We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good hotel nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Getting a bit tired but still a good hotel. Staff are good. Room service was fast. Some rooms are a long walk. Nice views over the marina from most rooms.

Club floor is the best. Beds and linen are the best.

Room Tip: Club floor is definitely the best if you can afford it. All with nice views over the marina and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    459
    183
    64
    40
See reviews for
239
723
88
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great stay, the tour desk people are extremely helpful and friendly, very professional teams and great location for this hotel. The rooms are very clean, quiet and largely open to benefit from the amazing views on the marina.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and the view of the marina was beautiful. Very convenient location, close to reef fleet and the esplanade. Would definitely stay again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Deluxe marina view room is spacious with fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We loved our stay in this Hotel. Staff were excellent. Our room was spacious and overlooking Marina. View from room was great We enjoyed our breakfasts lovely to eat near water watching waterfront activity. Hotel does need some TLC in some areas We were a little disappointed on one day when returning to our rooms after 4-30 pm that our rooms had not been serviced. Hotel was very central to Cairns shops and Restaurants. Great to walk each night to a selection of eating places. We will stay here again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Marina have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Dorothy W,

Thank you for your review and great comments. My apologies for the delay in getting your room serviced. I have spoken to my Housekeeper about your comments, and she is taking the necessary action.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent staff, spacious rooms and service from staff in the hotel was always friendly and polite. Highly recommended and close to everything in central Cairns. Five star hotel with 5 star treatment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel was nice although in need of a little TLC. What struck me most was the lack of Shangri La WOW I have come to expect of this brand. The potential is there but needs an update. The club lounge was very poor and reflected the general lack of that was radiating from all areas of my stay and experience. The location was good and room service food was hot and nice. The bathroom was the best feature of the room but the floor tiles are absolutely terribly and bring the whole room down to a very drab style. I will stay again if they refurb otherwise I might try elsewhere next time and that is disappointing as a Golden Circle Member. Staff were friendly and very obliging. The Limo organised through the hotel was on time and the driver courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony with a sea view which was great for fresh air and enjoying the great Cairns we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear DCHManager,

Thank you for your comments, and I am concerned to hear that we didnt meet your expections.

If you had the time could you contact me with further information regarding the Club lounge - I would be interested to hear your feedback. nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com..........thanks.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

As we walked in the hotel and they realize that in the reservation we asked for a king bed, we are golden circle member, they move us to the horizon club, beautiful room with a big balcony and great view of the marina.
Thank to the manager, Katherine, she made every effort to organize the trip to green island for us.
Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: room 31 with a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.