We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor experience ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perhaps I had built up my first trip to a Shangri La hotel, but I was not impressed. We stayed here for a night before a two day dive trip. Initially we were planning on staying for an additional two nights after, but we did not bother based on our experience.
The check in experience was a hassle. Unfortunately we arrived early in the morning and our room wasn't ready. Darren and Ian were very friendly and did an excellent job in making us comfortable. They established we had not been allocated the right room and set about resolving.
It wasn't resolved until late morning by which time we decided not to bother moving all our stuff into another room (although help was offered).
Stopped by the pool for a swim in the afternoon - had to wait 20 minutes to order a glass of wine!
Experience of the staff generally was that they were grumpy for a better word.
We moved to a "lower grade" hotel for our last couple of nights, paying a third of the Shangri la, and were greeted by proper hospitality and faith was restored in Cairns' hoteliers. Come on Shangri La, up your game.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    505
    205
    74
    43
See reviews for
259
787
97
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had one night here in April 2015 on my way back from Port Moresby to Melbourne. Close enough to the airport, right on the water. Great room - 1019. Plenty of restaurant choices downstairs. Had an early departure and staff organised transfers for me and a quick check out. All very efficient. High standard. Will stay again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here on our way back from Fitzrory Island. Quick walk from the jetty to the hotel.
Plenty of resturants and bars in the building and also close to the shops. Beautiful big bathroom fully stocked with tolietries and lovely fluffy robes and slippers.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in Shangri La, Cairns during our vacation in Queensland. The hotel is the best in town. located right on the pier, the position is very convenient for dining out and for cruising to the coral reef. The rooms are wide and furnished with taste and with every comfort. The internet access is easy, fast and stable. Most of the room overlook the sea and you can enjoy a fabuolus subset from your private terrace. The hotel has a tropical swimming pool and a nice garden. We did not try the wellness center but it is available. Breakfast is rich and varied. And, last but not least, all the personnel are extremely attentive, helpful and nice. Overall a great experience. The ideal place to rest after a day spent at the coral reef

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel in in the process of a long required renovation that should be completed by the end of this year.
Great changes to the Horizon Club Lounge since last year. The lounge is now larger, with a very bright and colourful décor. The evening canapés are also much better, with a changed selection each night.
Staff still very efficient and helpful, and always greeting you with a great smile.
However the Pier shopping centre has a large number of empty spaces, but there is still a number of restaurants still operating.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is right on the pier - our room had a view over the Marina and to watch the dawn break from our balcony was just glorious. I was even able to sunbake from bed - Bliss!! The room we had was spacious, with two king sized beds, and enough room for a sofa. Very impressed with the floorboards in the entry to the room :) . The hotel is in a perfect location - a one minute walk to the reef terminal where all the day tours depart; a 5 minute walk to the Reef Hotel & Casino; a 5 minute walk in another direction to the lagoon and Cairns Esplanade. There are also various restaurants and shops in the hotel complex itself. I can highly recommend a hot chocolate from Coffee Bean Estate which is within the complex.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night before an early flight to Darwin the next morning. I found the hotel staff to be extremely courteous and the room very comfortable indeed. I also greatly enjoyed the pool and bar; perfect on a July afternoon in Cairns! The hotel is conveniently located, being close to the Marina, which is where you'd want to spend a relaxed evening, and transfers to the airport were easy to arrange and not too expensive. A great place to stay in Cairns!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.