We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - superb accommodation, views and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - superb accommodation, views and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Travelled with husband and 12 year old daughter. Our last destination on a very varied holiday. Nothing failed to please us - from our upgrade to a one-bedroom suite to the beautiful views from our room/balcony.
The suite was clean with gorgeous bed linen and very comfortable beds. Staff were attentive and friendly - nothing was ever too much trouble.
Location brilliant - next door to main pier for all trips to the Reef and collection from the hotel for all inland trips. There were also some really lovely restaurants very close by and an assortment of shops.
Swimming pool clean and not too busy. An assortment of toys for children and adults to play with! Very comfortable sunbeds and very attentive poolside bar staff. Loved all the parrots coming in to roost in the palm trees in the early evening!
Would certainly recommend this hotel to all - we think it is probably the best hotel in Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
Thank you so much to our reviewer for the lovely words and also the recommendation.

May we also that you for referencing the service commitment of our team.

Rob Weeden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    430
    168
    61
    40
See reviews for
225
677
85
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Arrived to be presented with a "pool party" one Sunday afternoon which was also open to non-guests - "a "new concept" for all to enjoy apparently. From 13h00 to 19h00 as I recall. Clearly for youngsters and exceedingly loud and tasteless. Could be heard (and felt) in my room even though it was not adjacent. I felt really sorry for those with nearby rooms. It was quite vulgar. I have had loud music from an adjoining venue on the waterfront on other weekend nights when I had a harbour view room so one is committed to sleeping only when they cease the noise. During the week it is quite a nice place to stay. If you want "restful", it would pay to make nequiries as to the noise factor first. Pity as I thought I had found my hotel in Cairns but the search continues.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
What a shame we missed the opportunity to delight the writer on this occasion.
In our never ending quest for delivering new and unique services for our guests our Food and Beverage team planned a year end event around the pool deck. The one off ‘Pool Party’ was open to all guests and some VIP’s from around Cairns. We had flair bar staff, cuisine that included BBQ, tandoori, satay, salads, sushi and sashimi and the music was of the ‘chill’ genre.

We were extremely conscious of ensuring that all guests were catered for and can summarise that the event was a real success with some 80 or so house guests of all ages joining in the fun when they returned from their reef trips in the afternoon. The event ran from 1pm through to 7pm with the music finishing at 6pm and do concede that this afternoon by the pool was a little different to the status quo.

We do apologise to our guest that he/she was inconvenienced and do hope that we have an opportunity to recover confidence on another occasion.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My wife and I spent 9 days at this hotel having spent New Year in Sydney and 1 day at Ayres Rock(Uluru). We had a Horizon Club room with balcony on the first floor overlooking the marina. Horizon Club is a more private part of the hotel and includes a lounge for breakfast and canapes in the evening. The staff were always helpful and provided good service. On the ground floor, there are an assortment of shops, a gym and a wide choice of restaurants overlooking the marina. The boats for Great Barrier Reef trips leave from here. Trips to the rainforest and outback can be arranged and tour buses collect from the hotel. The town centre is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
Delighted our writer enjoyed their trip to Cairns and managed to find their Shangri-La with us in Cairns. We have received much feedback about our Horizon Club accommodation and thank the writer for the kind words and references.

Shangri-La is the closest hotel to the Marlin Marina and the Reef Fleet Terminal and resides above the city’s premier dining and bar precinct. Thank you again for referencing our staff who do try so hard to deliver our unique blend of Shangri-La hospitality.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights before X-Mas, 2009.
Though seemed pricey when booking, we didn't pass on reserving a horizon club room.
That was a well paid off decision.
Club rooms are beautifully appointed, very spacious rooms with roomy bathrooms, separated toilets from shower and bath.
But on top of all, club rooms grant you access to horizon club lounge where (though technically "only" continental+) a full breakfast is served in the mornings and a mini dinner (technically - canapes) in the evenings accompanied by free-of-charge beverages, wine, beer and premium liquor.
Staff is friendly and professional. Kim from the general reception was exceptional. It's been quite a while since we came across such a service oriented individual.
The pool at the Shangri-la, Cairns is well worthy of resort title.
From all amenities, we enjoyed most the gym.
The gym at the hotel is shared with the complex mall. Not only an excellent hotel gym, but a full service gym on its own.
Unlike the major cities, the restaurants and bars at this property are fairly priced.
Location wise, the Shangri-la, Cairns beats it all. It is right on the pier from which all Great Barrier Reef excursions depart.
I only regret we didn't reserve another night without any day time excursion, just to relax at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

I stayed at the Shagri-La Hotel in December, 2009 for 3 nights. I was very satisfied with the entire experience. I was particularly impressed with the high level of service. For me, it was noticeably higher here than in comparable hotels that I have stayed in. It definitely was "friendlier" and less "corporate" for lack of a better term. I stayed in a top tier suite, which I recommend if you get a good deal (less than $150 a night). It was very spacious and quiet. With the room came a very good complimentary breakfast buffet, as well as complimentary drinks with hot and cold appetizers in the evening. I never actually ate dinner in Cairns the entire time I was there because I enjoyed the appetizers in the evening so much! So, I suppose that the extra money that I spent on the room was justified by the money that I saved by not eating dinner out. :-) The water views from the room were just great and the staff assisting us with tour arrangements were particularly helpful. I was able to readily access the internet everyday at no cost, which was great as well. Some of these amenities might only be available if you stay in a suite; I am not sure, but I truly had a great experience at the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

very good hotel, super service, great location. Bar 8 is fun

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

This is no where near a 5star hotel. Nothing compared to Palazzo Versace or other hotels like that ect. It's just an average room, clean, on the smaller size, bathroom is nice but nothing to go on about, nice view over looking the marina. The main thing going for this hotel is the location-it's perfect, right next to the night markets, marina and restaurants is all just a short walk away. The staff are nice and try their best to meet your needs. Was an ok stay overall.
Would recommend this hotel if you need to catch a flight like we did for 1night or if you are there for a party. If you want to relax, better off hiring a car if you can afford it and stay somewhere in Port Douglas-it's beautiful up there and they have awesome restaurants and spa's!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.