We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy, a little farther away from heart of it, great staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Cairns Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Roomy, a little farther away from heart of it, great staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

+ Location: It's located on the quieter end of the esplanade so of course a little far off from the heart of the city where all the restaurants and shops are located. If I am in Cairns in the future, I would probably pick a hotel closer to the restaurants/shops.

+ Staff: The staff is wonderful and very friendly. They were helpful showing me places on the map and always had a smile on their faces :) Thanks again guys!

+ Room: The room we (3 people) stayed in was very spacious which I appreciated a lot. This was heaven compared to the tiny one we stayed in in Sydney. The unit is fairly dated but it does the job. There's a small kitchen, a table, a TV, a huge closet, plenty of lights, a small bathroom, and a balcony. My biggest complaints are regarding the bathroom. The faucets, no matter how tight you turned it, would ALWAYS leak water. Same went for the tub. And also the pipes in the bathroom were so loud! It did not matter if you were turning on the faucets, flushing the toilet, or not doing anything because you could hear the neighbors faucets too. Even with the bathroom door closed you could hear this. I had to sleep with earplugs every night. Good thing we were only there for 4 nights.

Overall, this was an average hotel with nothing that really stood out besides the staff and the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
I'm disappointed to hear that some sort of noise kept you awake during your stay and that we weren't given the opportunity of moving you to a quieter room for your stay - we will have maintenance look into why this would be happening.
A short 10-minute, 3-block stroll along the boardwalk from the city centre but far enough away from the downtonw noise is one of our stronger selling points - location, location, location; I'm sorry you didn't see it that way....
So glad the team looked after you during your time with us too....!
I trust you enjoyed your time in our part of the world and wish you safe travels.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    109
    48
    18
    5
See reviews for
38
103
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent location, especially for families, as playgrounds are just across the small, one-way, street. On the waterfront, within 10 minutes walking to the city center and The Lagoon (a very large swimming pool) and just about everything else. It's location, location AND location.

Enough parking, despite us staying when the place was booked flat out, for days. Upper deck is better for shade, while lower one for convenience.

Front desk is very helpful, especially Sarah, or at least the girl with her name tag. She's just amazing. 2 laundry machines, with $3 per wash. Driers also, for the same fee.

Room service is so-so. Some were excellent while others left us without toilet paper, tissues and tea for weekends. I especially liked a woman from one of "those "M" suburbs" who was really nice and always did an excellent job.

Room Tip: Try to avoid small rooms facing north or south. Try to get east or west rooms as they are larger. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for making time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
I'm so glad to read that your enjoyed your stay - Sarah will be pleased to have been singled out for her wonderful Customer Service Skills.
Extra amenities including towels etc are always available at reception and do apoologize for any inconvenience caused.
We do look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back should you visit our region again.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is situated on a quieter part of the Cairns Esplanade, and in easy walking distance to nearby restaurants and the centre of Cairns.
The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and with balcony views, currently they are being renovated from the the top down without disturbance to staying guests.
All the staff are helpful, informative and do their job with a sincere smile and a sense of humour.
An added attraction from some of the room balconies you can enjoy the evening sight of flocks of Egrets and Ibis, returning to their nightly resting place, in two large trees right on the Esplanade by the hotel.
After the birds are settled then you have the spectacle, of watching the Fruit Bats fly over on mass to their night time feeding sites.
We will happily return to the Cairns Plaza, and recommend to our family and friends

Room Tip: Choose a room above the fourth floor with Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay.
I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed the views from our balconies; our Ocean View Suites offer direct views to the Esplanade and, as you've written, usually provide an excellent opportunity to view the many kinds of birds which are around us.
Thank you for your recommendation to family and friends - we look forward to welcoming them to our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good location for a family ( 2 adults - 2 kids ) stay, room had just been renovated including a new bathroom , beds comfortable , small kitchenette , good view from level 6 across the water & down the esplanade ,short walk to the lagoon or across the road to the kids play area / park.
Took up the breakfast package with the room rate , well worth it , order breakfast from the menu & food was cooked to order, quality & quantity was excellent,
Staff were friendly and were only too helpfully in organising activities or transport,
Hotel also offered free wifi , just ask at the front desk,
Will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your overwhelmingly positive review following your recent stay with us.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you're going to Cairns for the first time and want a place to be impressed with - this is not it. It's an older, in need of repair, hotel that has nice folks at the counter but that's where the nice kind of ends. OK/fair/acceptable is as far as I'll go here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review - it's a shame we were not given the opportunity of fixing any of your issues whilst you were with us.
I trust you enjoyed your time visiting the wonders the Mother Nature has placed on our door steip - the Great Barrier Reef and Tropical Rainforest - the main reasons why most people visit our region.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Ghastly place. Dirty rooms, bathroom disgraceful. Hotel needs total refurbishment.
Staff pleasant and helpful. Needs to be brought up to date technology wise as well.
Did not dare use restaurant because of general condition of hotel. Dread to think what the kitchen was like.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.
It appears we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit and it is a shame we weren't given the opportunity to provide another room for you to enjoy.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

What a pity. This hotel, with a little refurbishment, would be a great family hotel.
Directly across from Muddies playground and easy walking distance to the Esplanade, the lobby and restaurant are fine for its price. Little issue with the limited parking nit we were lucky to grab a spot. The staff were friendly enough but lacked that "polish".
We stayed in a family room, which unlike other hotels we've stayed in, was very spacious in size. However the kitchenette and bathroom haven't been touched since maybe the 1980's which would be fine if they were kept in good condition. The bathroom was rusty, there was evidence of previous leaks, the kitchenette falling apart and my husband wouldn't let the kids on the balcony due to cracks in the floor.
Yes the price is great for budget accommodation but a cheap makeover on the room's amenities would have made my rating a lot higher, especially considering a hotel just up the road offered a wonderful experience for not that much more money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I'm glad to advise that a refurbishment program of all rooms is about to re-commence and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-rise Motor Inn located about 3 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.