We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Defiantly Be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Save Saved
You added Mercure Cairns Harbourside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will Defiantly Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice location, good views from the room. Clean and tidy. Friendly staffs. Good food. Really enjoyed my 2 days stay at this hotel. The pool was nice. The shuttle bus service was really helpful. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello Krishil,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review.

See you in the near future

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    405
    146
    31
    9
See reviews for
187
394
75
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FNQ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our first stay and we were very impressed. The staff were exceptional in their helpfulness and also every single one greeted you every time you saw them, it was lovely. We had an ocean view which was lovely, and the room was spotless, fresh and inviting. We had breakfast at Teshi's in the morning and it was excellent value. We used the courtesy bus into town for dinner then took a taxi back from the casino and it cost us less than $10. When we went to check out 'Dickie' at reception remembered our names from check in and was great to talk to about future reservations when I will bring my children. A real personal touch, well done, a lovely finish to our anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a king size bed and ocean view and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello TB74Fnq,

Great to hear such positive comments regarding your stay!!! I will be sure to let Dickie know you said hello. We look forward to your next stay with us at Mercure Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Back again on the 20th of July for our 6th stay miss all my good friends "The Staff" they are so great looked after so well last year when my Husband Rex took sick best of all General Manager Paul Morton he is one of a kind friendly so caring ,hope you will be there when we come back next Month Paul and not Holidays yourself .
To all new travels you will be looked after so well you want to come back again and again like Golden Oldies we are 73 & 80 years old if we love that Hotel goes to say something must be right with this place
Bravo Bravo to everyone on Staff and dear Paul Morton(GM)

Room Tip: All rooms are great Ocean view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello hut_maggie!!

Looking forward to see you later in the month, Paul will be more than happy to see you when you arrive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barooga, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

2nd stay at the Mercure didn't disappoint. One thing that had changed though was the pool being in the process of being rebuilt due to some leakage problem, these things happen though. We were told it will be up and running by the end of August 2014. That aside we were very pleased with our stay, the rooms & staff are still quality.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room. Take advantage of the courtesy bus into town as it saves your legs over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us yet again. Very much happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future to enjoy the new pool when it is completed end of August.

Thank you again for taking the time to review Mercure Cairns Harbourside on Trip Advisor

Best Wishes,

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is within a 10 min. taxi drive from the airport. (Don't take the airport shuttle--it is more expensive.) It has spacious rooms with a very large balcony, providing views of the harbor and the surrounding mountains. Rooms have a mini refrigerator and a safe. There is a free hotel shuttle that can take you into town, but the times that it is in service are limited. You can choose to walk to town center along the Esplanade (15-20 min. walk.) While they have a restaurant in the hotel, there are few other options close by. You need to use the shuttle to get into town where the restaurants are located.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Sharon T,

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear about your experiences in and around the area. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Having decided to spend the second night of our holiday in Cairns after flying in from Brisbane (fortunately on an earlier flight too), we decided to come to this hotel given the excellent price and location. It's a 10 minute drive from Cairns Airport and our reason for deciding to stay here was so we could drive the next morning in daylight up to Port Douglas on the most breathtaking stunning drive I know. This hotel was great though - easy to check in, free internet available throughout the hotel, good space to park the car. Only downside was the outside seating area to the bar was a bit untidy because of a new pool being constructed but otherwise, the room was superb. Very spacious, very comfortable and just couldn't fault it really.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside. You are absolutely right! The drive up to Port Douglas has to be one of the best drives anywhere in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is a nice clean and new at hotel with great ocean views, although it's a bit out of town so if you plan on walking everywhere stay a little closer, rooms are big, clean and tidy when serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Business Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#13 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cairns Harbourside 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the secluded end of the Esplanade, Mercure Cairns Harbourside has 173 rooms and suites, a restaurant and wine bar/cafe, with a courtesy shuttle bus hourly to and from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, ACCOR, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Mercure Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cairns Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.