We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Tree Inn to your Saves list
Coral Tree Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Mamaku, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A nice place to stay. Room was smaller than expected but we were out a lot so okay. Information about available facilities not given and would have been appreciated. Only found where the laundry was because we wondered where people were going in and out downstairs. Also initial issue with parking as you park out on the street. Also the restaurant on site is not open on the weekends. All in all a nice place to stay and a good price. Receptionist was helpful when asked.

Room Tip: You probably don't want to stay too high up as there is no lift so if you have heavy bags it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Lynda W,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Reception staff helpful and friendly. We do have limited off street parking however we are fortunate enough to be located in an area of the city where there is ample street parking that is available free, all day everyday. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Coral Tree Inn in the future.
Best Regards,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    123
    72
    16
    8
See reviews for
57
136
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. They have a bbq facilities under a bali gazebo which was nice. The rooms were comfortable and adequate. The corridors were a bit noisy as they're tiled, but other than that the hotel satisfied all our needs. It is a short walk to the esplanade and centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear wanderer127,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear that you experienced our helpful, friendly and attentive staff and I have passed on your comments to our team. We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed the comfort, the location and the barbecue facilities during your short stay; all at an affordable price.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Shower was a lucky dip, most times water was just warm enough, same with the wifi conection, very hit & miss. Our bed was 2 singles pushed together which separated shortly after. We had to jamm the bed between furniture to slow the divide. You need the aircon working overnight as it is quite warm but this one sounded like running water(strange). The walls are paper thin so you can easily hear your neighbours and vice versa. Staff were friendly and place was reasonably clean

Room Tip: Avoid room 106, read my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Leigh J,

We were gravely concerned to read about the issues you have raised, and so very glad you've expressed them, as it has allowed us to thoroughly investigate each issue. I am very sorry to learn that your experience with us fell below your expectations.

My team and I once again apologise that we couldn't deliver a better stay experience for you. We hope there will be an opportunity in the future to extend the true and warm Coral Tree Inn hospitality experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Recently spent three nights at this hotel, room 113. Massive bathroom (for disabled..even though we are not disabled), was great! Ground floor, lovely little verandah overlooking pool. No power point in bathroom (which was weird), but reception were more than helpful and were there within 5 minutes after my request with an extension lead. A good central location, a short walk to the RSL for a lovely meal, and short walk to the Esplanade (3 blocks). Very good value and would recommend for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 113, massive bathroom, no stairs to carry luggage up, and close to reception, verandah overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Kath K,

Thank you so much for choosing Coral Tree Inn.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed central location of the hotel. At Coral Tree Inn, we believe that it is all about creating the perfect guest experience. We often have special rates available and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The room we stayed in had a king size bed the zip together type so yes it had a ridge down the middle. We found the bed too hard for our personal taste. The room was clean as was the good sized bathroom. We didn't hear any noise from the main road that the hotel is situated on but we could hear very clearly other guests leading us to believe that there isn't much sound proofing. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was included with our room price and was adequate. It is an easy walk in to the esplanade.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear ThomKatz,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experiences of your recent stay at the Coral Tree Inn.

It is important that we receive feedback so that we can use it to monitor and rectify shortfalls highlighted to us. We are looking into ways that can minimize the noise levels as comfort of our guests is our highest mission.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is really a 3 star hotel, the location is good and close to most things. It is very noisy as the corridors are not carpeted such that departing guests with their loud luggage woke us in the mornings. Staff are friendly and very helpful and their English is mostly very good. The pool is freezing in winter as the sun does not reach it much. The hotel needs some vending machines for snacks. Rooms are adequate with largish TVs with a reasonable selection of channels. Our shower curtain was way too short and water went all over the bathroom. The shower water is warm in the mornings and at night but hot in the middle of the day. The bbq facilities are good. Overall it is okay, but next time I will spend extra and go upmarket.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Peter L,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Coral Tree Inn, we really appreciate receiving your feedback and insights.

Whilst we are pleased to learn that you were happy with the staff and room, we are very sorry that your overall stay experience fell below your expectations.

I do hope we get the opportunity to speak to one another in the future, and that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back, at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with the perfect stay.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in Cairns in July 2014, as only a getaway point to the Great Barrier Reef, where we stayed upon a liveaboard for 5 days. However, we enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Coral Tree Inn. The rooms were large, which was a nice treat for the 3 of us. I also liked the common area BBQ cooktop and the large tables near the pool. It was a nice place to sit and relax. The hotel also offers free wifi, but it has a limited amount of MBs that you can use. I also enjoyed the kitchen amenities the room had: small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, dishes, cutlery, etc. While the hotel is not located directly on the beach, close to all the restaurants/nightlife, Cairns is not a big city and it was an easy 10 minute or less walk to anywhere we wanted to go, including the train station to get to Kuranda.

The only small complaint I had is that there is currently a circus across the street in the park. We consistently heard very loud animal noises at the most random time, which we got a good laugh at. But if you're a picky traveler prone to complaining, this will probably annoy you.

We already recommended the Coral Tree Inn to some friends we met while traveling and would certainly be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Nicole H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience and found our location, amenities and services to be so perfect. It is our top priority to ensure that all our guests leave feeling well looked after and we are delighted to read that you were happy with your choice of hotel and even recommended us to others.

We feel lucky that we get to see the beautiful animals each year when the circus is in town; however I have to agree that they were quite loud this year. But again most of us are just happy to see these creatures play right across the hotel! :)

Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Address: 166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.