We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Royale Cairns to your Saves list
Palm Royale Cairns
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Palm Royale was very affordable. Can't complain of the cost. A long way from the action if you do not have a vehicle. The resort is quite tired and in need of some basic repair and a good paint job. The bed was the worst I have slept in. Very strange that they still have
Analogue TV and not Digital. I questioned one of the guys on reception and got some story that they had a contract with a supplier for Analogue. If that is the case a simple set top box could be supplied for each room. They do have a lift in each block. That is good except the one in our block had a terrible odor. A good clean would have helped. Good daily service and our room was kept clean. Mostly street parking.

Room Tip: Not the best location and a bit tired but good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    136
    84
    35
    19
See reviews for
58
109
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Don't let the price fool you. One of the cheapest properties in Cairns but great value for money. The resort is designed around two gorgeous swimming pools and the landscaped gardens create a true tropical oasis. The rooms are comfortable and clean if not a little worn. Our room comfortably slept three with a lovely view of the lagoon pool. I would be very happy to stay again. We had a rental car which made getting to the hotel and in and out of the city easy but I believe there are also good public transport links and a hotel airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room overlooking the lagoon on the third level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am especially happy to hear that you felt like you got value for money. I will pass on your comments to my team and I hope to receive you back at Palm Royale in the future.
Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Palm Royale Cairns for 4 nights. The hotel was so out of town (5 to 10 klm) and we did not chance it by walking into town due to the police signs on the hotel sliding doors and being advised against it. We suffered from sleep deprivation because of it, no alarm was required as the flock of white cockatoos are more than happy to wake you up with their sqwarking every morning. The pool and surrounding grounds were lovely, however the rooms were quite basic. We had an extra loud airconditioning system that made it hard to sleep at night, it sounded like a plane taking off. Lucky there was a ceiling fan, even though it looked like it was about to take off as well. The walls had dead mosquito remains on them and our bathroom door did not close at all, just as well that I was travelling with a close friend and not a stranger. Overall the staff was lovely, however the hotel needs to be modernised and renovated where necessary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for providing us with some feedback about your stay. Guest feedback is very important to us as we can use this as a platform to move forward. I will be discussing your comments with my team so we can serve our guests better in the future.
Warm regards and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for six days while attending to family business in Cairns. We had a great stay in this well priced no frills resort.
Pros:
Two lovely pools
Tropical gardens surrounding rooms
Large very clean room, we had a pool view and balcony which was very pleasant to sit on in the afternoon
King Size bed
Good Size bathroom
Daily housekeeping
Very friendly, efficient staff
In house breakfast available
right next door to shopping centre
Good supply of complementary tea/coffee
Shuttle bus available
Elevator
3 guest laundries

Could be cons but did not worry us, especially with the great prices they charge:
Air con pretty noisy
Out of the main part of town so you need a car
Not a lot of parking so you may have to park on the street at night
Buildings getting a bit run down but does not affect your room or stay

All things considered this is a great place to stay especially for the price. We will stay here again when we next come to Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and will return. I will discuss your comments with my team in order to serve our guests better in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is very out of town. So much so you really could not walk it, and we were told on several occasions not to walk anywhere after 9:00. The area did not feel that unsafe,but I listen to the locals. Once we rented a car, the location was great, away from the downtown party scene. Rooms were decent and front desk friendly. There is a Red Rooster across the street and a shopping plaza too, but everything shuts down at 9, so if your plane gets in late, plan on buying cup-of-soup from the front desk. Internet is pricey, $5 an hour, but typical for Australia. Pool looks great, but it was too cold to swim. Parking is free.

Room Tip: These are motel style with outdoor entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Always has a room available even in school holidays. Asked for the best room available last night and spent $75 on a double room balcony overlooking the pool everything clean and beds comfy. Very happy with this one we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Laura
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered value for money. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Friend booked on Internet and not being savvy had not checked location. So that was surprise. We bought the 3-day bus pass but found the timetable limited so hired car. As it was raining a bit we also made day trips rather than lounge by pool as had been our plan. Whole building is rather shabby and reception entrance appears dominated by sad 'shop' and a large drinks machine. The staff are terrific - Sonsri and Mark could not have been more pleasant, helpful and welcoming. My room was OK but my friend's smelled damp. I was overlooking the cafe which meant being woken early by noise from staff and guests. The noise of other guests coming up from poolside or balconies was a bit irritating in the later evening but all up I slept we'll on my very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that the resort and location did not meet your expectations. Our amenities shop has recently been added and has received lots of positive comments, again I am sorry you felt it wasn't up to standard.
As always I will discuss your comments with my team in order to serve our guests better in the future and I will certainly pass on your kind words about Sonsri and Mark. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Royale Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.