We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Coral Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Invercargill, NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, Craig and the other man on reception were very friendly and helpful!! Breakfast was great and the pizza and wedges are great for dinner! Housekeeping could be better.. Wee walk to town (bit far for Mr 5!) so hiring a car is a good idea if staying here

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear janh_invers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay at the Coral Tree Inn.

I will pass on your appreciation to Craig for the mention, I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guest’s experience.

I was also happy to hear that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast.

We thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    104
    67
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
117
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The price included breakfast which was reasonable quality buffet.
The hotel is at the northern end of the city centre 4 streets back from the Esplanade so we walked every where.
The room was reasonable. We were on the first floor and the hotel does not have a lift so you need to carry your bags.
I reported that the water was not very hot and I did not require any cold water but the temperature did not vary. Maybe this indicates the hot water is being pre-mixed with cold.
The receptionist recorded my comment and said he would have it investigated.
The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: The building is 3 levels and there is no lift so 1st and 2nd floors would be a problem if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Geoff A,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

All of us are pleased to know that you enjoyed the room facilities and breakfast at the Coral Tree Inn. I was happy to read that you enjoyed central location of the hotel.

Your appreciation of our team members being friendly and helpful is indeed very motivating and inspires us tremendously.

Generally we do not have problems with our hot water systems but after your comment I will review this with our maintenance team. The current temperature of water is set according to the OH&S regulations, however if this is becoming a concern for our guests in future, then we will look into resolving it.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This motel is great value for money. Located in a quiet street several blocks back from the city centre with ample free street parking this is a good place to stay.

The rooms are old fashioned but are clean and there is a pool and barbecue for guest use. Rates can include a breakfast package with a selection of cold and hot items. This is very convenient when travelling with family or starting the day early as the kitchen opens at 6.30 till 9.30 am. It also provides dinners and room service at night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear 4boysdad,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Coral Tree Inn through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed the comfort, the location and the barbecue facilities during your short stay; all at an affordable price.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cairns.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well situated, within walking distance of most areas, Very friendly and helpful staff.
Only six onsite parking spaces but all local parking is free and readily available. Rooms are clean and spacious, but can be noisy with people in the same corridors slamming doors. Breakfast? forget it, very poor and limited; it's only ten minutes stroll to the front where good food at a lower price is available.

Room Tip: the rooms upstairs are quieter and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ausbeastie,

Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to all our guests.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found our hotel to be so centrally located. I am delighted to read such a positive response and thank you for appreciating our staff.

It is very unfortunate that you had to compromise with the noise levels in the night caused by other guests staying in the hotel. A night staff is always available in the premises outside the reception hours who can be contacted to notify such incidents.
We feel sorry if this has caused any inconvenience during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Coral Tree Inn.
Please do not hesitate to contact me or one of our staff members if you wish to come back and stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Front desk very helpfull meet 3 who where on at differant times while we stayed there couldnt have been more helpfull.
Now for housekeeping that needs to be allot better,
when you enter room its smells ,lack of ventilation .
Maybe if door was left open at some times it might help or fan in bathroom as there was mould in shower, also floors not clean near bins as well. Very disappointing .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear 12Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about our hotel.

I will pass on your appreciation to our staff, I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guest’s experience.

Generally we do not have problems with our rooms, however this year we have had a lot of nonseasonal rain causing mould issues and dampness throughout the region. I have addressed these issues with my Executive Housekeeper to review all the guest rooms and to ensure that these areas are addressed and resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The room we stayed in is of a slightly lower quality than an Ibis hotel. Strangely the room was very dump, despite AC+ fan. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was included in the price, it included toast bread, jam and some fruit. The dining place looked a bit dirty and it was off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear NolaBee,

Thank you for staying at the Coral Tree Inn.
Although it is disappointing to know that we delivered below your expectations, we truly appreciate receiving your feedback as this makes us aware of the areas in our service and facilities that need improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay here.

I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I liked this hotel. The staff were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. There isn't a lift so ask for a ground floor room if you would struggle with heavy suitcases. The room itself was quite spacious with quite a large bed and a balcony overlooking the pool. There was a fridge and just about adequate storage space. We were provided with a free toothbrush and paste which was a nice touch. Toiletries and towels were provided daily and rooms cleaned to a very high standard. There was free wifi, and as other reviewers have mentioned it's not great, but I did not find it great in any hotel, and a lot of them charge for it. It was sufficient for what you need when on holiday. The pool was lovely and open from 6.30 in the morning which was great. Breakfast is available, it's nothing spectacular but adequate if you need something to eat before embarking on a trip. Most people having breakfast were there before 7.30. There were wading and drying facilities available at a very reasonable cost and also barbecue facilities for use which seemed to be very popular. Overall I thought this was a really good hotel, a short walk from bars and restaurants and definitely somewhere I would stay again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you would struggle with suitcases as there is no lift. First floor room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on your recent visit to the Coral Tree Inn and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure that your comments are shared with all the staff members here.
The positive ratings you gave us on Trip Advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Address: 166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.