We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find a little outside the CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Cairns Harbourside to your Saves list
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great find a little outside the CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Loved this hotel. The room was huge and had a great view of the water. The staff was really friendly and helped us book our trip into the Daintree. While it is about a 20 minute walk to the CBD, the walk is really easy and right along the water. Only issues were with the in-house restaurant--stay away from the nachos!!! Also, the pool was in the shade most of the afternoon so find another place to hang out if you are looking to get a tan. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks and get an ocean view room. The view was really great where we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    412
    148
    34
    9
See reviews for
192
402
76
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Being local and also an Accor Member we thought that this motel would be a good choice. We had planned onspending all of our time at the motel eating/drinking and swimming. We were with a group of friends who where also local 6 adults and 6 kids.
We booked at 12:30pm for dinner that night at 6:30pm there were a total of 9 Adults and 5 kids for dinner - we arrived on time. It then took us until 8:00 for our main meals to arrive, we only managed to be served 2 rounds of drinks. Even though it was New Years Eve I think that the service was VERY poor having to wait that long, when I complained to the resturant manager I was told 'Sorry about that we have had a lot of room service tonight' (Hey wait a minute I booked first and we all were also staying at the motel, does that mean that if we had all stayed in our rooms we would have got served quicker?)
The outside dining area beside the pool needed a good hose down also - there was dirt/leaves etc piled up - looked like it had not been cleaned for weeks.

If you are looking for a good hotel in the Accor Chain I woulod STRONGLY recommend the 'Oasis Resort' (fantastic service/ very clean and closer to town if you need)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Accor traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on Trip advisor regarding your recent experience at the hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations during your dining experience at the hotel. I have discussed your concerns with my team. I understand that New Years Eve was a very busy time at the hotel for our guests as well as staff. The hotel prides itself on providing a positive guest experience in all situations but obviously on this occassion we did not meet your expectations. I understand communication could have been better as some guests ordered only a main course therefore creating a delay while other guests received their entrees. I have spoken to my team on how they need to improve communications and inform our guests on this type of delay if it should occur in the future. Once again thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to make improvement.

I would also like to acknowledge that the Novotel Cairns Oasis along with the Pullman Cairns also has very good dining outlets.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Mercure during the New Years. We had superior ocean view and the room was nice and clean with superb ocean view from the 4th floor.Very helpful front desk staffs. The free shuttle bus service was great however the walking distance from the hotel to the city was pleasant. The only shortfall was the bathroom vents did not work. Otherwise,we had an awesome stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Everything was good about the hotel and the room the moment we entered. The sea facing rooms have an excellent view. The free bus service was on time and was even working on christmas, which is a one example of great service.
I was excited about tehshi's restaurant but was not happey with the service there. The chef forgot my wife's starters which we had ordered.
From a stay perspective the hotel is very good

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Abhishek R,

Thank you for your time in making comment on Trip advisor. I am pleased to here that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and that we were able to meet expectations. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef regarding the missing starters.

I can assure you this is not normal and something that we can address immediately.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Most enjoyable stay. Facilities, amenities and general layout quite pleasant. Staff attention and civility exceptional. Whilst all meals were to a satisfactory standard Christmas day lunch was a standout, ample variety, well displayed and balanced. Drink waiting and general service was again of high standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012







We both dedided to upgrade to the ocean view room, which was fantastic. The view jsut remarkable. The room though was disappointing as it had no table and only one lounge chair, but very spacious. Bed & pillows were extremely comfortable. The dinner menu also a disappointment with very little variety of choices, so we did not dine there.The undercover car parking is very mimimal. Staff were very welcoming & effecient. The swimming pool very large aalong with the spa.Gardens & surrounding areas were very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Accor traveller,

I thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

It is great to here that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet your expectations.

We will be reviewing our menu in the coming month so your comments are much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel. The Hotel is a classic 3 / 4 star business Hotel but comfortable and clean. It is a pleasant 30 minutes walk to the centre of Cairns along the beach but a complimentary shuttle is available every hour. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the upgrade rooms with sea views.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Business Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the secluded end of the Esplanade, Mercure Cairns Harbourside has 173 rooms and suites, a restaurant and wine bar/cafe, with a courtesy shuttle bus hourly to and from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cairns Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.