We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Prebook Breakfast with Room Rate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Inn to your Saves list
Rainbow Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Florida, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Prebook Breakfast with Room Rate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I prebooked breakfast with our room rate online, for an additional cost for two of $30. When we arrived, we found a sign advertising breakfast for just over $6 on the footpath and another sign on the breakfast room advertising bacon & eggs for $8.90. However, nowhere did we find any mention of the breakfast hours (not in the in-room services guide, not in/on the breakfast room). One sign advertised it started at 6:45am. There was no notification of the end time. Imagine our disappointment & frustration when we arrived at 9am for breakfast to be told by one of the passing housemaids that breakfast ends at 8:30am. The front office offered no compensation or concession for the oversight and inconvenience, even considering we had prepaid $30 for it. A previous review from August 2012 expressed this same frustration with the breakfast hours. I would suggest management post breakfast hours to assist other late-night arriving travelers to plan their morning routine. And travelers, pay for your breakfast when you get there, not before. Assuming they're open, it's much cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    12
    5
    26
See reviews for
16
12
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

we arrived and the room that we were allocated was disgusting i went to the office and complained about the room how it looks NOTHING like the photo it had water dripping from the ceiling we got moved and that room was no better
i have stayed in plenty of accom. through qantas before and i was disgusted to think qantas would have their name attached to this hotel.

Room Tip: don`t pick this place if you like me are use to comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked this through Hotwire because it was somehow greatly mis-rated as a 3 star. We would have changed rooms but it was late when we arrived and didn't have a car. Left first thing in the morning. It was clean - but so run down and dated to feel icky. Towels were so thin they were like tea towels. Rust stained everything. The ceiling fan looked like it was going to fall off the ceiling it wobbled so much.
Part of star rating system is because of in-house restaurant and bar. OMG - could not imagine eating there. Camera was acting up and I couldn't take pics - sorry. This is nothing more than a run down old motel, the kind where you rent rooms by the hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

First room they gave us was so dirty I asked for another room. There was no phone, no remote, and the bathroom window didn't lock. Next room a bit cleaner, TV didn't work. Very poor lighting. Sheets look like they haven't been changed. The mattress was so hard it hurt. I would never come back or recommend. This motel needs an inspection and closure and not reopened till it was cleaned up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night with my little 2 and a half year old. Yes hotel looks run down etc but that did not bother me, I was looking forward to a long soak in a bath after driving for hours. Also did not bother me that I had to drive down a side street and park on the street and access the room from here. However when I opened the door and seen the room I nearly had heart failure! The room looked like it had not been cleaned at all!! There were hairs all over the floor along with shards of broken glass. I had to tell my little boy to stay on bed and not move. He dropped his bottle under bed and
oh my god I will not tell you how bad it was under there!! I rang reception and told her the place was filthy, I got a very cold rude reply of she would send someone up. They did indeed and I had to sweep and mop the floor!! Bathrooms old. Leaking shower head and as for bath. It was only a half bath. When I left my key in this Mornin my nightmare of a stay was not even acknowledged. At '$90 a night I was expecting a little more and that's not getting into the crowd nxt door who had kids running around at 2 in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Yes the bathrooms Are an older style but were clean with great hot water n fresh soft towels .
Bed was very comfy, everything worked in the room and the view of the tropical pool from room balcony was great.
Dined at the restaurant, great food at a good price.
For the low price compared to other places, Rainbow Inn offers great value for the price.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

yea so its dated & its not as good as most hotels you've probably been to, but its good for the price, staff is helpful & can setup anything in cairns for you & who stays in their room but to sleep..... There is so much to do in this city with the Reef nearby & the rainforest -too much to see to stay in room. The hotel is efficient, you can sleep well -you will shower well & everything tour operator can pick you up from hotel -since the hotel is "well known". good price good staff, but dated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you were overall happy with your choice of value for money accommodation that we offer and made the most of your visit to Cairns to get out and experience all the wonderful things in Far North Qld..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Address: 179 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Cairns Rainbow Resort is located in Cairns, Queensland, One of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical oceans. The Resort is Located close to the city center where you will find shops, world renowned restaurants that cater for every cuisine, large variety of bars and clubs and only 100 meters to the esplanade and ocean waterfront. 5 minute drive is the Cairns Domestic and International Airports. 15 minute walk of the resort you can get to other attractions such as; Cairns central shopping center, cairns civic theater, convention center, cruise ship terminal, arts gallery, casino, train station, bus terminal, cairns museum, botanical gardens, and much more. Cairns Rainbow Resort is a tropical oasis close to the city center offering great valued rooms with Pool, Spa and tropical garden views. All rooms have private balconies, and free wireless internet. ROOMS: All of our rooms have balconies that open your room up to the beautiful tropical gardens and pool area. Only meters from your room awaits our spa perfect for relaxing and our large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, perfect for those warm summer days, by pools side awaits the lounge chair area where you can lay back and let the sun shine down while you enjoy a cold beverage from our bar, or a meal from the Coral Garden Restaurant. All of our daily cleaned comfortable guest rooms come with on a 32" Flat TV screen, free wireless internet, room safe, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge. FACILITIES: Cairns Rainbow Resort facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, outdoor spa and pool side lounge chair area, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Coral Garden Restaurant and Coral Bar are our onsite dining options, both great places to meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a dining experience and beverage. The resort waiting lounge has a computer terminal with free printing facilities, free wireless internet is throughout the resort. CORAL GARDENS RESTAURANT: Coral Garden Restaurant is your onsite option for dining. With a collective mixture of contemporary and classic design and views of tropical gardens, you sure will be pleased with the location of the Coral Gardens Restaurant. Offering locally caught seafood, succulent steaks, fresh salads, and seasonal vegetables you will be very pleased with the options. Not just offering a large variety of dishes, we also offer a few options for dining. During the humid months that the tropics bring, having a seat inside the restaurant is the comfortable choice, with a large fish tank along with gentle back ground music, you will feel relaxed and ready to try our a-la-carte menu. For the rest of the beautiful year round weather, you might be much more inclined to have a table in the outside area, you will be dining under the stars, and enjoying the clear night sky's. If dining amongst tropical palm trees and the background sound of only a cascading waterfall is your thing, no problem, this is also available with pool side dining. Also available is room service if relaxing on your private balcony is your preferred option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.