We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Cairns Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great views of Trinity Bay and just a stroll across the road to the board walk. Friendly staff. Room cleaned daily. Close enough to walk to the shops, restaurants and the Marina. Can be a little noisy from the park and road at times if you want to leave the balcony doors open, but nice and quiet when they are closed. We had trouble with the air conditioner not working at first but staff very quickly got a tradesman in to fix it as soon as we notified them. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Deb2517
Thank you for your review.
The best message and highest praise we could hope for is that you would happily stay with us again; we will happily have you stay with us when next you visit....!!!
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    179
    67
    22
    7
See reviews for
75
176
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. I love the location and ocean views. The room has been refurbished since my last stay which was really nice. The staff have always been friendly and helpfull. If I did have one suggestion it would be to eliminate the outer door of the two suites. The people in the next room tended to keep their door open and it was a bit noisy. Having said that there was no problems after 10.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi Geoff from Rockhampton
Thank you for your review.
Your suggestion of eliminating the outer door for the "adjoining" suite and Standard Room has been noted and I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the noise from the other room - on the flip side, though, having that outer door means it's a great set of rooms for a family.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back when next you visit...!
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay. The room was very clean and updated and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is just perfect for a quiet stay, not in the heart of the action but a short walk to it all. Excellent value for the money, it exceeded our expectations. Loved the fact that we were able to do a load of laundry. Would definitely stay there again should we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review - the highest praise we can receive is knowing that you'd choose to come back and stay with us...!
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed at Cairns Plaza Hotel for 1 night and was quite happy with the place.
Located a few blocks from the Lagoon area, it is still quite central but far enough away from the restaurants and bars so that noise is not an issue.

I had booked a standard room and when I switched the air conditioner on there was a loud clicking noise - no problem, I called reception and they upgraded me to the 1 bedroom room next door.
Both rooms had been updated with a new modern look and fit out. It really makes the rooms appealing. The 1 bedroom room had a kitchenette which would be great if staying for a few days. The polished wood floors look great too but I did notice it made foot traffic in the hallways a bit louder.

Otherwise I enjoyed my stay and will consider this place next time I'm in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad we were able to look after you despite the noisy A/C.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Good location as it was near the boardwalk and in easy walking distance of restaurants and the marina. I was out all day at the reef on both days so it was really just a room to sleep in. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and was good value for money. The room was serviced daily also. I found the staff were very friendly and keen to help out with anything.

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you've highlighted one of our strong selling points - our Fabulous Location....!!!
Please note that our Ocean-facing Rooms are our Ocean-View Suites - two balconies that look straight out on to the Esplanade....!!!!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was a last minute booking for business. The hotel itself seems a bit dated but look past that and you will find helpful friendly staff, clean rooms and hot shower/bath and a lovely pool. We had bedroom suite with ocean views that also had a kitchenette. Great if staying for awhile. I think this hotel would be great for young families mainly because of its great location. Just across the road from Muddy's playground/water play park and The Esplanade which is a short walk into centre of town with so many restaurants and shops etc. the hotel has basic restaurant facilities for breakfast and dinner but there is a lovely cafe across the road in the middle of the playground which had great coffee and breakfast. Also the play area had excellent free electric BBQ facilities that are undercover. We were more than happy with the hotel and would come back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but there is some road noise at night but this quiets down
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear YvonneP331
Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you've been able to highlight our many great attributes....please note though that we serve Breakfast only in our restaurant; dinners are available from the myriad of restaurants that the downtown area of Cairns has to offer - I trust our reception team were able to provide you with their "picks of where to eat whist in Cairns".
I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed seven nights in an Ocean View Suite. It was clean, comfortable and facilities were well serviced. The view is wonderful and the rooms are spacious. Some lights switches were not connected to the actual lights, there was no door chain, but you get used to it and the hotel is very safe.

Staff were very efficient and helpful. Thanking to Cairns Plaza Hotel, we had a very good time in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review.
So thrilled to read that you enjoyed your 7-night stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#7 of 66 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#16 of 66 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-rise Motor Inn located about 3 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and EasyToBook so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.