use them. Staff were friendly and helpful and we did have a nice brunch at the poolside snackbar.
Location is a bit far out of the main cbd area and a fair walk down to the esplanade but a handy courtesy bus runs at intervals throughout the day and evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment. We appreciate your feedback and concerns. As the economy improves, it is anticipated it will be possible to make further improvements to the Resort's infrastructure enhancing our guests experience.
The Resort's location 10 minutes from the Cairns Esplanade and CBD allows us to be surrounded by acres of lush gardens and boast three swimming pools. Ideal for those after a relaxing 'out of city' experience. It was pleasing to hear you found the regular city shuttle service 'handy'.
We trust you enjoyed your honeymoon and wish you a wonderful future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for 1 week as there was a soccer carnival with om with lots of clubs. The hotel does a very good deal for the week. Our room was OK for the price and had asked to be in a quiet area which they allocated. Gardens are lovely as always. Great pool areas. Staff pleasant.
Had on buffet dinner which was very poor value. I will rate the restaurant separate.
I would be happy to stay again at the bargain rate. You do really need your own transport as the charge for the shuttle bus and is considerable distance from city.

Room Tip: This is a very large complex andsome of the rooms are a long walk. Rooms near the pools great if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments - they are appreciated. The 'annual soccer' carnival held next door makes for a wonderful week at the Resort with many familiar faces returning year after year! Great rates are offered making it ideal for families especially around school holidays. We do endeavour to offer affordable dinning options as well for families - your comments regarding the 'buffet' will be followed up with the Director of Operations.
It is nice to hear you found the gardens lovely, pools great and that we were able to accommodate your room request.
Thank you for your support! We hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family has stayed at this resort about 10 years ago. Yes it is a little tired now. The grounds are absolutely lovely. The service is fantastic. Improvements that I think would help bring back the sparkle would be - The roof needs a good gurney. Door to bathroom was swollen from water damage and needs replacing. Workman staying in the resort should be located in areas away from common walking areas. As we came as part of a fly buy package deal it made for an affordable holiday. Thank you! Hope to be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us again! And your positive comments about our Team are appreciated. They will be inspired to hear that you would love to come back!
The Resort's tropical gardens are a delight for many - where a leisurely stroll is always interesting and gives one a sense of living in a tropical paradise.
We look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to Cairns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I searched online at the last minute to find accommodation under $100 and came across the Ibis Cairns Colonial Club. When we went to book in we went to the other "Ibis" in town. We then had to drive 10 minutes to get to the correct one. That was fine but it would have been nice to know there were two as I wasn't aware at the time of booking.
The club has a courtesy bus which dropped us straight to the pier which turned out to be very convenient. The room was nice and all the facilities seemed to be in good nick. The restuarant looked great although we didn't have dinner there. Upon booking the room they offered a complimentary continental breakfast. This is only salad and cold meats, which would have been fine if we realised this before hand. When you get there they corner you in and make you pay $11 per person to upgrade to hot foods etc, which is worth it otherwise you don't have a very nice breakfast. If I would've known this I would've went elsewhere as there are plenty of places in Cairns that offer amazing breakfast for $11 + depending on how many people.

Few things to improve but overall it was a nice stay. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Don't park your car out the front if you don't want bird mess all over your car in the morning.

Room Tip: We had a free upgrade to the Queen room. All rooms are nice and roomy with lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your positive comments about the Resort and especially about our Team. We are proud to offer great value at an affordable price in a relaxed tropical setting.
As an 'ibis Styles' brand standard - Continental Breakfast is offered in most online offers. With fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, toast, yoghurt, juice and tea|coffee it is a great way to start the day. For those guests wanting to indulge in the hot selection on the buffet, however, there is the option to upgrade to a Full Breakfast - bacon, eggs and hash browns are often hard to resist!The regular shuttle to the city centre is very convenient and popular as it takes you to all the best shopping areas in Cairns...
If visiting Cairns in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Pool is great. Complex well looked after. Rooms cleaned well every day. All staff gave excellent service. Food was great Recommend including Continental breakfast All facilities incl laundry Will return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience with others and will be certain to pass on your positive comments to the staff. It inspires the team to know a guest has enjoyed their stay as they strive daily to make everyone's visit a memorable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Cafe or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant to something more casual at the Poolside Cafe. Work up an appetite on the tennis court. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Colonial Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.