We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location but feels a little tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great staff and location but feels a little tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Overall, a very pleasant hotel to stay in. The horizon club was generous with food and drink and the north restaurant provided an excellent breakfast. The staff were polite and very helpful, going out of their way to assist. Being right on the Marina was terrific with some excellent restaurants nearby.

My only criticism is that it feels a little tired and the decor in the rooms and the hotel generally are showing their age - which is not, however, a comment on cleanliness - which was excellent. That said, I did see a display in the foyer pertaining to forthcoming renovations and refurbishments so hopefully there may be a refresh in the not too distant future

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    415
    163
    59
    38
See reviews for
211
657
84
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked this hotel after looking at previous reviews on trip advisor. We decided to go for a Horizon club room. The room was lovely.Fantastic views of the marina and beyond. Very spacious and a really comfy bed. Some people have commented on the hotel being outdated? they are very well kept and clean as is all of the hotel so we didnt really find this to be an issue. The staff are wonderful. We also ate in the North resturant on site and had a lovely seafood platter. The Horizon club was again excellent. Lovely breakfast,soft drinks in the day and drinks and canapes in the evening. The wines on offer a bit on the cheap side but overhall quite sufficient and we were impressed with the canapes on offer each night. The staff again here excellent. Value for money outstanding. The location is perfect.So close to plenty of resturants and cafes and a very short walk to town. I have to say the room was very quiet to, which is just what you want when on holiday. Also the terminal to go on boat tours right out side the door, so again just perfect. Our only complaint would be how cold the pool was? everybody who was down there said the same.Absolutley freezing, we still went in though!!!! Nice pool bar and snacks available and plenty of towels. Would definatley go back!!!!

Room Tip: Go for the Horizon club rooms.We had room 3006 corner suite just perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It is a very long time since is stayed here but was pleasantly surprised. The location is outstanding. The staff are so friendly everywhere you go in the hotel. The room we had was overlooking the harbour and had a great balcony.

It is an older hotel so the layout is a bit like a rabbit warren and the bathrooms a tad outdated. However if you keep this in mind along with the great rates they are offering you won't be disappointed. Above all the beds are really comfortable and free wifi was extremely fast and appreciated

We went to the restaurant downstairs Bar 8 and had a great night with some of the best seafood in town.

Definitely would stay again

Room Tip: Definitely pay the small amount extra to have the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I really liked this hotel. Staff were very helpful and the room was great too. Also the location was ideal. I would recommend this hotel to others. I enjoyed the walks beside the sea and also as a solo female traveller, felt very safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location was quite marvellous. The views to the marina and the water and hills behind were very nice.it was very humid when we stayed there,as is always I suppose.there was a stretch of fog covering throughout the marina and the hills in the morning,it was a breathtaking view, I do not think you can get this view anywhere else. The rooms are nice,clean and not so small.the restaurants or shops and the casino are just a walk away.actually you can just walk through out the city.the staff were friendly aND the lounge was pretty comfortable and they had good choice of food for a lounge.in cairns one of the best. another option isConrad Jupiter's but it's starting to show its age.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Couldn't ask for a better location when visiting Cairns. Fantastic views from the marina-facing rooms. Very short walks to both the Esplanade (dining and shopping) and the wharf from which most of the Reef cruises / diving / snorkeling trips leave. Horizon Club has a good breakfast to start your day and a nice selection of wines and tasty snacks for happy hour. Plenty of good-to-great restaurants within walking distance. Our room was very clean and airy and the service from the entire staff was fantastic. If we ever have the chance to return, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: It's tough to beat a marina-view room on the Horizon Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A great hotel with a wonderful location. The view from the marina facing rooms is world class. Just steps away from the check in location for the boat/cruise departure point. The Horizon club has a good breakfast and a good food selection at happy hour. All the staff were very friendly.

It was nice to be able to sit in the restaurant outside for breakfast. The only thing I would fault them for was not having smoked salmon on the menu. Despite that it gets my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Even if you do not plan to spend a lot of your time in the room a marina facing room is worth gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.