We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our brief stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Tree Inn to your Saves list
Coral Tree Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our brief stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in Cairns in July 2014, as only a getaway point to the Great Barrier Reef, where we stayed upon a liveaboard for 5 days. However, we enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Coral Tree Inn. The rooms were large, which was a nice treat for the 3 of us. I also liked the common area BBQ cooktop and the large tables near the pool. It was a nice place to sit and relax. The hotel also offers free wifi, but it has a limited amount of MBs that you can use. I also enjoyed the kitchen amenities the room had: small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, dishes, cutlery, etc. While the hotel is not located directly on the beach, close to all the restaurants/nightlife, Cairns is not a big city and it was an easy 10 minute or less walk to anywhere we wanted to go, including the train station to get to Kuranda.

The only small complaint I had is that there is currently a circus across the street in the park. We consistently heard very loud animal noises at the most random time, which we got a good laugh at. But if you're a picky traveler prone to complaining, this will probably annoy you.

We already recommended the Coral Tree Inn to some friends we met while traveling and would certainly be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Nicole H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience and found our location, amenities and services to be so perfect. It is our top priority to ensure that all our guests leave feeling well looked after and we are delighted to read that you were happy with your choice of hotel and even recommended us to others.

We feel lucky that we get to see the beautiful animals each year when the circus is in town; however I have to agree that they were quite loud this year. But again most of us are just happy to see these creatures play right across the hotel! :)

Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    146
    87
    20
    9
See reviews for
62
161
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is one of those situations where I'd like to be able to add another half star. What I liked about this place was some of the room features - a desk, a bathroom hook for my toiletries bag, a fan as well as air con, good pillows, wide screen tv, room safe, ironing board, hair dryer, proper clothes hangers, real soap, complementary toothbrush and what looked like reasonable quality shampoo, and plenty of hot water in the shower. It is also very unusual to find an entry door that can be fixed in the open position while you get your bags out and I really appreciated this. Everything was very clean and looked recently painted.

I'm not a big fan of ceramic floor tiles though and also not a fan of two beds pushed together with an uncomfortable crack down the middle. However the deal breaker for me was the incredible screeching plumbing system (hot tap I think) in the next room, and my own. I was woken (and kept awake) two times by the guests next door who had a marathon 2 hour stint in their bathroom one night then were at it again early the next morning. Earplugs were of no use, it was so intrusive.

The hotel has a pool, a a guest barbecue area and a comfortable reception area with the usual travel info and a few books for those staying a while. Interestingly I spotted a German edition of "Fifty Shades of Grey", however there was nothing I could see to take to my room to read, other than travel brochures. A newspaper or magazine would have been great. There is a restaurant open for breakfast and briefly for dinner, with indoor and outdoor dining options. Take care to check the closing time for dinner. The information in my room said it was open from 6pm to 8pm but when I arrived at 7.32pm they had already stopped taking orders. I returned to my room but couldn't get the phone to work. After mucking around with it and trying to look up instructions I eventually called reception, who apparently have to unlock it when you want to make a call. The hotel is not in an area with many shops or eateries nearby and I could only find one place that was open on a Monday night - Dominoes. Don't walk to it alone through the unlit park opposite - it's a safer option to go the long way.

Staff are pleasant but there is only one person on reception so be prepared to wait. Minor issues - my desk lamp appeared to need a new bulb, but wasn't fixed before I checked out 26 hours after mentioning it. Fortunately I had little paperwork to do during this visit. The fridge contains only 6 tiny serves of long life milk but the teacups are tiny anyway. You might like to notice and remedy the milk situation before you need caffeine in the morning - the shop near the dodgy park had only two containers of 1 litre fresh milk available. Way too much but at least fresh milk. I fail to understand why most hotels don't provide decent sized mugs to allow a proper cup of tea/coffee. My room had no convenient power points for the jug so it was necessary to shift around the trays in the bathroom to safely place the jug. None of these things are a big deal but it's all part of the experience.

Room Tip: My room on the eastern side had good curtains, but still couldn't block the bright glow of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear zappagirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We value your feedback and rest assured we have taken these comments on board.
We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, Craig and the other man on reception were very friendly and helpful!! Breakfast was great and the pizza and wedges are great for dinner! Housekeeping could be better.. Wee walk to town (bit far for Mr 5!) so hiring a car is a good idea if staying here

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear janh_invers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay at the Coral Tree Inn.

I will pass on your appreciation to Craig for the mention, I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guest’s experience.

I was also happy to hear that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast.

We thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The price included breakfast which was reasonable quality buffet.
The hotel is at the northern end of the city centre 4 streets back from the Esplanade so we walked every where.
The room was reasonable. We were on the first floor and the hotel does not have a lift so you need to carry your bags.
I reported that the water was not very hot and I did not require any cold water but the temperature did not vary. Maybe this indicates the hot water is being pre-mixed with cold.
The receptionist recorded my comment and said he would have it investigated.
The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: The building is 3 levels and there is no lift so 1st and 2nd floors would be a problem if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Geoff A,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

All of us are pleased to know that you enjoyed the room facilities and breakfast at the Coral Tree Inn. I was happy to read that you enjoyed central location of the hotel.

Your appreciation of our team members being friendly and helpful is indeed very motivating and inspires us tremendously.

Generally we do not have problems with our hot water systems but after your comment I will review this with our maintenance team. The current temperature of water is set according to the OH&S regulations, however if this is becoming a concern for our guests in future, then we will look into resolving it.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This motel is great value for money. Located in a quiet street several blocks back from the city centre with ample free street parking this is a good place to stay.

The rooms are old fashioned but are clean and there is a pool and barbecue for guest use. Rates can include a breakfast package with a selection of cold and hot items. This is very convenient when travelling with family or starting the day early as the kitchen opens at 6.30 till 9.30 am. It also provides dinners and room service at night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear 4boysdad,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Coral Tree Inn through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed the comfort, the location and the barbecue facilities during your short stay; all at an affordable price.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cairns.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well situated, within walking distance of most areas, Very friendly and helpful staff.
Only six onsite parking spaces but all local parking is free and readily available. Rooms are clean and spacious, but can be noisy with people in the same corridors slamming doors. Breakfast? forget it, very poor and limited; it's only ten minutes stroll to the front where good food at a lower price is available.

Room Tip: the rooms upstairs are quieter and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ausbeastie,

Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to all our guests.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found our hotel to be so centrally located. I am delighted to read such a positive response and thank you for appreciating our staff.

It is very unfortunate that you had to compromise with the noise levels in the night caused by other guests staying in the hotel. A night staff is always available in the premises outside the reception hours who can be contacted to notify such incidents.
We feel sorry if this has caused any inconvenience during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Coral Tree Inn.
Please do not hesitate to contact me or one of our staff members if you wish to come back and stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Front desk very helpfull meet 3 who where on at differant times while we stayed there couldnt have been more helpfull.
Now for housekeeping that needs to be allot better,
when you enter room its smells ,lack of ventilation .
Maybe if door was left open at some times it might help or fan in bathroom as there was mould in shower, also floors not clean near bins as well. Very disappointing .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear 12Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about our hotel.

I will pass on your appreciation to our staff, I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guest’s experience.

Generally we do not have problems with our rooms, however this year we have had a lot of nonseasonal rain causing mould issues and dampness throughout the region. I have addressed these issues with my Executive Housekeeper to review all the guest rooms and to ensure that these areas are addressed and resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#20 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#6 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Address: 166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.