We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privilege room all the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Save Saved
You added Mercure Cairns Harbourside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Privilege room all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We opted to pay the extra for a room that had the lot. We were not disappointed.The view was uninterupted and the room came with all the added extras from a pillow menu to an Nespresso coffee machine. Make sure you buy your milk though. The newspapers each morning at our door was a nice added extra. We were promised free internet but despite the staff trying, we could never use this in the room which was very frustrating especially if you have business to attend to. The room could have done with a DVD player as we stayed for five nights. When we arrived the champagne on the house was a nice touch. The complimentary water also but I felt given it was a privilege room water each day would not have been hard to do. The buffet breakfast was nice and the juicer was a great added bonus. After 5 days though, the buffet was quite repetitive. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Room with an ocean view all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello Kempli24,
The privilege rooms are fantastic! Top floor with views that are amazing, and those small touches like the coffee maker make them just right.

Thank you very much for your time with the review.

Next time you are in Cairns we look forward to welcoming your back.

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    404
    146
    31
    9
See reviews for
186
394
75
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Harbourside is located outside the shopping precinct but on the esplanade. The staff are very friendly, helpful and supportive of people with children. The Cafe and Restaurant were ideal places for a snack or a good quality meal if you don't want to go into town. Our room was sufficient to handle 2 adults and 2 8 year olds for a couple of nights, any longer it would be a bit cramped. A nice balcony over looking the ocean on the harbour wing. Very clean, and well presented you get a very good impression as you walk into the lobby and work your way around the main floor. I was reminded why I like staying at the Mercure/Accor hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Robin B,

The Mercure brand is very strong in Australia really pleased your thoughts reflected this. We at Accor love when our guest become ambassors for the group.

Robin B look forward to welcoming back to Accor.

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi
Assisntant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsville, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here on two nights last week whilst in transit through Cairns (Monday and Friday). Arrived late and left early both nights but had a great stay. The front counter staff were excellent, quick and efficient both times and even early in the morning at 5am when I was heading to airport. Rooms were clean and modern and I was upgraded on first night to a balcony room due to my Accor Gold Card, they tried to on the second stay but hotel was booked out. Had points credited to my A-Club account for the first night but on the return stay the front office clerk informed me that as it was booked by an agent I wasn't able to be given A-Club points (which sounds fair), but he did give me an extra drinks voucher instead and I was also given one on the first night. The bar was pretty good and room service was quick. Great hotel and easily one of the closest to airport. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello ozcookie1,

Thank you for your review! Being so close to the Airport is a real advantage when it comes to guest travelling through Cairns, those extra few minutes sleep in the morning can mean the world when travelling long distances, I know I would rather be sleeping in a bed then a plane seat.

ozcookie1 Thank you again for taking the time to review Mercure Cairns Harbourside, we always look forward to welcoming Accor members back to our many Hotels.

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel is generally what you would expect from a Mercure. Decent sized comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment is that after paying extra for an ocean front room we overlooked the construction of a new pool with noisy pumping equipment running 24/7. I feel that this should have been pointed out at the time of booking. Otherwise, good hotel at a great price and once the pool is finished will be hard to beat in this price range.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario. Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night before flying back home. We had just returned from our cruise, and my flight was not till the next day. Upon check in I was automatically upgraded to a ocean front room with a queen size bed for no extra charge! The view was beautiful and the room very large and spacious. The pool is very nice and quiet to relax by. There is a shuttle every 30 minutes that will take you into the heart of Cairns for shopping, food, walking, etc. The shuttle also picks you up every 30 minutes which was very convenient depending how long you needed in the area. I did ask about walking and was told it would be over 30 minutes. There is very little around the hotel. It is much further down the board walk, so the shuttle is a must. Across the street there is nothing but grass and trees, along the street just other hotels. As mentioned the shuttle is free and runs every 1/2 hour which is very convenient. Cairns is not a very big place with many things to do. Having spent a day here before the cruise, a day during the cruise and the day before flying home it was difficult to keep busy without spending a ton of money on excursions. Also not beach city. Would stay at this hotel again, for a night or two, if it is for longer I would recommend a hotel more in town to avoid the shuttle every day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello BexD139,

Even though you were in Cairns for a short time, great to hear that your experience was positive. The free shuttle bus into town help saves the legs pleased to hear you took advantage of it.

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

On arrival was told that the pool was unavailable - inconvenient. Taken to room on Lvl 6, greeted with a cockroach on the door. and a view of the street so asked to upgrade and was charged additional. Room given was clean and view of harbour. Computers were 'out of order', so had to travel to city and pay for internet kiosk. No free wifi at this hotel. Paid additional costs on debit card and was told it would go through as VISA purchase - probably be charged additional for this as well. Shuttle bus to city was good.

Room Tip: Take lots of $$$$$$ as nothing is complimentary even if you are inconvenienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Business Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#13 Family Hotel in Cairns
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cairns Harbourside 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the secluded end of the Esplanade, Mercure Cairns Harbourside has 173 rooms and suites, a restaurant and wine bar/cafe, with a courtesy shuttle bus hourly to and from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Mercure Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cairns Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.