We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cairns Harbourside to your Saves list
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked a one bedroom suite but changed to a sea view room on check in. I loved being on the 7th floor with views over the ocean and would recommend to others.

What I don't understand is why the rooms are so empty? Given that the rooms are very large where is the nice comfortable lounge? It looked like the room was partly furnished.

The first day the room was very basically cleaned, days 2-4 were cleaned by someone else and beautifully done...I would employ them.

Dinner ...don't ask it was really terrible for the price paid. I would not recommend eating at the hotel...sorry I would love to say differently but it was horrible. Staff were fantastic and made the experience worthwhile.

The bus...great but make sure you know where the drop off and pick up point is so you don't miss it.

Overall....great except for the food.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere and put a a lounge in the room. One chair is a bit lean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    441
    160
    37
    10
See reviews for
208
422
85
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plain City, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A nicely appointed hotel conveniently located near the Esplanade. The view of the bay from our balcony was wonderful. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant and bar were excellent. We stayed two days in all. I had never stayed in a Mercure property before, but will look them up in other cities as this was a very positive experience.Check in and out was very efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Large but older styled room with a very comfortable king bed. Only problem was the bathroom was very small and very dated. Pressure in the shower was very poor. Room and property were clean and well maintained.

A little but out of the city centre, but the free hourly shuttle bus made up for that.

Would stay again if the shower pressure was better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

although not in the centre of cairns it is only a short 10/15 minute walk along the esplanade to the centre, or the hotel runs a shuttle bus.the room i had was a garden view room which was large,very clean and comfortable all one needs to relax and unwind .check in was quick and easy with friendly helpful staff.the hotel serves a good breakfast in the dining room.there is a bit of noise from aircraft taking off from the airport but this would be the same for any of the hotels along the esplanade.the noise is not excessive and i only noticed it twice.if your in cairns this hotel is well worth considering.rates are very reasonable compared to some of the same rated hotels in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Was very happy with my stay at this hotel. After my boyfriend and I had been staying in hostels most of the time as we were travelling up the east coast we decided to spend our last few days of our travels in a hotel. The beds were very comfortable and you could choose what type of pillow you wanted so I got a really soft feather one. I slept so well in this hotel and had lovely sea views from our balcony. Some may complain that it's a little far from town but there is a complimentary shuttle bus that leaves on the hour every hour. If you miss the bus there is a beautiful 25 min walk along the seafront that leads you straight into town, so I never really saw it as a problem. Also the staff here were very pleasant and will be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#12 Business Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the secluded end of the Esplanade, Mercure Cairns Harbourside has 173 rooms and suites, a restaurant and wine bar/cafe, with a courtesy shuttle bus hourly to and from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cairns Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.