We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting across from the beach, removed from down town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cairns Harbourside to your Saves list
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting across from the beach, removed from down town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is within a 10 min. taxi drive from the airport. (Don't take the airport shuttle--it is more expensive.) It has spacious rooms with a very large balcony, providing views of the harbor and the surrounding mountains. Rooms have a mini refrigerator and a safe. There is a free hotel shuttle that can take you into town, but the times that it is in service are limited. You can choose to walk to town center along the Esplanade (15-20 min. walk.) While they have a restaurant in the hotel, there are few other options close by. You need to use the shuttle to get into town where the restaurants are located.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Sharon T,

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear about your experiences in and around the area. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    424
    151
    34
    10
See reviews for
195
410
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Having decided to spend the second night of our holiday in Cairns after flying in from Brisbane (fortunately on an earlier flight too), we decided to come to this hotel given the excellent price and location. It's a 10 minute drive from Cairns Airport and our reason for deciding to stay here was so we could drive the next morning in daylight up to Port Douglas on the most breathtaking stunning drive I know. This hotel was great though - easy to check in, free internet available throughout the hotel, good space to park the car. Only downside was the outside seating area to the bar was a bit untidy because of a new pool being constructed but otherwise, the room was superb. Very spacious, very comfortable and just couldn't fault it really.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside. You are absolutely right! The drive up to Port Douglas has to be one of the best drives anywhere in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is a nice clean and new at hotel with great ocean views, although it's a bit out of town so if you plan on walking everywhere stay a little closer, rooms are big, clean and tidy when serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Mercure Cairns is located out of town, about a 15 minute walk along Esplanade to the town centre. The hotel is modern and the rooms very spacious.

We had a deluxe room which has a large balcony and great views across the harbour. The room is very comfortable with everything you need including mini bar and flat screen tv.

The restaurant and bar offer a varied selection of meals and snack and at fairly reasonable prices. The pool was being reconstructed during our visit but you can get a free shuttle to the Novotel and use the pool there. For those who don't feel like the walk into town there is a free shuttle to the centre every hour.

If I was in Cairns I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbourside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Matt_Randall100,

Thank you for your feedback!! It's great you were able to utilise the shuttle bus service.

We hope to have you return in the future and enjoy the new pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The pool is under construction and it was SO HOT the ac couldn't keep the tile floors dry. A shuttle took us to another hotel for a pool. Staff was helpful and friendly and made sure we got sun screen every time we went out.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello gladysc215,

Thank you for your review. FNQ can get fairly hot some days, the price we pay for living the paradise.

Hope you return in the future and enjoy the new pool to escape the heat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our third time staying at this hotel. Many of the staff were still there from our previous visits. We stayed for just under three weeks and were so spoilt by the wonderful staff there we didn't want to leave. We enjoy the views from our room overlooking the water, the airport and down to the wharf. Cairns hospital is almost next door so there were times when the rescue helicopter would land, even very early in the mornings, but the interruption to one's sleep is not a problem when you think that someone in that chopper has hopefully made the 'golden hour' for treatment. We ate at both Teshi's Restaurant and Blue Mango and with our Accor card the value was excellent. Staff always went out of their way to accommodate our requests and if something wasn't on the menu - we still had it placed in front of us without a fuss! Service is friendly, food arrived in good time and there were special touches which made us feel good. Tim, Michael, and Glenn at night, Maureen and her team at breakfast, and of course we cannot forget Troy, their F & B manager. From the front reception to the housekeeping staff we say thank you for making our stay so good. When something was not as we requested the staff endeavoured to put it right as quickly as possible to our satisfaction. We also observed the staff and hotel being very generous to one elderly couple who were celebrating their 62nd wedding anniversary. They were overwhelmed by kindness and special touches from everyone there and it is wonderful to see that a hotel chain can care that much about it's clientele. Some areas could do with a spruce up and it is great to see that the work on the new pool is progressing. Hopefully some of the other areas will follow and be upgraded. Our thanks to Paul the GM who came down to say farewell as we left. I guess we'll have to go back to try out that new pool!!

Room Tip: Top floor, Privilege rooms give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear WaikatoSue,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, it was a great pleasure to meet you both.

Thank you for your kind words regarding all of the Team members mentioned, all of whom look forward to welcoming you back so you can try out the new pool which will be ready by the end of August. I hope that your renovations have gone well too!

I look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel very soon,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice hotel, modern spacious suite. Easy walk to town centre using the harbour side walking track (15 minute stroll). The main restaurant served a great meal and there is a coffee shop for a snack.

Room Tip: They have quite a few twin rooms so make sure you request a queen room on a high floor for couples w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello soonami,

Loved to hear your recent 2 night stay went really well.

Something to keep in mind is our shuttle bus into the city centre. Runs daily from 10am to 10pm and leaves the hotel every hour on the hour. Save the legs and gives you more time in town to enjoy.

Thank you again for taking the time to review Mercure Cairns Harbourside on Trip Advisor

Best Wishes,

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Business Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the secluded end of the Esplanade, Mercure Cairns Harbourside has 173 rooms and suites, a restaurant and wine bar/cafe, with a courtesy shuttle bus hourly to and from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cairns Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.