We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel if a little dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel if a little dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Really nice hotel in a great spot by the pier and close to town. They upgraded us to a suite which was unreal. Really nice room but could do with a facelift. Lovely staff. Weather was bad so we did not use the pool. Would recommend and stay again. D

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear dp 123,

Sorry about the weather!

Thank you for the comments and highlighting our staff - I agree with you on that - great, friendly staff.

I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Cairns.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    505
    205
    73
    43
See reviews for
259
787
97
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

After a week in Mission Beach we decided to stay a night in Cairns before our return to Melbourne on The 12th August. The Shangri-La Hotel was the perfect choice. The Marina view rooms are large and comfortable and the view over the marina and bay to the hills is stunning. The rooms are showing a little wear and the strange lack of tropical fruit in the breakfast room was puzzling but overall I would recommend this hotel. Friendly and helpful check in staff and great pool-side service. Easy walking distance to the city centre, art gallery and restaurants. Wish we had stayed a day or two longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear GrantED256,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel on TA - I appreciate the great feedback and highlighting the positives. I will discuss the fruit selection for breakfast with the chef, and see is we can provide some alternatives.

Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this lovely property for the second time, this time for my honeymoon and was just as impressed as the first time we stayed some 6 years ago. We had a King sea view room with a view over the marina and esplanade from our balcony. I've always been impressed with the size of the rooms, more the size of an apartment than a hotel room and a bathroom that is spacious and clean and complete with a large tub and shower.
Room service was fantastic and we were lucky enough to have complimentary wine and chocolates delivered to our room for our honeymoon gift. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the valet was a great service which was cheap and have us piece of mind that we had a safe place for our vehicle during our stay. The hotel is a short walk to the lagoon and esplanade, night markets and a multitude of restaurants and shops nearby. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Jessica D,

Many thanks for the review, and I am very happy to see you enjoyed your honeymoon at the hotel. Hope to see you soon for another stay.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We loved our stay in the Horizon Club Suite! Beautiful light, floor to ceiling windows with stunning views of the marina and hills, beautiful design, comfortable furnishings and dreamy king sized bed, every detail catered for. The staff at the hotel are friendly, listen to your concerns and needs and offer a fast service. The Horizon Club breakfast was one of the best we've had. The evening canapes and drinks were also lovely. The extras offered with the Horizon Club are well worth it. We loved the pool and sun-lounges. General relaxed and welcoming feeling. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club room or suite if possible. They are modern and updated. However, the hotel is re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Staff are very good and always helpful. Facilities are of a high standard and views of the sea and marina excellent. The Horizon club rooms were well worth the extra cost. The other rooms do seem a little dated but there seems to be a display about these being updated. Please be aware that you may have a long walk from the elevators to your room due to the size and shape of the hotel.

Only problem we had was a leak in my bathroom roof which was only sorted properly when I asked for a manager to get involved. It was well dealt with after this and the hotel compensated us well.

Would recommend this hotel well.

Room Tip: Marina view or Horizon club rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Phillip J,

Thank you for your very positive review. My apologies for the leak in the bathroom, but very pleasing to see that our team handled the situation well and there was a positive outcome.

Great to see you enjoyed the Horizon Club floor also.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on either side of a trip to Fitzroy Island. We had booked a deluxe marina room. The first night they upgraded us to their premium room, which was nice, but not as good as the room we got (as booked) the second night. Free wifi in rooms - well done! Breakfast ok, but $4.50 for a flat white is a bit naughty. Give North - their restaurant - a miss for dinner - it was ordinary. Helpful staff. Only 100 m from ferry terminal & easy walk to everywhere else.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We spent a night at the Shangri-la Cairns on our way back from Dantree rainforest, wish we had more time. The staff is first class, second to none! Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a suite, the front desk was very friendly, asked us what we would need, and our travel plan. After they learned about our early flight the next morning, they offered to get our three breakfast boxes ready by 5:45AM the next morning. Of course when we aere checking out at 5:45AM the next day, three nicely packed breakfast boxes were there waiting for us. They really went out their way to help us!

The Horizon Club was nice, evening happy hour was nice, with wine, small bites.

The location of the hotel is unbeatable, looking right into Marina, very close to shops and restaurants.

If you have time, the walk from hotel to the shops are very nice at night. The trees around the beautiful city public swimming pool were light up at night, one color for each tree, together they form beautiful tree rainbow at night, unbelievable

We also stayed at Sydeny Shangri-la, exactly the same experience, outstanding service, great location. I only wish they have more properties in North America!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.